Page 65 of 65 FirstFirst ... 1555636465
Results 1,281 to 1,294 of 1294

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

41 Posts

Norrie News

Bella,the Eddie an Paul,are they they same lads who did Leeside an Midleton a few years back.?
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    The club had a meeting last week to sort all this, looking good for us now though.Eddie and Paul O'Rourke are our managers of the senior teams. How bad, I think were going to make good shapes next year.
    Eddie and Paul O Rourke - good coaches but Eddie has a tendency to get peoples back up a little bit (just a little bit ) - never thought they'd manage a second division AUL side though! They managed Hibs once upon a time and brought half of Cobh with them - Mark Farrell being one such player!

Yeah and he managed mark when they won the munster cup yeas back too, from a footballing side of things they have alot to bring to us, paul managed me under 16s and his trainings were superb, i look forward to it alot actually fresh challenge is always good, league and cup we'll be going for next season so bring it on.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Sorry littleman, yeah they won the aoh with leeside not sure about midleton think it was john o rourke that managed them, LOI legend is johno..
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

41 Posts

Talking Norrie News

Well gentlemen our Agm was last night an I must say it was a great success.Biggest attendence in years an the attitude was spot on by all involved.

Everyone at the club has been given a massive boost by the dressing rooms finally being built an the future development plans of O'Neill Park left all in attendence in no doubt of the bright future that lies ahead of our club an its members/players.

The fully lit all weather is to be redone next weekend an the pitch an the surround will both receive a great deal of TLC during the close season.Our pitch seems to draw mixed reviews from most,some dont mind it,some hate it an some even enjoy playin up there,but its ours an we do like it.

The weather last year prevented us from keepin it in the condition we have become accustomed to an in fairness I dont think there are few clubs in the Aul who get their pitch rolled as much as we do,all be it to flatten a few bumps.All the same by season start it should be in crackin condition an when it is its a lovely place to play ball.

As with all clubs at this time of year the rumor mill is in full swing with regards to whos goin where an we are no different,a lot of names mentioned but for now their only names an not more importantly signatures.Interesting to see what happens over the next 6 weeks or so,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

The Aul managers position is yet still unfilled,allthough it has been offered to one person for definate an answer is still awaited.Hope to have some news soon.The bush telegraph tells me the the Oscar Traynor team is in line for the team the year award,an the managers one accordingly will go to the Aul Oscar Traynor manager,no big surprise there for anyone I'd say.Other than that its tappin up time lads so let the fun begin.
    Last edited by littleman; 20/06/2009 at 11:52 AM.

let the tranfer gossip begin so...

So is Varian gone from Kinsale? I heard both Everton and Rockmount were in for him.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    So is Varian gone from Kinsale? I heard both Everton and Rockmount were in for him.
    Everton believe he is with them, but as littleman says, wait for the signatures.

41 Posts

Norrie News

The Varian issue is fairly clear cut,his step father is in charge of Evertons seniors an its their he will go.

I was in the Anglers over the weekend and the names flyin around goin here there an everywhere was nothin short of ridiculous.

Only one that I actually belived was Ken Howey been asked to go to Waterford,hes pure class,amazes me Cork City havent tried to get him.

I suppose pre season will be startin mid july fro those commited souls amoungts us,fair dues.

71 Posts

Aint it great?

The pre-season rumours are great fun arent they? It even began for me the night of the Champions League Final.......though Im not sure if I should be tapping up guys who are out in the smoking room!!

I got a run down of the AGM - if people are abusing the committee over fines, then, maybe you watch the news and get a grip on the real world.

On the fines thing, I remain completly confused. The AUL say the fines belong to the players, eg, the Villa Utd players brought their fines with them to us. Its the clubs responsibility to pay the fines. Do the players or the clubs own the fines?

Im not sure any man can take over from Billy, but, Barry Peelo will make a damn good job of it. His Youths and U17 stuff are always a good read, and he seems a nice approachable guy. Is Billy going to continue to maintain the blog or will Barry take that too?

Inis, what date is your line in the sand to start 2009/2010 blog? Its your job!!!

21 Posts

Thumbs down

Any talk at the AGM about the 2 premier teams packing it in mid-season and leaving the Premier League where

1. Wilton were to win the Prem because of 9 walkover points (by 1 pt) or
    2. Kinsale were to win with points gained against the teams that completed the season (by 1pt).

Neither result is, or could be satisfactory to the team that is ruled to come second.
    The AULs rules stated that the league should go to Wilton but that doesn't mean that is the correct way to do things.

Just wondering if there was any plan in place to try and prevent this type of mess occuring again.
    Obviously, in the future, we want any eventual winners to do so on the field of play and for the runners up to have no complaints.
    Last edited by Shilts; 23/06/2009 at 4:31 PM.

41 Posts

Norrie News

To be very honest here Shilts though it makes me sick to the stomace how the situation was handled its done now an theres nothin the Aul or ourselves can do to change it.

Villa were on their knees for the last few seasons an only the gallant last efforts of some die hard commitee members an players slowed the process down.Alberts were in the same boat.It was terrible to see them or any team to fold but it happens.

Ballypheane were like lot of new clubs who got success quick,too quick in fact for the core of the club to develope in time to fix things before it was too late.A bad apple here or there on the first team an maybe one fella doin too much work on his own within the club,recipe for disaster when things start to go wrong.

The Aul for all its miss givings can only hope we run our clubs properly.If we dont an clubs fold the rest of us look to them to sort it out.Its kind of we'v made a right mess of things an we'd like ye to clean it up.

No doubt we all will register for the new season under the impression that we will all be strong on an off the pitch,but never the less clubs will fall.

Thats what happens when you have to many clubs with to few players/commitee.Eventually it dilutes so much it falls to peices an clubs young an old are gone,Northvilla,Rockville,Wembley,Alberts both ex league of Ireland at one time,Villa,Ballypheane an the list goes on.As it is the gap between those clubs who have an the clubs who have not is gettin wider an wider an its bloody hard to attract players to a club,never mind commitee members.How many clubs will start the season with say 14 players an a core of say 4 commitee members,by xmas their strugglin big time an by feb their hangin on by there finger tips prayin for the season to finish.Ye have all experience of theses clubs, ye maybe even be a part of one.

And there is no fair way to deal with the situation when it dose happen,for every club who feels that they have an answer I guarrentee another club will feel hard done by.All we can do is to make sure on an off the field you do as much as you can for your club an hope its enough.The history books will say Wilton won the league an in a few years knowone will care how they did it.Wether you can say the 2 sides folding gave them an advantage,maybe your right maybe your not.I do know the beat us twice home an away an all you can do at the end of the day is beat whats in front of you so we have no grumble over callin them champs.

Lastly if anyone was followin my previous posts the Aul's offer was turned down by the individual so the Aul managers job is still unfilled.N'uf said.
    Last edited by littleman; 24/06/2009 at 5:27 AM.

21 Posts

What's done is done...

While I realise that we can't change the past L'man, we certainly can learn from it.

Cork AUL is in the middle of a 5 year plan - I don't see ANY improvement yet. Is it all waffle?
    Definitely clubs like Grattan and Kinsale are trying to improve themselves but has the league improved? or even the Prem Div? I think not.
    The Premier should be the showpiece division, yet last season it was somewhat spoiled by the 2 teams pulling out. This was not the AUL's fault - but what if it happened again next year???

What should the league be doing to prevent this happening in the future??? There should be a plan at least!!!

I certainly think that in future teams being promoted to the premier div should have a B team, so that if there is any trouble - then the B team can be drafted in to fulfill fixtures. If the B team has to pull out of its lower div then so be it.

We like to compare ourselves with the MSL - would a situation like this ever happen in the MSL Senior Prem. Not a chance!!!
    All MSL Prem teams have at least 2 teams in their club - some have more than 2, eg. UCC have 5.

And when teams say that they are fed up with this rubbish and try to go to the MSL. The Cork AUL says "oh you're tied in for 5 years, as part of The Big Plan".

Maybe Wilton would have won the league anyway and good luck to them - they are a great team and a great bunch of lads.
    But Kinsale would have been delighted with 2 less games in what was a hectic run in. This would have helped improve rest times, prevent injuries and suspensions. All of which DID affect Kinsale in the run in.

No matter what happens during a season there must be a winner and the AUL decides the rules before each season starts to cater for all outcomes. But my point is we should learn from what happened in 2008/09 and try to ensure that it does not happen again - by having a plan to cater for it!!!
    Last edited by Shilts; 24/06/2009 at 10:20 AM.

21 Posts

Foot.ie!

Wow - 48 hours without a post.
    Either everybody's gone on hols or I touched a raw nerve with my last post!

71 Posts

Poor Shilts.

Shilts was getting lonely!

Is the season starting 22nd or 29th?

Every winner needs some things to go their way, and maybe Wilton gained from the withdrawals. But when the early fixtures threw Wilton V Kinsale and other teams against Villa & Bphehane, it was luck of the draw and Wilton had to take it. It was just luck that they hadnt met those teams yet.

I agree with the main point that lessons must be learned, and everything must be done to ensure it doesnt happen again.

However, speaking from a BRFC perspective, if we prove we are in it for the long haul, then we must be helped and not hurdles placed in our way.

I understand there has to be standards, so its a catch 22 situation.

Page 65 of 65 FirstFirst ... 1555636465