Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Derry Tuesday Night 0-4

Agree with you Dixie Dean. Last year Butler and Coleman were so good going forward they covered up for the inadequacies of the midfield. O'Grady is limited but he is the best we have and was missed last night, Ryan can't tackle, close people down or compete in the air and McGrath looked like a junior footballer, I thought Blinkhorn was the only one who walked off the pitch last night with some respect, Derry fans seem confident Boco will be playing for them next year and who could blame him?
    If the rumours are true about the training and drinking Cook and the team deserve all the abuse they get, crowds are getting smaller and there has been no match sponsor for the last few games, a season that promised so much but I fear if we lose on Saturday it will be our last good gate, Cook will leave us in November with a mountain of debt like Cassidy that will take five years in the first division to clear
    Cook reminds me of Kevin Keegan, defence is the thing around the pitch and tactics are small mints.

Quote Originally Posted by Knappagh Red View Post
    If the rumours are true about the training and drinking Cook and the team deserve all the abuse they get..
    Cook banned them from drinking around the town as it would generate bad publicity so they're all getting **** faced in Ballisodare from what I'm told!!!
    They look and play like a team of alchos anyways.
    I wouldn't condone the booing etc but I can understand it. I suppose we'll hear the folowing now from Cook:
    "Things haven't gone so well the last few games but I can guarantee the lads are working hard and won't be found wanting for effort in the cup game against Derry"
    When it's obvious to the dog on the street that they're not working hard and are found wanting for effort in almost every game ( cup v bohs being the only real exception )
    I was always a fan of Cooks and don't believe that getting rid now would help matters but he's playing us all for fools these days and needs to seriously up his game now. The fans of Sligo Rovers FC deserve better than this.
    I just hope it's not too late because the team don't seem to be arsed for him anymore.

Formerly: wild rover
    Quoted in the champion that he came close to resigning after Dundalk......

Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    Were not going to be hammered.
    yourself.
    I told you so.

Honestly, I have been saying it all season, and now that we are really in the sh*ts people are only starting to notice. I knew this would happen.
    And i'll tell you for free the only way we are getting out of this mess is by getting rid of Cook. He's a joke. You lot better start listening to me now before its too late.

If true, then its only a matter of time. 1st division beckons.

Maybe its just me but I did not think we were much worse than Derry going in nil all at half time. OK I admit, we never looked like scoring at any point but I certainly could not have dreamt what was to come in the second half.

Yes the first 2 goals were soft and shows our defensive problems big time, but you can not blame Cook for the shambles for the 3rd goal. It was comical & pathetic. The 4th goal, well.......... we were awful by then. We seem to capitulate in the second half of games. Is it fitness?

Personally I thought Camano was a liabilty. A big lad but he was very shaky and did not show any authority at the back. Also midfield is weak.

HOWEVER, I think there is no point in shouting for Cook's head and I think it is pathetic for fans to be shouting 'f**k off back to Liverpool' or 'f**k off back to England'. Cop on. Cook was supposed to be a 'saviour' last year and in the space of a few months he is now to walk the plank for his 'crimes'? I agree he has got it wrong and does not have the excuse of a paper thin squad anymore. I just dont think there is any point in talking about replacing the manager at this stage of the season as there are not many better options out there for now.

I believe we have talent in the squad and hope and pray that it will prevail to squeeze a few important results against the teams around us in the next few months.

Could have been worse, the 5th goal seemed onside.

The last thing rovers need is a new manager circus - we have to try and dig ourselves out of the mess we got into!

if cook resigns then that is his choice but sacking him wont achieve anything at this stage IMHO!

if he resigns he'll be going back on his word of never leaving a club mid season

cup game coming at just the right point, get our minds off the league for a few days and try and get a result in the cup, we were grand until the first goal again, then we lost all our confidence. players slumped on the ground after every goal. no confidence or belief at all it seems.

think the critisism of morrison is a bit too much, he's created around 15 goals this season for us. maybe more. watched the last 5 minutes in the red stand last night and non stop abuse of him from one or two.
    i know he can be frustrating trying to beat someone and losing the ball sometimes but his assists can help us get away from the drop zone.

cook dosnt like the phrase 'must win game' but he needs to learn it for friday week....its massive.

Quote Originally Posted by mrtndvn View Post
    Glad to see the Cookie is finally crumbling...

20/03/2008

I hate to say I told you so..
    You do realise that the majority of those signings of Connors came through Gerry Cassidys suggestions.
    So if your going to do I told you so at least get it right.

Pure depression after that result.
    TBH im just sick to me teeth of watching constant ****e game in game out, non stop muck, no organisation or game plan of any note which is Cookes responsibility.
    Then no heart, determination, drive or urgencey among the players bar 2 or 3 which is the players fault.
    Im sick of it all, I dont think Cooke should be fired because primarily who will replace him that could steer us clear right now?
    Also we must give him some leeway after what he achieved last season but that is running out soon and I fear when it finally does run out so will our existence in this league.
    When we brought in the likes of Holmes and Parkhouse etc at the start of the season and we were getting muck results and we heard the old cliche, give the time etc etc.
    Now we all know what happened to that batch of players, they just didnt cut it or perform and we are hearing the same crap now for this new group of lads.
    And ya know what we will be hearing the same tripe of give them time etc etc until we are relegated.
    Im just sick of this never ending ****e, I dont know what to do, I certainly dont think sacking Cooke will solve it, but we are in a quagmire and sinking like a stone.
    We need a miralce, im already resiging myself to the Discover Ireland League.
    A sad time to be a Rovers fan.

The morrison criticism annoys me too. He is a "bums off seats" type player and should be encouraged. Ok, he doesnt track back, but i always like to see a player who trys to take his man on, even if he takes too much out of the ball some times.

The main person shouting at Morrison in the red stand is an aul fella that does it all the time. Last night everyone was telling him to shut up and sit down.

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    Do you think I'm that much of an idiot to travel up from Dublin to that rubbish on a tuesday night. I think not. Made a handy bob on that also last night, hope a few listened to me.
    Look young lad I've been following The Rovers for over 40 years and i have seen it all before, it all comes down to wether the MC have the balls to make the call, sooner rather than later.

If we win on saterday, if, a very big if, it is only prolonging the inevitable. Don't forget that.

So you didnt want to go because you predicted we would lose ? ah now, as ARooney28 said, that sums you up. What if we won 3-0 or 3-1 ? or even when we beat them 2-1, were you crying by the final whistle because you lost your little bet on the team you supposedly support ? seriously, we've been through worse, people can say I told you so, but atleast wait until the end of the season it does absolutly no one any good other than yourself getting pleasure and most likely touching yourself when you see a scoreline where we lose, your no good to this forum Inside Man so fcuk off and leave this site to people who genuinely want to see this club succeed and do well.
    Coleman for Ireland

Inside Man was right, so what? Want a medal or something?

Regarding the result itself, there's no way any team can justify a 4-0 home defeat. I wasn't there, but from the comments here and what I have seen myself this season, it was the same old story again. Once we concede we're beaten. Why, oh why are teams just running through us like a hot knife through butter? Why does the team have no confidence? We've brought in a quality striker who's scored 4 goals for us already, yet we've only 1 result to show for it. People are crying out for Peers to come back - well we were still losing and shipping goals with him in the side. Also, is it just me, or is Cook not half as vocal on the sidelines as he was last season?

Cook really needs to have a long, hard look at himself and ask if he's still up to this job any more. The players too. They pulled together brilliantly last season and claimed a European spot that they had no right to get. This year, they seem to think that the league owes them easy victories and a free 4th place. They'd better get that out of their heads promptly, because I genuinely fear 10th place at this point.

Quote Originally Posted by mrtndvn View Post
    Glad to see the Cookie is finally crumbling...

20/03/2008

I hate to say I told you so..
    Sure forget how we finished in a European spot under Cookie last season with only a couple of the dwarfs signings regulars in the team. Hughes, the Bohs/Dundalk quartet etc (the list goes on) all left before the 2008 season, Faz left mid season whilst the Euro push and results improved after he left.

You should work as a spin doctor for the Government as they haven't a clue what they are on about either just like yourself.
    Last edited by Guts&Glory; 12/08/2009 at 1:14 PM.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    Pure depression after that result.
    TBH im just sick to me teeth of watching constant ****e game in game out, non stop muck, no organisation or game plan of any note which is Cookes responsibility.
    Then no heart, determination, drive or urgencey among the players bar 2 or 3 which is the players fault.
    Im sick of it all, I dont think Cooke should be fired because primarily who will replace him that could steer us clear right now?
    Also we must give him some leeway after what he achieved last season but that is running out soon and I fear when it finally does run out so will our existence in this league.
    When we brought in the likes of Holmes and Parkhouse etc at the start of the season and we were getting muck results and we heard the old cliche, give the time etc etc.
    Now we all know what happened to that batch of players, they just didnt cut it or perform and we are hearing the same crap now for this new group of lads.
    And ya know what we will be hearing the same tripe of give them time etc etc until we are relegated.
    Im just sick of this never ending ****e, I dont know what to do, I certainly dont think sacking Cooke will solve it, but we are in a quagmire and sinking like a stone.
    We need a miralce, im already resiging myself to the Discover Ireland League.
    A sad time to be a Rovers fan.

This post is a mess of contradictions - and I agree with most of them but I fail to see how sacking Cook won't improve matters. From what I hear, we have a drinking club with a football problem.

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    I fail to see how sacking Cook won't improve matters.
    What the holy christopher is sacking Cook gonna do?

Bring the club into even more turmoil than it is now! We'd have to pay him off in one big fee (yeah, we can afford that ) Where would that leave us then? Players would want to leave, crowds WILL dwindle even more. We'd be even more screwed, and disorientated than we are now!

Sacking Cook IS NOT the answer!

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    What the holy christopher is sacking Cook gonna do?

Bring the club into even more turmoil than it is now! We'd have to pay him off in one big fee (yeah, we can afford that ) Where would that leave us then? Players would want to leave, crowds WILL dwindle even more. We'd be even more screwed than we are now!

Sacking Cook IS NOT the answer!
    The players form and performances would sink even lower if Cook goes now too.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    This post is a mess of contradictions - and I agree with most of them but I fail to see how sacking Cook won't improve matters. From what I hear, we have a drinking club with a football problem.
    Who do you think could replace Cooke and steer us clear at this moment in time?
    TBH I think it would only be throwing fuel on the fire and make the team and its results degenerate even faster than they are, if thats even possible.

For those who wanna sack Cook, get real. It won't solve a thing.

Alright, the players need to stop on the sauce, it doesn't take a genius to figure that out. But the players should have taken it on themselves to have a proper diet in order to perform. From when they get up, to when they sleep, their lifestyle needs to be examined. These (for the most part) are full-time professionals. Their whole lives should be dedicated to our club. Their fitness is appalling. We crumble after an hour in EVERY game. Just look at the times the goals went in against Derry and Dundalk.

They also need to cop the **** on on the pitch. For their first goal, noone went out to Stewart on the byline. He had 5 seconds to get the ball to Scullion, is it any wonder we went 1 down? That was playground stuff, never mind under 12's. I'm shocking at football, but you still don't leave a top class player like that with space.

Brush, Blinkhorn, Peers and Boco are without blame. Marshall too, and he should have been on from the start last night.

We need to weather this out, and get the players named above re-signed til after the end of the season. Those five players are our future.

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast