Page 22 of 29 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 ... LastLast

Thread: Who will win the 1st division

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GalwayRed View Post
    If I remember rightly Limerick played a weakened team against you though. Anyway im not saying you cant get a result or anything but its unlikely and we do have more worrying games is all.
    They did field a weakened side against Kildare alright. I remember it well, as I assumed then that they'd do the same in Tolka a week later..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Hope our (soon to be tenants) make it back up UCD or waterford also welcome. still have my doubts about Sporting Franchise although I understand a lot of players (especially those out of contract) hope they come up as they will be the only club splashing out next season.
    if we are to be your tenants maybe we're better off staying in the graveyard division considering the stick we'll get off our landlords next season could'nt see us being tenants for long mind as i don't think we'd survive.

Sporting would be serious force to be reckoned with next season if they come up. Quality side as it stands so i'd imagine they'd raid most of the clubs for their best players. I reckon they'l win the cup so they might have europe to offer players to.

Goals from the fingal game

http://vimeo.com/7079737

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    Lads, Kildare in the second last game of last season beat Limerick and we are by far a better side from that day as well.

But don't base your opinion of a club based on the few games you saw them play, that way I could say that Fingal (bar C Byrne) and UCD (especially Kilduff) are a poor team as well
    Perhaps you should practise what you preach?

3,491 Posts
    I think he's saying that if he were to do that, these are the conclusions he would reach, and is using how silly those conclusions are to show the problem with it.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 1895ringsend View Post
    if we are to be your tenants maybe we're better off staying in the graveyard division considering the stick we'll get off our landlords next season could'nt see us being tenants for long mind as i don't think we'd survive.

Sporting would be serious force to be reckoned with next season if they come up. Quality side as it stands so i'd imagine they'd raid most of the clubs for their best players. I reckon they'l win the cup so they might have europe to offer players to.
    As now everyone knows, yes, Shels are close to signing a deal for the use of Dalymount in the future. not sure the duration but I gather it will be more than a year to year basis (details expected soon, as part of bigger announcement)
    Doubt there would be any great problems with the arrangement and it will suit both clubs given the current situation(s) and is hardly a big move distance wise.
    Ideally Shels would develop a new home of their own but in the current climate that is not a short term reality.

Still hope ye come up though

As now everyone knows, yes, Shels are close to signing a deal for the use of Dalymount in the future. not sure the duration but I gather it will be more than a year to year basis (details expected soon, as part of bigger announcement)
    Doubt there would be any great problems with the arrangement and it will suit both clubs given the current situation(s) and is hardly a big move distance wise.
    Ideally Shels would develop a new home of their own but in the current climate that is not a short term reality.

Still hope ye come up though
    Do ya reckon theres any chance the original deal whereby shels and bohs would share a new redeveloped dalyer and play out out of tolka till the ground is completed is still on the table? I know the FAI and the council were on board with that but as you say in the current climate i'd imagine a landlord tenant situation is most likely.
    Last edited by 1895ringsend; 16/10/2009 at 12:23 PM.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 1895ringsend View Post
    Do ya reckon theres any chance the original deal whereby shels and bohs would share a new redeveloped dalyer and play out out of tolka till the ground is completed is still on the table? I know the FAI and the council were on board with that but as you say in the current climate i'd imagine a landlord tenant situation is most likely.
    No. My very clear understanding is that Bohs will retain ownership of Dalymount Park. I also doubt that Shels (or the FAI - also stakeholders) currently have the money to restart the original proposal, although it would still be unlikely to get the backing of Bohs memebership.

185 Posts
    No. My very clear understanding is that Bohs will retain ownership of Dalymount Park. .

That ground has been bought & sold more times than a monto whore.

shels- If you do end up playing there next season, make sure you ask albion properties if you can use their 6 yard box at the shopping centre end.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    Lads, Kildare in the second last game of last season beat Limerick and we are by far a better side from that day as well.
    We played a load of A-Championship and U20's in that match, it wouldnt be at all representative of our typical squad of the latter half of last season.

However, thats irrelevant to this season and I have to agree Kildare is by far a better side now than it was then, or at the start of this season, as we found out in our last 2 matches with ye
    LTID

UCD's to throw away now.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

UCD should win it. I dont fancy us to win the rest of our matches never mind them dropping points.

Great results for us Can we take advantage? This is one crazy league.

Quote Originally Posted by Lamper.sffc View Post
    Great results for us Can we take advantage? This is one crazy league.
    Think it'd be asking a bit much. Even a win for yous tonight, would put yous a point behind us, with us having a game in hand, never mind UCD. Not impossible though, especially with the way things have gone.

Whos talking about winning the league. Im just talking about taking advantage of the slip ups. If we win tonight then we have done that.

To be honest the main thing im looking at now is putting as much distance between us and waterford. After that I hope we can nick second place to get home advantage for the playoff. As for the league title, well ill just have to hope.
    Last edited by Lamper.sffc; 17/10/2009 at 11:38 AM.

71 Posts
    We've obviously moved into the position of favourites now, four points clear and three wins away from the title. Shels have a came in hand but we've got points in the bag. However, we're only one slip up away from losing the title if Shels win their four games. Waterford do look to be out of it at this stage. Fingal could still nick second if Shels undergo a total collapse at the end. At the very least we've practically guaranteed a playoff spot now.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    We've obviously moved into the position of favourites now, four points clear and three wins away from the title. Shels have a came in hand but we've got points in the bag. However, we're only one slip up away from losing the title if Shels win their four games. Waterford do look to be out of it at this stage. Fingal could still nick second if Shels undergo a total collapse at the end. At the very least we've practically guaranteed a playoff spot now.
    There's not a hope you'll drop anymore points. You've the league sewn up.
    Last edited by Raheny Red; 17/10/2009 at 9:01 PM.
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Think that might be underestimating Waterford just a little.

61 Posts
    UCD seems to have it in the bag with Fingal and that other lot playing for second. Fingal 6 points ahead of Waterford so i cant see them getting third but anything can happen .
    Fingal now only a point behind them lot now and a win on tues puts us in second at 2 points clear with them lot having 2 games in hand.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Nice try.

Page 22 of 29 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 ... LastLast