Page 26 of 28 FirstFirst ... 162425262728 LastLast

Thread: F.A.I. Ford Cup 4th Round Latest

Quote Originally Posted by shep View Post
    That has to be the funniest post i have ever read from a Drogs fan???? Have you got a memory problem or something....your delusions of grandeur nearly ended your club FFS!!!
    It wasnt the fans that nearly ended our club!!

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    OMG I'm just back from a game as a neutral fan.

I was in the jodi and I have to say Dundalk were very unlucky to go out.

The Dundalk fans sounded really good and I wished I was over with them instead of in a dead part of the Jodie (Block C).

Bohs were the better team by a mile but with the money they are spending (unlawfully) they should be beating all L.O.I. teams easily instead of just squeezing past them on penalties.

Ah well........... what's the rules for ................IF a team goes over the 65% and wins the cup?

Does the team they will probably beat unfairly in the final and through every round because they have signed players they can't afford mean that they will be allowed to keep the cup?

The reason I'm asking this is because a few Bohs fans said the same to to me.

So????

Hopefully the F.A.I. will grow a set and make sure that won't happen.

BTW Unlucky DFC.
    The least nuetral post in the history of the internet.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

Were to begin Deegan was stupid what he did and deserved his red card but as its already been mentioned thank **** we have Fenlon and not Sean Connor as our manager,Dundalk were up against it coming into the game so when you see the other team get a man sent off early on you think to yourself just keep your head and keep the ball and the other team will tire but Connor couldnt see that and still had his players wound up which led to them getting a man sent off a few mins later giving us the advantage again instead of trying to calm his players down but thats to hard for Connor.Hancock totally lost it how Dundalk only had 1 man sent off is beyond me they should of had a least another 2 I was just glad none of our players went off on a strecher last night.We had the chances to win the game in the 90 mins Fenn missed 2 great chances in the 1st half and we had a fe in the 2nd half as well but Mansaram could of won it for them when he went 1 on 1 with Murphy but thankfully Murphy saved it.

I did not want peno's I had a bad feeling about it,I could see the headlines we win the cup on penos last year and this year we go out on them but thank god we went true,was not confident when I seen Anto Murphy taken the 1st peno but fair play he stuck it way nicely,had a feeling byrne would miss he scores them for fun in the league but I just new he was gonna miss,he needs a goal to get his confidence up again,now when I saw Brian Murphy taken a peno I straight away thought of Artur Boruc's peno last year for Celtic in the cup and it went in the back of the net just like Boruc did.Keegan strolled up with alot of confidence and it was great to see the former Drogs man knock Dundalk out of the cup.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Betting Man View Post
    when you see the other team get a man sent off early on you think to yourself just keep your head and keep the ball and the other team will tire but Connor couldnt see that and still had his players wound up which led to them getting a man sent off a few mins later giving us the advantage again instead of trying to calm his players down but thats to hard for Connor.
    Actually that is a fair point and one Dundalk fans have made on our forum.

When you combine a ref who is desperate to even the score and an opponent team diving like swans at every tackle, it was time to treat Bohs like they were china dolls.

Unfortunately, our players all to often this season don't use their brains. However, it is our first season back in the top division and there are lessons to be learnt.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Actually that is a fair point and one Dundalk fans have made on our forum.

When you combine a ref who is desperate to even the score and an opponent team diving like swans at every tackle, it was time to treat Bohs like they were china dolls.

Unfortunately, our players all to often this season don't use their brains. However, it is our first season back in the top division and there are lessons to be learnt.
    Ah yes the opposition, the ref, in fact EVERYONE was at fault except the thuggish Dundalk players so eager to kick opponents that they threw away the advantage of an extra man.
    As I posted before Dundalk have the basis of a very good team and if they could curtail the unnecessary (and at times outlandish) fouling they are well capable of competing with anyone and bringing success back to Oriel.
    Alternatively they can keep on blaming everyone else and buy the Sean Connor crap "conspiracy theory" as watch as other teams progress.

Though it strange last night that they played for penalties (time wasting from start of 2nd half) given that Bohs have greater experience (ask Derry) and the best keeper in Ireland.On the night Bohs were the team that tried to score and win the game and deserved a place in the next round.
    Respect though to the Dundalk fans there, sang and got behind the team all the way through and a decent crowd of them for a Tusday night.

dundalk have a player sent off in nearly everygame they play. they are the dirtiest team in the league.

alot of bohs players make a total meal out of challenges on them. duno about them diving but they make tackles look far worse than they actually are.

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Ah yes the opposition, the ref, in fact EVERYONE was at fault except the thuggish Dundalk players so eager to kick opponents that they threw away the advantage of an extra man.
    As I posted before Dundalk have the basis of a very good team and if they could curtail the unnecessary (and at times outlandish) fouling they are well capable of competing with anyone and bringing success back to Oriel.
    Alternatively they can keep on blaming everyone else and buy the Sean Connor crap "conspiracy theory" as watch as other teams progress.

