Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers 2-1 Bohs Cup Replay

Absolutly delighted with the result, the Cup is surely ours! I never tought i'd see 2 goals in the second half, but we came out with a fantastic attitude. Brush seriously deserved MOTM, no matter what anyone says, he was absolutly brilliant and save dus on a number of occasions. I think people are being a bit harsh on Camano, he started well but nothing was going his way after the half hour mark, he was getting great clearance headers and tackles but unfortunatly drops his game too quick, but I do agree Keane should've started. I take it our next game Cup game will be on RTE ? we all feared we would get Shams away next, but now you cant underestimate Sporting Fingal either even though we beat them in the EA Sports Cup. Bray at home would be the best we could hope for, but the magic of the cup will give us Waterford away no doubt . Great attendance for a teusday night, i'd say there was 3,500+ ? I was very wary of Ndo and tought he might score or create a chance for a goal, he was given way too much space every time he got the ball, but Morrison came on he was more willing to take him on for the ball.
    Coleman for Ireland

Anybody know what weekend the Semis are scheduled for?

jesus i dont think there was 3500 there but i could be wrong, then again re was full and blue practically full with good crowd at railway end. suppose bout 3000 anyways your prob near enuf right sligofan. your right bout brush he was brill kept us in it. i still am of the opinion small pitch does not suit camano. look at home games and bray game but he done well twice in dalymount. semi is weekend 25th i think

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    jesus i dont think there was 3500 there but i could be wrong, then again re was full and blue practically full with good crowd at railway end. suppose bout 3000 anyways your prob near enuf right sligofan. your right bout brush he was brill kept us in it. i still am of the opinion small pitch does not suit camano. look at home games and bray game but he done well twice in dalymount. semi is weekend 25th i think
    there was 3500 at the end of season game in 2008 I think, and it looked around the same tonight, definatly over 3000 though but absolutly fantastic atmosphere when we really got going . It wa sgreat to see we went and instead of defending in the second half, we went at them in the second half instead! 25th of October ?
    Coleman for Ireland

ya we needed to keep at them, young madden for them looked good better than them wasters byrne and crowe. they are useless. they have no pace upfront. blinkhorn does some work but would like to see the lad get into box more and get more goals as he deserves a few more. murphy had a few slippery moments too lol

What a result. What a performance. What a night. Each one of them outstanding. Poor Fenlon was distraught, that bloody farmers field again. Only for it Bohs would be in semi final. His excuses are running out now. With no more cup games it will be 73% now. Come on the reds. There will be a Rovers in the Final at Tallaght. SLIGO ROVERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dont think we should fear anyone at this stage, crowd were brill tonight, really got behind the team, plenty of singing from the red stand, well done to the team and the fans hope everyone is back on saturday night.
    Last edited by bigredtruck; 15/09/2009 at 11:17 PM.

in fairness ya could see what it meant to the team and cook at final whistle. i wish we could have the cup atmosphere at the league games we really were the 12th man in the cup games this year.

Smile

attendance was 2300. (new stand 1700 , bohs support 100 & 500 of ours) exactly what i estimated earlier. great support for a tuesday night & a few bob to help the club along the way. fair play to the lads they worked there socks off. i think its unfair to say that camano was poor , he gives his all maybe a bit slow but totally committed & a good header of the ball. we have a fairly decent squod now & they are beginning to gel and work their socks off for each other. everybody has to be delighted , things are beginning to turn around , its still a long road but we have a great chance. in fairness i have to say that paul & gerry's work ethic was stamped on that performance tonight. bohs are a great team & i hope they win the league . the way they move the ball should be what all teams aspire to ( dont worry i'm not gone to the other side) i;m delighted for ourselves & all the truely great supporters of sligo rovers. i met tom mc kettrick comming out of the ground after the game and the smile on his face said it all. thanks gerry paul and the team for a memorable night. & thanks to the al the lads on the doorley express. i'm very happy for yee. it was great to see stayinf in the ground after the game unfortunately i had to go home & milk the cows & drink the wine. up the bit 'o red

A truelt magnificant night, and a reverse of the the two recent games vs Bohs. They started strongly, but we crept our way into it in the second half.

