Page 22 of 50 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Super League 2009

Quote Originally Posted by quay heart View Post
    just want to ask you all what you think off refs this season?is it just me or are the standards dropping ?ive watched a few games this season and im surprised at the amount off times westport get castlebar refs.one clearly cost port lge cup game in ballina and almost cost a lad his playing days.saw another give a cat penalty in premier lge game saturday evening in westport and i believe the same ref has done three b games and given four penalties against westport ???i have been told the first ref even had a game moved so he could watch celtic in the a league.whats the story ????????
    For the love of God you are attacking the referees because they are from Castlebar???
    Based on your post you are basing this call on been at a few matches and hearsay from the B games, would the B team have lost these matches by any chance?
    "Been told" and "believe" really don't prove a basis for daft statements. The story is that you are listening to too much pub talk!

As the lads said the big number of refs are from Castlebar so the easiest thing to do it say they are bias towards Castlebar!

Best thing for you to do it go and do the referees course and see how you get on, or else find out why Westport has only 1 ref (that i know of at senior level).

S n F Did exactly that with a well deserved win over fahy. Fitzy shud have buried a couple of one on ones but did torment they fahy defence for the entire game. Impressive stuff from the youngsters with experience missing in J.Jordan, S.Hughes and J.O'Hara. Young lads stepped up and played well. Will be interesting how the next couple of games go.

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    For the love of God you are attacking the referees because they are from Castlebar???
    Based on your post you are basing this call on been at a few matches and hearsay from the B games, would the B team have lost these matches by any chance?
    "Been told" and "believe" really don't prove a basis for daft statements. The story is that you are listening to too much pub talk!

As the lads said the big number of refs are from Castlebar so the easiest thing to do it say they are bias towards Castlebar!

Best thing for you to do it go and do the referees course and see how you get on, or else find out why Westport has only 1 ref (that i know of at senior level).
    Referees Beginners Course

A Referees Beginners Course will be held on Tuesday next 21st July at 8pm in Milebush Park, Castlebar.

For further information please contact Michael Cresham at 087-2221325 or michaelmcresham@eircom.net

now you have no excuse
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Quote Originally Posted by gunner1 View Post
    Referees Beginners Course

A Referees Beginners Course will be held on Tuesday next 21st July at 8pm in Milebush Park, Castlebar.

For further information please contact Michael Cresham at 087-2221325 or michaelmcresham@eircom.net

now you have no excuse
    LOL

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man View Post
    Where are you going with this?,it's not as if there's too many people willing to take on the man in the middle job as it is.Refs are not above critisism but I guarantee there will be games cancelled all over the place this season for the lack of them.
    what im saying is the refs get well paid and answer to nobody,take their cheque and go home.players dont get paid and miss work for matches and training and deserve fair play .......

Never goin to win with this, we all have our problems with refs, get on with it! Sometimes decisions go with ya and sometimes against.

Push on boring endless and pointless discussion

Quote Originally Posted by paddyirishman View Post
    S n F Did exactly that with a well deserved win over fahy. Fitzy shud have buried a couple of one on ones but did torment they fahy defence for the entire game. Impressive stuff from the youngsters with experience missing in J.Jordan, S.Hughes and J.O'Hara. Young lads stepped up and played well. Will be interesting how the next couple of games go.
    getting them players back will help as the season goes on, it took a while to get it but could get ye on a roll.

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Never goin to win with this, we all have our problems with refs, get on with it! Sometimes decisions go with ya and sometimes against.

Push on boring endless and pointless discussion
    yes move on, no one wants to do the job so lets get on with whats there.

I saw the game, was a definate second yellow, the big akward man didnt mean it but lead with his elbow for every single high ball and it was only a matter of time that he caught someone proper with it and did so nearly breakin the centre backs nose.

