Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: New Manager

84 Posts
    Danny is a gentleman and is a big asset to any club. As Stann says his hands are knackered and I know when he was with us there was a problem with the lights affecting his eyes as he needs contact lenses when playing.

Regardless of the bits above he will do a good job for you and with one hand and one eye would he give me more confidence than what you have.

One of the few players that could cross the trenches to Longford after playing for Athlone and still be given a heroes welcome. LEGEND

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

38 Posts
    birmingham was there all season,gough just didnt like him which kinda says it all about his time here,wouldnt play one of our better centre halfs because of a personal reason...

115 Posts
    Sorry forgot to get back on this.

Found the old thread on the Athlone forum and it basically just repeats what was said above.
    Nice testament to the chap from fans of a few clubs there though, good sign, that. I never met the chap the short time he was down here but people in the club echo those sentiments.
    A top, top keeper on top of all that as well. Class doesn't diminish that quickly, a Mick Devine for the West & Midlands maybe?
    more bass

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by howsyourtouch View Post
    birmingham was there all season,gough just didnt like him which kinda says it all about his time here,wouldnt play one of our better centre halfs because of a personal reason...
    Have to admit I was very surprised he wasn't played and then just thought he'd lost interest and quit. Good to hear he's still about and hopefully Cronin will play him.

What players do ya think we should get rid of? And any rumours of any new signings?

38 Posts
    get rid of some of goughs mates he brought in,the ones he wouldnt discpline,we all know who they are,the red cards for dissent speak for themselves,i mean for gods sake its senior football...

81 Posts
    I heard that a few of our players, especially Mickey Lee is very happy Goughs gone! Apparantly he hated the way he was being treated ang was even considering quitting at 1 stage!

30 Posts
    Danny also played at Kildare when Gareth Cronin was there. He has apologised
    to me for crossing the divide so I'll let him off this time!

Great keeper and sound out fella off the pitch. Feckin ragin he gone to ye though

The lights in the Flansiro might not affect him that much though cos there was shag all light
    from them last time I played there!

Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Although I don't know much about him O'Leary could be a good signing. From other threads elsewhere he seems to be well respected from the fans of the clubs he played with before. And even though I haven't seen Fennelly play yet if O'Leary does sign it could be as No. 1. Has Murphy left the club Marty? And where was Bermingham all season?
    I assume town legend you are on about Brendan Murphy yeah he quit early in the season after I think seven games as he couldnt commit. Andy Bermingham has being injured then semi fit he got injured at training on thursday last and was in crutches up in wexford .He confirmed to me that he will be out for the next six weeks. He hasnt made a first team appearance all season and was on the bench once.

220 Posts
    I assume town legend you are on about Brendan Murphy yeah he quit early in the season after I think seven games as he couldnt commit. Andy Bermingham has being injured then semi fit he got injured at training on thursday last and was in crutches up in wexford .He confirmed to me that he will be out for the next six weeks. He hasnt made a first team appearance all season and was on the bench once.

No Marty, was asking about Adrian Murphy because you said he didn't train Thurs night. Was thinking he was probably getting sick of been on the bench all the time and decided to pack it in.

I was glad yesterday when he didn't!!! Hopefully Cronin will give him a bit of a run now, although I haven't seen him play since he came back. Has he still got the talent he showed when he started out or has the break he took affected him?

Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    No Marty, was asking about Adrian Murphy because you said he didn't train Thurs night. Was thinking he was probably getting sick of been on the bench all the time and decided to pack it in.

I was glad yesterday when he didn't!!! Hopefully Cronin will give him a bit of a run now, although I haven't seen him play since he came back. Has he still got the talent he showed when he started out or has the break he took affected him?
    Now I get you ! The reason he wasnt training is that he works in barwork in dublin so it was probably hard for him to come down. I thought sunday was his best performance since he came back to us. Hes gradually getting back to the old Adrian Murphy we used to love.. He was so unlucky near the end not to score when Youths goalie made a last ditch save on him. I am expectin Glynn to be dropped and Murph to play.

Id imagine the same, deserves his shot after sunday, cronin looks like he wants hard workers playin and thats what he got from him when he came on, touch was good too and got himself a goal, really shouldve buried that header
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

Hear Darren McKenna (the cobra) might be on his back to Flansiro. He gets on well with Cronin seemingly.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

81 Posts

41 Posts
    Anyone know anything about this guy, Michael Foley?

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/wh...s-1776284.html

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo View Post
    Hear Darren McKenna (the cobra) might be on his back to Flansiro. He gets on well with Cronin seemingly.

wonder how mckenna knows cronin ? were they at kildare co together or something?

Quote Originally Posted by RiffRaff View Post
    Anyone know anything about this guy, Michael Foley?

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/wh...s-1776284.html

michael foley was at liverpool when he was a youngster, he was at st pats and then he played at waterford utd under gareth cronin. didnt know foley was at drogs.

Heard earlier today that Dave Warren had made a verbal commitment to Gareth Cronin to sign but changed his mind and rejoined Waterford Utd as he played with Henderson last season.

115 Posts
    No he didn't, he played under Cronin with us for the last two seasons. Joined in early 2007, left in the close season this year. One of our best players over the last two years. The fact your source got that second bit wrong would tend to add some doubt to the first bit.
    But saying that, those kinds of U-turns go on all the time in this league.

Just as a by the by, Michael Foley is a really great signing for ye. He was our best player last year before he got injured for the last part of the season - possibly against ye actually, I must check that out - and you could argue that if one single thing cost us promotion, it was his loss. Much of our attacking threat was down the left with him and Robbie Clarke, and his free kick deliveries.
    Just see on the Herald piece that he is "rejoining" Longford? Don't remember him there, but I can't lay hands on the old biog of him at the minute. He was at Pat's for a long period (4 seasons maybe) after coming back from Liverpool.
    Last edited by stann; 18/06/2009 at 12:59 AM.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    No he didn't, he played under Cronin with us for the last two seasons. Joined in early 2007, left in the close season this year. One of our best players over the last two years. The fact your source got that second bit wrong would tend to add some doubt to the first bit.
    But saying that, those kinds of U-turns go on all the time in this league.

Just as a by the by, Michael Foley is a really great signing for ye. He was our best player last year before he got injured for the last part of the season - possibly against ye actually, I must check that out - and you could argue that if one single thing cost us promotion, it was his loss. Much of our attacking threat was down the left with him and Robbie Clarke, and his free kick deliveries.
    Just see on the Herald piece that he is "rejoining" Longford? Don't remember him there, but I can't lay hands on the old biog of him at the minute. He was at Pat's for a long period (4 seasons maybe) after coming back from Liverpool.
    thats interesting about him stann! who he was with the last few mths before he joined us!

1,104 Posts
    Former Town player Gary Cronin is apparently coming back to play for us also. He hasn't been playing for anyone this season but has apparently been training with a LSL club. Could do a job in this division I reckon.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Former Town player Gary Cronin is apparently coming back to play for us also. He hasn't been playing for anyone this season but has apparently been training with a LSL club. Could do a job in this division I reckon.
    I heard some sketchy rumour about cronin joining us. What was his last club after he left us in 2006?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast