Page 35 of 73 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast

Thread: Roy Keane

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    If nothing else, he's still capable of a withering stare to put down a journalist. Take a look at the last few seconds of the clip below.....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...wn/8289291.stm

The question was asked just to get a reaction. I don't think the stare was that withering. Because it's Keane, people say "start the ambulance". All he did was look at the reporter and say he refuses to answer the question.

As we have always suspected with Keane, he can give it but can't take it.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    Being an arrogant hothead prone to rash decision making isn't a huge detriment during a playing career, if you're as talented a player as Roy was; however, these same attributes which made him such a feared midfield general are leading to his downfall, as he chops and changes too frequently, and makes no effort to build his players up at all, instead cutting them down in the press at every opportunity.

Add to this the fact that he probably has the worst scouting network in Britain, and what do you have?
    What do you know about his scouting network? please tell us more....

2,796 Posts
    Owen Garvan turns down a loan move to Colchester,

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    Being an arrogant hothead prone to rash decision making isn't a huge detriment during a playing career, if you're as talented a player as Roy was; however, these same attributes which made him such a feared midfield general are leading to his downfall, as he chops and changes too frequently, and makes no effort to build his players up at all, instead cutting them down in the press at every opportunity.

Add to this the fact that he probably has the worst scouting network in Britain, and what do you have?
    Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry View Post
    What do you know about his scouting network? please tell us more....
    You do not need to know much about his scouting network to know that it is a bad scouting network.
    Roy Keane seems to have the unhappy knack of signing bad players for the two clubs that he has managed.
    If you are signing poor players then maybe the scouting system needs to be changed.
    I am beginning to wonder if Roy is more concerned about the financial side of his deals(who he is doing the deals with) than the quality of player he is signing.

Here is a new analysis of the Saipan Incident involving Roy Keane before the World Cup in 2002.

http://www.soccer-ireland.com/saipan/index.htm

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    The question was asked just to get a reaction. I don't think the stare was that withering. Because it's Keane, people say "start the ambulance". All he did was look at the reporter and say he refuses to answer the question.

As we have always suspected with Keane, he can give it but can't take it.
    Perhaps, but to be honest Keane's reaction was as bad. Most managers either just blandly dismiss it, and some have the decency to joke about it. Not old Keano; why do I always get the suspicion that this is a man who has perhaps zero sense of humour.

Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    ... Not old Keano; why do I always get the suspicion that this is a man who has perhaps zero sense of humour.
    Based upon my research he does have a sense of humour - it's just that it isn't always switched on.

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Soccer Mom View Post
    Based upon my research he does have a sense of humour - it's just that it isn't always switched on.
    The Psycho bit is always on or at the very least on alert standby

20 Posts
    Maybe I should rephrase; part of a healthy personality (I think) is the ability to not take yourself too seriously. Knowing when to stand back and say "you know, I'm a bit of an eejit sometimes, sorry lads". Roy Keane knows not this trick. I doubt he even knows it exists.

Here is a new analysis of the Saipan Incident involving Roy Keane before the World Cup in 2002.

http://www.soccer-ireland.com/saipan/index.htm

The conclusions seem very valid, maybe it's just a Cork thing
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

1,928 Posts

That was my final thought too.

It's a little bit more than that because he seems to have problems with some people from Cork also because they're not from the right part of the city. He is always quick to point out that Denis Irwin was from the 'wrong' side of Cork and that Stephen Ireland is not from Cork - 'he's from Cobh'.
    Last edited by Soccer Mom; 06/10/2009 at 10:08 AM. Reason: typo

630 Posts
    Life is trying to teach Roy but is Roy still willing to learn.

Please do not tell Roy I said that.

1,928 Posts
    It's a little bit more than that because he seems to have problems with some people from Cork also because they're not from the right part of the city. He is always quick to point out that Denis Irwin was from the 'wrong' side of Cork and that Stephen Ireland is not from Cork - 'he's from Cobh'.
    That's still a 'Cork thing'.

2,081 Posts
    Not sure of the purpose of such a biased report. If the blame was that one sided I don't think the country would have been so divided. Personally I could see Keane's frustrations but still think he should have played in the WC, especially when given the opportunity to return.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Not sure of the purpose of such a biased report. If the blame was that one sided I don't think the country would have been so divided. Personally I could see Keane's frustrations but still think he should have played in the WC, especially when given the opportunity to return.
    If Roy Keane didn't play for Manchester United then it's always been my opinion that the country wouldn't have been so divided. That fact that so many people in Ireland are slavishly devoted to MUFC skewed things for me but that's just my take on it. There were obviously exceptions.....

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    If Roy Keane didn't play for Manchester United then it's always been my opinion that the country wouldn't have been so divided. That fact that so many people in Ireland are slavishly devoted to MUFC skewed things for me but that's just my take on it. There were obviously exceptions.....
    Fairly valid point but I also felt the opposite applied in that ABU's probably went against him due to his United connection.

130 Posts
    Fairly valid point but I also felt the opposite applied in that ABU's probably went against him due to his United connection.
    You could argue that alright although the likes of Paul McGarth and Denis Irwin were universally loved by all Irish fans despite their Man U connections, there were previous issues with RK and a good portion of the Ireland support despite people's unwillingness to mention it now.

Not that I'd fault his on field contribution obviously.

1,928 Posts
    Not sure of the purpose of such a biased report.
    That report looks objective enough. The compiler's conclusions are his own opinions.

222 Posts
    I read the reports intro, methodolgy and conclusions (like most people I guess!) Reading the methodology I fully expected a pro-Keane rant... the methodology section states that his primary source is Keane's biog and interviews with Keane.... i.e. everything from Roy's point of view. So I was surprised to find the conclusions so strongly anti-Keane. I'm guessing the author may have come into it with some baggage, but perhaps not, perhaps that's his honest conclusion after what appears to have been a huge amount of research.

Page 35 of 73 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast