Robbies given us his fair share of good times but he has to be our top flapper and yapper as well.
How many times does he stop chasing after balls looking at the ref trying to get a referee for the first time in history to change his mind - and while Hunts interview/opinion is condoned, Robbies was a cringefest of the highest degree and completely indefensible. While it was commendable for him to stand by his master when the ship was sinking, it was bad timing to the extreme.
Regardless of what you think of Hunt, his hair, his diction, his style of play he is full entitled to voice his opinion and its a pity theres not more of it from him and more besides. It might end a lot of worthless column inches in the papers of speculation and might seperate us once again from British tabloid style journalism thats plagued us since 2002.
Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?
Keane is definitely a bit of a whiner, but this has nothing to do with his work-rate, which is fantastic.
As a forward, you also have to take into consideration efficiency. If you run around all game like a nutcase, you may "work harder," but you may not play better.
Doyle works harder than Keane, but he hasn't been putting the ball in the net too often for us during this campaign...at the end of the day it's important that players do their best, but that doesn't always mean you waste energy doing stupid sh*t (not to say that Doyle does this).
I remember 2 or 3 instances when Keane made very long runs back into midfield to make tackles against Italy. While these were important plays that broke up Italian attacks, if a forward did this all game, he'd have no energy to do anything when the ball finally came his way.
To seperate this out - the point thats being made is that you are more concerned about who is talking rather than whats being said -
1) Robbie Keane a hero and therefore everything that comes out of his mouth is golden - FALSE. Robbie Keane is a hero but standing up for Stan was a bad move. It doesnt diminish the man or what he does on the pitch though.
2) Hunt is a clown so everything that comes out of his mouth is a pile of rubbish - FALSE. While he might not be Maradonna, if you seperate the person from the words, his opinion is justified on occasions and this was one of those occasions.
3) Eamon Dunphy is a pundit that makes good television - TRUE - He comes out with some s**t 90% of the time but hes a bit like foot.ie - worth watching for the craic, but dont take it too seriously boys.
In Traps words "Who is this Dunphy. I dont know him. If he knows about football, I would like to meet him" - only to be met with the journalists laughter. I think that says it all.
haha is that what he said, trap really is a legend. DUNPHY V TRAP..hmmmm i wonder who's opinion counts on football.In Traps words "Who is this Dunphy. I dont know him. If he knows about football, I would like to meet him" - only to be met with the journalists laughter. I think that says it all.
and as for robbie defending stan. i dont see anything wrong with it in principal. yes he was a crap manager but he was only standing up for the man. nothing wrong with a player standing up for the manager.
Yeah Trap really said that...how can you not love the guy? Best possible response IMO:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...ic-Dunphy.html
Dunphy on Hunt - "Hes not Mr Universe himself"
Fair comment
Dunphy
Roland Rat
A captain standing up for the manager is commendable. I would not expect less. Even when our performances were very poor under Eoin Hand WCQ'86 the player's blamed themselves when Hand was getting hammered in the press for ineptness.
Apres Match is entertainment3) Eamon Dunphy is a pundit that makes good television - TRUE - He comes out with some s**t 90% of the time but hes a bit like foot.ie - worth watching for the craic, but dont take it too seriously boys.
I don't find Dunphy's antics entertaining or good television but I don't find Jerry Springer to be good television. After watching an Ireland performance on Saturday and this idiot comes on, my reaction is walk away or else the remote is in serious danger.
Total B.S.
Anybody watching that post-game analysis knows that he used shameful to describe the performance, and not Andy Reid's omission.
He's probably been on a couple of forums like this one, and read a couple of articles that have been highly critical of his remarks.
While there's "no such thing as bad press," when the press is almost universally negative, it's time to do some backtracking and PR work if you want to maintain your audience.
I think the thing that saddens me the most is that I genuinely feel that Dunphy will be happier if we fail in the playoffs than if we succeed. I don't want that kind of person being paid the sort of money he's on to wish failure upon the Irish team and say "I told you so" on air.
There's enough begrudgers as it is without them being on the public payroll.
hahaHunty - "Eamo, your a skinny little rat"
Eamo - "No Stephen, I am your father....."![]()