Did we deserve it? Maybe, maybe not!
    Did we deserve to beat Cork? Maybe, maybe not!
    Did we deserve to beat Derry? Maybe, maybe not!

Do we deserve to win the cup? Yes.....or then again maybe not!

The big question is what happened at the end of the game between Fenlon and Dermot Brannigan? Dermot, spill the beans!!
    "Overwhelmed"

sure fenlon is always whinging but what would ya expect from the jackeen fooker. small man syndrome that fella has. delighted bohs wont do the treble hope waterford beat them too...... less money they make the better in my eyes

Not much else people can add to this bar the fact that noboby has mentioned Joseph Ndo. I just clapped one of his passes at one stage when he did some lovely skill and spread it from the main stand side to the other flank on the blue stand side..
    He is really a pleasure to watch, the best play i have seen in the Showgrounds in a long time

Apart from that, twas good to send Fenlon, Brennon, McGuinness and a few more packing....you'd take Madden, Ndo and Rossitor though anyday

We rode our luck but deserved it i think as we dont get much, at least this season so far

21 Posts
    Blinkhorn was great tonight. Won everything in the air but would be nice to see it to his feet. Cretaro did great to get it one one for O Grady. Bohs Goalie got dodgy and he got fierce abuse behind the goals.

hopefully we can win the cup and it may convince lads to stay and next year get our confidence back and start with a clean slate and give the league a good go. i heard a lot of the new signings are on 6 month contract and peers and boco have only 6 months left. surely we need brush, boco, peers, keane, raf nd blinkhorn at showgrounds next year and get a few new midfielders in the settle the central mid problem. if the lads can win the cup it has to give them some much needed belief that we had in abundance last year but seemed this year it was not there from the start. plus the revenue for the club with a trophy win and another run in europe would be excellent. i pray we stay up and a cup win and next year i wont spend so much time on here complaining !!! prob not though im a whinging bestard at best of times lol also @ redbellied your spot on in what you said bout blinkhorn the lad has so much more to offer than just being a emile heskey holding up the ball, give to his feet for once

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Blinkhorn was great tonight. Won everything in the air but would be nice to see it to his feet
    Ya, I think he's one of the best striking options we've brought in in a long time. I just wish Raf could have been on the end of more of the balls he knocked down, it might have been even better!! Great result and a great atmosphere lastnight, hopefully we can get a home draw in the Semis and go on and lift the Cup.......hopefully! I don't like the favourites tag either though that some people are putting on us, it doesn't suit us!!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

i still am of the opinion small pitch does not suit camano.
    I think it could be round balls that don't suit him.... but in fairness to him, the challenge on N'do resulting in a yellow could have been the difference in Rovers winning. N'do was about to burst into the box ahead of any of our defenders.
    Nice one Martín!
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

The Showgrounds pitch cannot be classed as a small pitch. it is probably one of the widest in the league and the length was increased at the start of the season to qualify for hosting European matches and it's certainly not so small that our penalty box is only 16 yards. I could be wrong.

I have to say I've heard of pitches being too small for a team but to be too small for a player is a new one.

As for the match it was pure magic. Incredible athmosphere and while every player did their bit Brush, Peers and Boco were sensational. We have brought Last Ditch Defending to a new level.

Fair play and all that, was sickened, we created loads but couldn't score. One point though, and I could be wrong but from where I was standing your goal looked a good yard offside. Was yer man on the ground not in an offside position when the ball was played?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Fair play and all that, was sickened, we created loads but couldn't score. One point though, and I could be wrong but from where I was standing your goal looked a good yard offside. Was yer man on the ground not in an offside position when the ball was played?
    Whether he was or not makes no difference now but up to that bohs got all the breaks.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast