Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: New Manager

220 Posts
    Is the transfer window open yet or is that in July? He'll need to freshen things up I imagine and get a few of the deadwood out.

Thats a surprise appointment indeed. Where did ye get the money to hire Cronin? Is he based in Dublin?

Quote Originally Posted by Rocky77 View Post
    You're making this up now. Between Derek Glynn goin to Athlone (he's more likely to go back to Galway I'd say), Jimmy Greene (a mate of mine's brother played under him at Athone and he's a joke) and now Martin Lawlor?????

Are you the same fella who swore that Oladele was joining you even after I told you flat out he wasn't and it was more than likely Onwubiko????

Come on Rocky I was just having the craic about Lawlor been mentioned because he's a joke just like the Longford team!!!

But on Glynn and Greene, Greene applied and was called back for a second interview. And Glynn has apparently become disillusioned with whats gone on there this year that he's apparently looking for a move.

22 Posts
    Apparently or allegedy?
    Marco Tardelli's red and black,
    Red and black, red and black.
    He hates Athlone.

So we have a Corkie managing us now? Why did the Board not consult me regarding this?
    Im going to pretend we dont have a Manager from now on, if we start doing well im just going to say "Now theres a great bunch of lads, driving from the heart".
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

Thumbs up Good luck Gareth

Good appointment with experience and a decent record.

Disappointed things didn't work out for Gougher. He's a passionate man and it wasn't down to the lack of effort on his part. Not many could assemble a squad in that space of time and he made a real go of it to be fair to him. Was it purely down to the run of results that he left or was there more to it??
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

I'm very happy with this appointment. Lets hope he can get a few decent players in now and try push up the table a bit.

1,104 Posts
    He has a bit of managerial experience anyway and didn't do badly at Waterford so hopefully he can improve things a bit.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillo View Post
    Good appointment with experience and a decent record.

Disappointed things didn't work out for Gougher. He's a passionate man and it wasn't down to the lack of effort on his part. Not many could assemble a squad in that space of time and he made a real go of it to be fair to him. Was it purely down to the run of results that he left or was there more to it??
    think it was just a lot of pressure from the board coming his way as they didnt want to give the team time to settle and find its feet,which realistically with a brand new squad and young players could have taken nearly the whole season...

1,104 Posts
    Apparently it wasn't just the results though they didn't help his cause. They had other concerns from what I hear. Anyhow, there's no point getting into that now there's a new man in charge and we'll hope he can stabilise things.

There is always more than meets they eye, its time to move forward and not look back. Optimism should be high now travelling to wexford
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

the team are training tomorrow night in flancare with the new manager so for sure I will be there. they also are having a press launch with gareth cronin tomorrow evening too..

Quote Originally Posted by Frank76 View Post
    Thats a surprise appointment indeed. Where did ye get the money to hire Cronin? Is he based in Dublin?
    Live's in Dublin alright, works as an accountant. Maybe he'll do ye're books for free...
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    Live's in Dublin alright, works as an accountant. Maybe he'll do ye're books for free...

im surprised to hear that hes only 35. where did cronin come from when he was waterford manager?

the team are training tomorrow night in flancare with the new manager so for sure I will be there. they also are having a press launch with gareth cronin tomorrow evening too..
    What time is the training at? Might pop out for a look.

22 Posts
    im surprised to hear that hes only 35. where did cronin come from when he was waterford manager?
    He was assistant at Dublin City when they went to the wall
    Red and black, red and black.
    He hates Athlone.

Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    What time is the training at? Might pop out for a look.

well the press launch is half six so it could be on around that time or slightly later

I was up at flancare last night. Saw Cronin in action for the first time and was very impressed. He was running with the players, giving players instructions , stopping play to tell players where they were going wrong. He also had a patience about him too. He strikes me as both of a coach and manager at the same time. This is very encouraging as this was something Alan Gough lacked big time. But also in the training session Cronin showed that he is boss of the whole show.

Theres hope for the future with him. It probably wont be this season but given a full season I can see us going onto better things with him.

It looks like the reserve goalkeeper role will be sorted out as former sligo rovers,kildare co and athlone town goalie Danny O Leary has being training with us the last few weeks. Adrian Murphy didnt train Andy Bermingham did. I hope Bermingham will be a better help to Cronin than he was to Gough.
    Last edited by Martinho II; 12/06/2009 at 6:38 PM. Reason: former

220 Posts
    I was up at flancare last night. Saw Cronin in action for the first time and was very impressed. He was running with the players, giving players instructions , stopping play to tell players where they were going wrong. He also had a patience about him too. He strikes me as both of a coach and manager at the same time. This is very encouraging as this was something Alan Gough lacked big time. But also in the training session Cronin showed that he is boss of the whole show.

Theres hope for the future with him. It probably wont be this season but given a full season I can see us going onto better things with him.

It looks like the reserve goalkeeper role will be sorted out as former sligo rovers,kildare co and athlone town goalie Danny O Leary has being training with us the last few weeks. Adrian Murphy didnt train Andy Bermingham did. I hope Bermingham will be a better help to Cronin than he was to Gough.

Although I don't know much about him O'Leary could be a good signing. From other threads elsewhere he seems to be well respected from the fans of the clubs he played with before. And even though I haven't seen Fennelly play yet if O'Leary does sign it could be as No. 1. Has Murphy left the club Marty? And where was Bermingham all season?

115 Posts
    Danny O'Leary is mates with Cronin I think, certainly he signed for us at short notice at the start of last year when we had a goalkeeping shortage and that was mentioned at the time.
    The move fell through as he fell foul of the three clubs rule through playing for a junior club in the interim IIRC, but I also seem to recall that he was semi-retired anyway cos his hands were cream crackered from being broken several times - will check this out later!
    Unlike to be a #1 then?
    more bass

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast