Page 13 of 105 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast

Thread: The Derry City thread - Derry sign first four players

284 Posts
    Am I right in thinking that if DCFC don't finish 3rd, they won't qualify for Europe next season? How do their remaining fixtures compare with Cork's?
    Or are Cork still capable of being relegated/wound up/unlicenced etc, thereby "saving" Derry?
    Anyhow I imagine no European football at the Brandywell next season would be a further blow to DCFC's morale and motivation at least (if maybe not that much in purely financial terms?)

3,492 Posts
    Top three and the Cup winners get into Europe.

Cork being wound up would lead to them not being in Europe. But really, the place could travel quite a distance if we start looking at financial problems.

623 Posts
    you might have sligo dundalk and the drogs in europe next year!

89 Posts
    McGinn case was settled out of court, City also have to pay costs.......

Result? Dungannon 1 Derry City 0.

Well done our board......
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

30 Posts
    I'm disgusted at how our club handled this whole thing.

Fair play to Dungannon Swifts for taking this to the courts.

1,554 Posts
    It really does seem strange to have allowed this to go as far as it did and to incur what must be significant extra costs.

123 Posts
    hard part over now all they have to do is get the money
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

So much for our bullet-proof legal team and legal position on this..

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    So much for our bullet-proof legal team and legal position on this..

Derry should revert to past-time status and rejoin the Irish League

They would probably get slightly smaller gate receipts but the costs in playing staff and travel etc would be greatly reduced.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    hard part over now all they have to do is get the money
    Yeah because getting the money is the easy part

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by belfastred View Post
    Derry should revert to past-time status and rejoin the Irish League

They would probably get slightly smaller gate receipts but the costs in playing staff and travel etc would be greatly reduced.
    Not even in the same league as Sheridan in the Wumming stakes imo.

30 Posts
    There's nothing to worry about lads - our board says everything is OK.

(apologies for the poor photoshopping)

Last edited by dcfc_1928; 08/10/2009 at 4:32 PM.

Good to hear its sorted now.

Dungannon Swifts have agreed an out of court settlement with Derry City over money owed to them following Niall McGinn's transfer to Celtic.

The Swifts took legal action, claiming a sell-on clause meant they were entitled to a slice of the fee from McGinn's move in December 2008. The parties reached an agreement on Thursday but the amount Dungannon are to get was not revealed.

Derry have been ordered to pay Dungannon's legal costs.

The player was transferred to Derry from the Swifts in January 2008 but, after less than a year at the Brandywell, the winger moved to Celtic.

At the time, newspaper reports suggested the fee for McGinn had been around 250,000 Euro, meaning Dungannon could pocket 50,000 from the sell-on clause.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

thats good news for the smaller clubs as for too long the smaller clubs in Ireland have being trampled into the ground from the bigger clubs.. An example would be the Sean Dillon transfer we found it so hard to get money out of them after he left us.. our ex treasurer famously went into the offices of a certain ex owner and refused to leave unless he got some money that was owed.. a resoultion was solved very quickly.. So fair play to the Swifts for persisting in this..

623 Posts
    thats good news for the smaller clubs as for too long the smaller clubs in Ireland have being trampled into the ground from the bigger clubs.. An example would be the Sean Dillon transfer we found it so hard to get money out of them after he left us.. our ex treasurer famously went into the offices of a certain ex owner and refused to leave unless he got some money that was owed.. a resoultion was solved very quickly.. So fair play to the Swifts for persisting in this..
    we have gotten completly screwed transfer fee wise
    think of gartland, dillon, mooney, paisley and even a certian avery john!

the development can only be good news in my opinion its certianly considerably better than nothing
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 08/10/2009 at 7:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    we have gotten completly screwed transfer fee wise
    think of gartland, dillon, mooney, paisley and even a certian avery john!

the development can only be good news in my opinion its certianly considerably better than nothing
    How could ye have been caught so many times? Sell on clauses must have been less than watertight
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

623 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paudie View Post
    How could ye have been caught so many times? Sell on clauses must have been less than watertight
    we got verry small fees or none at all and we seem to be terible at getting players to sign contracts longford have allways been a buy cheap develop player and let go for nothing kind of club..

stephen o brien is another said he was retiring and signed for bohs!
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 08/10/2009 at 7:47 PM.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    Derry have been ordered to pay Dungannon's legal costs.
    Do you have a source for this?

I don't doubt it, its just that "sources" close to our club are claiming otherwise.

I would imagine that there is a gag clause in whatever deal was worked out and both clubs will desperately try to spin their side via "sources".

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Do you have a source for this?

I don't doubt it, its just that "sources" close to our club are claiming otherwise.

I would imagine that there is a gag clause in whatever deal was worked out and both clubs will desperately try to spin their side via "sources".
    I think it’s fair to say that this is a case that Dungannon were almost certainly going to win. Like, I mean, Derry agreed to pay Dungannon a percentage of a selling-on fee and then tried to claim that the deal was confidential and made NO payment whatsoever. The judge had already told Derry to cop themselves on. I don't think Dungannon needed Johnny Cochran's legal dream team to win this one. Why on earth would Dungannon agree to meet its own full costs?

You're probably right, both clubs may spin it. However I think I'll believe what comes out of Dungannon on this one.
    Neale Fenn on retiring: 'I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks.'

Page 13 of 105 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast