Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Rovers 2-1 Bohs Cup Replay

Quote Originally Posted by apo11o View Post
    Whether he was or not makes no difference now
    Oh I know it makes no difference but there was a debate on the bus back about whether it was offside or not. I was sure it was. Just curious.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

in no way is rovers a big pitch ya could shoot from half way line !!! look at bohs pitch compared to ours..... camano has less time on the ball on a small pitch and has to make decisions quicker plus if a players gets in behind him they are on in the box very quick compareded to a bigger pitch where peers can cover him easier. they put a young pacey striker on him last nite as knew he was slow to turn and positioning sense leaves a lot to be desiried. camano is a liability as when he makes one or two mistakes his head goes. his biggest problem is he goes for everything he just needs to relax a bit and be more composed. he could be a good player for us but i have seen him play too many bad games and how many times has he been subbed...............he must be most subbed cb in league and only here a few months !!! on the small pitch arguement most pitches in the league are on the small side. i hope camano proves me wrong as his desire and will to win is a great trait to have at the club

Great performance esp in the second half after Bohs got an absolute fluke of a goal. Huge difference when Cook took of Camano off and sent on Keane, thought Keane done very well when he came on. Blinkhorn's ball to Cretaro was absolute quality thats they kind of play you pay to watch, but great running by O'Grady for the goal he made up some ground and to be fair Danny Ventre was right beside him to offer Raf support for him to square which fair play to Cretaro he dilvered to a tee. Could not see Doyle's winner, he seemed to pick himself up of the ground and smash it. We defended well after that to win it and fair play to Brush who came and spread himself well a few times. Great night in the Showgrounds fantastic stuff, one of the best nights in years there and a good crowd as well who went home happy. More of the same in the semi please lads, no point beating the best teams in the country and losing to a first division side. We need to get safe and then get to the cup final we are the best team left in it but we need to prove it as the first division is the hottest in years. Anybody at home in the next round, i just want a home draw.
    Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 16/09/2009 at 11:27 AM.

Magic....I just hope we carry our cup form into the league and get out of relegation trouble and then win the cup and go to europe and win that as well and......didnt I say this towards the endof last season?

Best of luck lads in the cup I do think your name is on the cup and at 9/4 in gonna have a few quid on that(sorry to disapoint a few people) Still dont know how we only scored 1 goal last night thats the way its been latley for us any other night we could of had 6 or 7.Great home crowd which was good to see and the a good atmosphere from both sets of fans as well.Just 1 question does Brush play that well every week or just when Sligo play Bohs because in the 6 games this season so far he has been brilliant.

Brushy made some great saves but i thought he was off his line too quickly at times and we nearly got caught out twice . he is a great guy but keane and peers are 2 very good headers of the ball and there is no point in richie coming out to the penalty spot trying to punch long hopeful balls. His shot stopping last night was top drawer.

Dance off

brushy takes pressure off the two centre halves coming out and claiming big high balls. its great when your keeper does that! he's quality.

keane won every header when he came on. he was brilliant. reports on RTE and in some papers saying it was peers fault for their goal. id disagree, he headed it away and it just unluckily hit off ventre. it said 'ogrady and doyle save peers' blushes'. he was immense again. danny ventre aswell. everyone really, well done to all the team

wouldnt mind an away trip tbh with a massive away support but id prefer a home game now. more thank likely waterford away. id take bray before the two FD teams

Formerly: wild rover
    Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    Dance off
    The only defeat of the night........

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    The only defeat of the night........
    You got owned big style my san , actually good craic in Mooneys after. Even Knappagh Red was singing and dancing

[QUOTE=BohsPartisan;1233157]Fair play and all that, was sickened, we created loads but couldn't score. One point though, and I could be wrong but from where I was standing your goal looked a good yard offside. Was yer man on the ground not in an offside position when the ball was played?[/QUOTE]

If he was not off side when the ball got to him then he could not have been off side when it was played to him because he was on the ground and did not move until it came to him. I am fairly certain that when the ball came to him and when he struck it Bohs had at least one defender on the line as well as the keeper. Also I'm fairly certain that Conor was half a yard behind a defender when Raf squared it to him.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    You got owned big style my san , actually good craic in Mooneys after. Even Knappagh Red was singing and dancing
    Did you make it to Envy Maniac?

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    in no way is rovers a big pitch ya could shoot from half way line !!! look at bohs pitch compared to ours..... camano has less time on the ball on a small pitch and has to make decisions quicker plus if a players gets in behind him they are on in the box very quick compareded to a bigger pitch where peers can cover him easier. they put a young pacey striker on him last nite as knew he was slow to turn and positioning sense leaves a lot to be desiried. camano is a liability as when he makes one or two mistakes his head goes. his biggest problem is he goes for everything he just needs to relax a bit and be more composed. he could be a good player for us but i have seen him play too many bad games and how many times has he been subbed...............he must be most subbed cb in league and only here a few months !!! on the small pitch arguement most pitches in the league are on the small side. i hope camano proves me wrong as his desire and will to win is a great trait to have at the club
    Fair enough - you've obviously put a lot of thought into it!

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Did you make it to Envy Maniac?
    No returned to base armed witha snack box and a chicken burger, will leave those college luvlies for another night.

21 Posts
    Fenlon kept the Bohs team locked in dressing room last night till eleven o clock. The Treacy Avenue residents were kept well entertained by the rumpus. Bus driver was going to clear off if it lasted any longer.

Well, for once the RTE cameras have confirmed that neither goal was OFFSIDE
    "Overwhelmed"

Are the goals up anywhere?

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Are the goals up anywhere?
    They were on the six one news
    "Overwhelmed"

The one thing that could beat us is complacency. If we underestimate any of the teams left or start believing this sh1te about our name being on the cup thats when we'll be in trouble. We need to keep the feet on the ground now,nothing is won yet. If we go about it in the right way we'll never have a better chance to win the cup but whoever we play next the game has to be approached as it would if we were playing bohs or shams.

Great win, great second half performance, great atmosphere, unbelievable night. Was standing behind the bohs goal in the second half and thought Doyle was offside for the second goal to be fair. I love to see O' Grady get in to the box like he did for his goal and is something I think he should do more often. I think any criticism of Camano is extremely harsh. He defended everything that was put in front of him and his distibution from defence was very good. His performances are improving and I think the negative comments he recieves are totally over the top. The referee was an absolute disgrace again i thought and we won the game inspite of him. As for Ndo, what a player, a different class and a pleasure to watch.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast