Well done to everybody associated with Sligo Rovers and Waterford United for their contribution to what was a fantastic advert for the League of Ireland. Managed to watch it on Sunday night and everything from the football to the atmosphere was truly magical.
Haven't seen Raf Cretaro in action in a couple of years but his control is fantastic and that ball sticks to his feet.
Good luck in the final.
Fair play to ya boy, nice commnets
The segregation issue kind of takes away from the fact that there was over 5,000 people at the game.
The FAI will no doubt be tripping over themselves to fine us, as this is what they do best, that and helping clubs out of holes they have dug themselves into, due to sheer fiancial mismangement.
Maybe if they took a step back they'd see that there are clubs like ours that have huge potential. Perhaps these are the clubs that they really should be helping.
Given it was a 5 hour drive to Sligo, for a match kicking off at 7.35 on a Friday evening, we did ok at what I still maintain was about 200 people, people have jobs!
If the FAI had of done the sensible thing and switched it with the Fingal/Bray match on Sunday would have been a LOT more! But this is the FAI, after all!
It's nothing to do with sour grapes , this kicked off before the match did!
For the record, I hope Sligo go on to win it now, I do like Sligo, spent a while there a few years back, helped set up Homebase, some craic and the people are grand, lovely women there! As well as that, no-one likes Fingal!!
See you's next year, I'm sure!
Last edited by madblaa; 28/10/2009 at 2:01 AM.
When we played Derry in the semi final a couple of seasons ago the FAI cut back the permitted attendance numerous time and eventually allowed the club to sell 5100 tickets. Now I am totally depending on my very dodgy memory here but I think the Railway terrace way more packed Friday night than against Derry and I’m not sure if there was anyone allowed at the old shed end Terrace for the Derry game. And yes we know the main stand holds 1800 but we also know there was an extra 98 in there.
My guess is that there was over 6000 at Friday nights game.
Sorry mate but there is no way there was 6000 there the other nite. Against Derry in 06 the shed end and shed end terrace were both open and full. The terrace on the shed side was split half-way for Derry fans iirc. I think the official attendance that day was 5500 with the ground mostly full around. i would guess that there would have been 1500 on shed side that game compared to about 200 so i would hazard a guess at about 4400.
On a more positive note there was probably more Rovers fans there on Friday than the other semi coz id say Derry brought between 2000-2500 that day!!
Last edited by 1st time post; 28/10/2009 at 12:59 PM.
Well I certainly bow to your more detailed breakdown of the figures involved, which unfortunately I am struggling to fully follow so I am tending to rely on my wholly unscientific theory that if there was 5100 at the Derry semi final then there was way more at last Friday nights match.
Anyway we both agree that it was fantastic to see such a huge crowd in the showgies and 99% of them Rovers fans and just think if the match was not live on the telly there could have been another thousand looking to get in.
Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!
All this talk of figures and attendances bores me!