Though it strange last night that they played for penalties (time wasting from start of 2nd half) given that Bohs have greater experience (ask Derry) and the best keeper in Ireland.On the night Bohs were the team that tried to score and win the game and deserved a place in the next round.
    Respect though to the Dundalk fans there, sang and got behind the team all the way through and a decent crowd of them for a Tusday night.
    Agreed. When Dundalk knocked the ball around rather than the man, they looked quite good. I thought if they stepped it up and concentrated on the football they could have beaten us. For Dundalks sake I do hope they get rid of Connor and his "Crazy Gang" nonsense, with a decent manager like Cooke for example they would have no prob being a top four side. Great support from their fans last night by the way. Athmosphere around the peno`s was electric.

555 Posts

You have seen Dundalk play a few times this season and your side do bring out the worst in our players for whatever reason. However, I have seen them far more and don't accept that they are a thuggish side.

Last week we played Bray (a young side) in Dundalk. Dundalk didn't kick them and tried to play good football. I hope the match on Saturday against Rovers will be a good football match.

The one area that contributed to our players "playing for penalties" was the superior fitness of your players. Dundalk fans are concerned that full time players were struggling before the end of 90 minutes. I know each team played most of the game with 10 men but Bohs fitness was much better.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    dundalk have a player sent off in nearly everygame they play. they are the dirtiest team in the league.

alot of bohs players make a total meal out of challenges on them. duno about them diving but they make tackles look far worse than they actually are.
    The league statistics are that two teams have had six players sent off in the 24 games so far this season; Dundalk and

Sligo Rovers

231 Posts

In fairness I think that can be directed at Killian Brennan not at any other player

Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    In fairness I think that can be directed at Killian Brennan not at any other player
    Anto Murphy too, he loves the dramatics.

The one area that contributed to our players "playing for penalties" was the superior fitness of your players. Dundalk fans are concerned that full time players were struggling before the end of 90 minutes. I know each team played most of the game with 10 men but Bohs fitness was much better.
    The first thing that Fenlon did when he took over at Bohs was bring the players back early after Christmas in order to get their fitness up: and it was a major reason why we ran away with the league last year with substantially the same squad that finished third under Connor. Liam Burns, for one, was a completely different player last year than he was before (and probably since)
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

427 Posts
    You have seen Dundalk play a few times this season and your side do bring out the worst in our players for whatever reason. However, I have seen them far more and don't accept that they are a thuggish side.

Last week we played Bray (a young side) in Dundalk. Dundalk didn't kick them and tried to play good football. I hope the match on Saturday against Rovers will be a good football match.

As I said previously I have really only seen Dundalk play Bohs and accept that may not be a reflection of how they play every week. The fact that a number of your players are ex Bohs may also be a factor as, of course, is the Seanie scenario. Bohs did look fitter as the game went on and that is one area we have seen major improvement in under Fenlon.

Was worried to lose Deegan so early and think that with cooler heads Dundalk had a real chance to turn us over. Still a very steady first season back in the top League for ye and no doubt many more chances to "exchange views"

2,771 Posts

agree fully with the bolded part which is why Candsystripe's neutral post made me laugh - its not like we were playing the St. Kevins Under Sevens!! Every game in this league is a tough one.

I have to say though that the attitude of Connor and his team and the Dundalkkk fans that post on this message board make me wish for nothing but misery and failure for Dundalk FC in the future.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

427 Posts
    Congrats, your team must be the first in history not to make tackles look "far worse than they actually are". What next - team accused of time wasting ?

Are you surprised?

Connor doesnt bother with a diet or fitness for that matter. Liam Burns was a disgrace when playing with us under Connor,when Connor left Burns lost a couple stone.

There was few Dundalk players last night carrying an extra few pounds and Burns is 1 of them

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alltogethernow View Post
    Are you surprised?

Connor doesnt bother with a diet or fitness for that matter. Liam Burns was a disgrace when playing with us under Connor,when Connor left Burns lost a couple stone.
    I don't think there is much point in Bohs fans identifying Connors limitations any further, like ourselves, Dundalk fans will see soon enough that he can only take them so far and he will have to spoof himself another job
    any way we at Bohs should move on - the clown just isnt worth it.

Quote Originally Posted by The Betting Man View Post
    There was few Dundalk players last night carrying an extra few pounds and Burns is 1 of them
    They looked fitter than us in the last twenty minutes in the league game at the showgrounds. Wouldn't say they were a dirty side either.

The league statistics are that two teams have had six players sent off in the 24 games so far this season; Dundalk and

Sligo Rovers

Have you forgotten about 6 players in total being booked on the night and every other night for ye? Sure even Bennion got booked over handbag stuff with Cretaro after he scored against ye earlier in the season along with 5 or 6 other playersfor ye that got booked that night.
    Last edited by sligofan4ever; 20/08/2009 at 12:16 AM.
    Coleman for Ireland

Page 26 of 28 FirstFirst ... 162425262728 LastLast