All the same it was an entertaining game with many chances, Paul Fitz should have had it wrapped up, unlike him, missed 2 one on ones but tormented the Fahy back line through out.
    as i said i wasn't at the game so he could well have been leading with the elbow when he went for a few balls so can't agrue that point.he could well have gone for the elbow.was just saying that he might have been a bit unlucky with the first yellow that he got for an challenge on the s and f keeper.was it a straight red so you know?presumed that it was a second yellow but if it was for an elbow then can have no complaints really

just want to ask you all what you think off refs this season?is it just me or are the standards dropping ?ive watched a few games this season and im surprised at the amount off times westport get castlebar refs.one clearly cost port lge cup game in ballina and almost cost a lad his playing days.saw another give a cat penalty in premier lge game saturday evening in westport and i believe the same ref has done three b games and given four penalties against westport ???i have been told the first ref even had a game moved so he could watch celtic in the a league.whats the story ????????
    I think people are being diplomatic here so as not to offend anyone. For me the standard of referreeing is absolutely abysmal to be honest. Decisions being made from the halfway line, ludicrous penalties, bias towards the bigger teams. I always find it humourous to see Mayo league refs calling foul throws; it's the only thing they can give with any authority. You never see a referee bothering with them in football of any decent standard. Also, I cant stand the officiousness of most refs; you cant say boo to them without them crying and brandishing cards. I know it's a hard job and all that but that does not excuse the fact that people can't do their job properly. Damian Mc Grath and the big bald Dublin buck are the only two who consistently perform well that come to mind.

As for the 12th man getting upset about this; Quay Heart is fully within his rights to give his opinion, it's fitting that a referee would get on his high horse and start crying about that post.
    Last edited by FahyForever; 21/07/2009 at 10:06 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    I think people are being diplomatic here so as not to offend anyone. For me the standard of referreeing is absolutely abysmal to be honest. Decisions being made from the halfway line, ludicrous penalties, bias towards the bigger teams. I always find it humourous to see Mayo league refs calling foul throws; it's the only thing they can give with any authority. You never see a referee bothering with them in football of any decent standard. Also, I cant stand the officiousness of most refs; you cant say boo to them without them crying and brandishing cards. I know it's a hard job and all that but that does not excuse the fact that people can't do their job properly. Damian Mc Grath and the big bald Dublin buck are the only two who consistently perform well that come to mind.

As for the 12th man getting upset about this; Quay Heart is fully within his rights to give his opinion, it's fitting that a referee would get on his high horse and start crying about that post.
    The refs are bad for everyone though, not just for Westport. Quay heart is suggesting that castlebar refs are against westport...think its just down to lack of knowledge, authority and fitness of the refs!

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    as i said i wasn't at the game so he could well have been leading with the elbow when he went for a few balls so can't agrue that point.he could well have gone for the elbow.was just saying that he might have been a bit unlucky with the first yellow that he got for an challenge on the s and f keeper.was it a straight red so you know?presumed that it was a second yellow but if it was for an elbow then can have no complaints really
    Fair enuf.

Any way, Intersting to see Ballina top of the table..just shows what standard the super league is in this year..well below usual! any team in the super league on a good day should be able to beat any other team which has been unlikely for i dunno how many years but now the likes of westport and celtic can be beatin easily. its good for the lower teams but proves a drop in quality overall, although you could argue a rise in quality overall but if you've watch many matches this season already...that is not the case, with the new A league, bringing top players out of the league.

Double entendre

Fair enuf.

Any way, Intersting to see Ballina top of the table..just shows what standard the super league is in this year..well below usual! any team in the super league on a good day should be able to beat any other team which has been unlikely for i dunno how many years but now the likes of westport and celtic can be beatin easily. its good for the lower teams but proves a drop in quality overall, although you could argue a rise in quality overall but if you've watch many matches this season already...that is not the case, with the new A league, bringing top players out of the league.
    What is this posting supposed to mean ?
    Ballina are top because they are a damn fine team.
    Any team can beat anybody ? - Not really unless you mean the Heane.
    'Top players out of the league' is a ridiculous comment. They have just taken Celtic and added a few journeymen. Note that they have taken none from the port who were and still are the best team in the county par none.
    Ask any genuine Celtic 'head' are they now better than the Port and they will say no. No on players and certainly no in style.

Quote Originally Posted by mossy View Post
    'Top players out of the league' is a ridiculous comment. They have just taken Celtic and added a few journeymen. Note that they have taken none from the port who were and still are the best team in the county par none.
    Ask any genuine Celtic 'head' are they now better than the Port and they will say no. No on players and certainly no in style.
    At last, a neutral who is talking some sense on here.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post

I'm not in the least bit upset,it's just that the point has been laboured on foot.ie for as long as I've been around and in the end it's people bitching about the standard of work in a job that (almost) nobody wants to do-great money or not.

I've stood in for a few games when there was no ref and I'll tell you it's thankless as every important decision you give upsets aprox 50% of the players/crowd.I've had people that I know abuse me from the sideline even though they know I'm not a ref and only reffing so as there would be a game.

If younger fitter men applied for the refs course it would be a help but until players & supporters ease it off a bit on refs we'll still be having the same debate in 10 years time-that's if it's not even worse then.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 13/08/2009 at 3:30 PM.

Don't get me wrong..westport r by far the best team in mayo, without a doubt but they ain't lost many players but they are not playin at the same level as they used too! still great quality players there but not the same determination ... somethin missin. to me it looks like the westport players need a new challenge, bein the main team in mayo for years now with almost the same group of players.. looks like they gettin bored and luckily celtic got that new challenge. Would be interesting to add the westport team to the A league! wud deplete the super league but would give all the youth players a high Aim and Raise the possiblity of mayo youths making a real name for themselves.
    Ballina are a good side but similarliy alot of young players have come in and the team they had 3 years ago, wud hammer the young lads playin now.
    As for celtic, its their B team with every single player being under 25-26 par one or two.

this has been brought up before. in the past 2-3 years our senior team has been inferior to westport, now as a league of ireland team, i feel that 11 v 11 we are very even with very little in between.
    however, we will never know who is better so no point bringing it up and talking about it anymore.
    our league of ireland team should not be talked about on this thread as this is for super league teams and issues
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

Don't get me wrong..westport r by far the best team in mayo, without a doubt but they ain't lost many players but they are not playin at the same level as they used too! still great quality players there but not the same determination ... somethin missin. to me it looks like the westport players need a new challenge, bein the main team in mayo for years now with almost the same group of players.. looks like they gettin bored and luckily celtic got that new challenge. Would be interesting to add the westport team to the A league! wud deplete the super league but would give all the youth players a high Aim and Raise the possiblity of mayo youths making a real name for themselves.
    Ballina are a good side but similarliy alot of young players have come in and the team they had 3 years ago, wud hammer the young lads playin now.
    As for celtic, its their B team with every single player being under 25-26 par one or two.
    Why do people think Westport are bored and need a new challenge? Dont get it! They look like a team to me that are still hungry to win games and have a few injuries at the moment which are making life difficult. There are about 5 players in that current crop good enough for Galway or Sligo so im sure if they needed a new challenge they could step it up to that level. Obviously none of them were ever going to join Celtic which is a pity for Celtic! Imagine that A squad with Lawless, Geraty, Scahill, Cameron and O'Malley in it. Think they would be sitting on top of table now...

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Why do people think Westport are bored and need a new challenge? Dont get it! They look like a team to me that are still hungry to win games and have a few injuries at the moment which are making life difficult. There are about 5 players in that current crop good enough for Galway or Sligo so im sure if they needed a new challenge they could step it up to that level. Obviously none of them were ever going to join Celtic which is a pity for Celtic! Imagine that A squad with Lawless, Geraty, Scahill, Cameron and O'Malley in it. Think they would be sitting on top of table now...
    I completely agree but westport should enter they're own team into the A League, they just as good as celtic A now. then we'd see, and prove to the entire country that mayo football can play at a higher level then Junior... A step that Mayo football needs to be aiming for, even though, Westport and Celtic A are the only teams really well and truely able to perform day in day out at this level..This is where we need to aim for.

Higher level

I completely agree but westport should enter they're own team into the A League, they just as good as celtic A now. then we'd see, and prove to the entire country that mayo football can play at a higher level then Junior... A step that Mayo football needs to be aiming for, even though, Westport and Celtic A are the only teams really well and truely able to perform day in day out at this level..This is where we need to aim for.
    Do you genuinely believe that the A Division is a higher level ? We were told this before about the Under 20 league and this was proved patently false.
    Dont get me wrong here, it should be a higher standard but some clubs do not treat it as their priority and the old adage as only being as good as the weakest component jars a little here.
    Let me put it another way. Would the current Celtic A be top of the Super league now ?
    Just in case you misinterpret this as a slight on Celtic it is not as they are going the right way about improving their lot it just seems a long laborious journey.

Page 22 of 50 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast