Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork in the cup

Cork in the cup

Surprised there's no thread for this yet. I feel we can get a draw in this one. Cork probably haven't been playing as well as their points tally suggests. We outplayed them in the first game of the season and by all accounts we played very well down there in the 1-0 defeat, with a depleted squad.

We played well against derry imo, but looking at it on MNS, we really didn't create many chances. Boco was sorely missed.

It will be good to have Keane and O'Grady back, and we shouldn't have to be calling on our young players to start the game (I think?).

I'll be happy if the lads put in the same commitment as they did against derry, and if we do concede let's hope the heads don't drop.

It would be great if Morrison could step up to the plate, he has it in him.

Should be a good trip, with hopefully a big Rovers following and a good atmosphere.

o grady is suspended

Boco is available for Friday night, according to the Champion he will '.....interrupt his international schedule to fly back to Ireland......'

Jesus fair play to Boco, absolute star, hopefully this will give the lads a boost ahead of the game.

Edit: By the wat whats the story with the bus for this?
    Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 10/06/2009 at 10:15 AM.

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Redie View Post
    Boco is available for Friday night, according to the Champion he will '.....interrupt his international schedule to fly back to Ireland......'
    Such commitment: a true professional that lad.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post

Edit: By the wat whats the story with the bus for this?
    Have about 11 a few thinking about it. You comin with us RM?

Smile

great news to hear that romy is going to be in the team. if you remember last year he got out of his sick bed in hospital to travel to cork for the 2nd last game of the season. nobody should ever doubt his committment. a great player with a first class attitude. thanks romy

Quote Originally Posted by Redie View Post
    That's really first class. Who pays for his flights, though? Surely not Benin's FA?

We'll have to play very well to get anything from the game. Hopefully Keane coming back in will be a boost. I predict a narrow loss.

For Cork i take it?

not much choice wit the startin team, hopefully keane will be fit to play

brush
    keane peers feeney holmes
    cash boco ventre ryan morrison
    raf

what i would go for anyway, hit them on the break

what happens if cork beat ye and then on the 15th they go out of business?? will ye get back into the cup or will they go with an odd number with someone having a bye??
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoop4life View Post
    what happens if cork beat ye and then on the 15th they go out of business?? will ye get back into the cup or will they go with an odd number with someone having a bye??
    In keeping with the policy of Sligo Rovers FC of always making life easy for the administrative section of the FAI, we will beat the s hite out of Cork, thereby making the other parts of your question irrelevant.

Glad to be of help.

Keeping the fingers crossed for this one. Looks unlikely but I'll go for a two-one win for us.

would have thought that this game wou have been the tie of the round and on telly?or is there any of the cup games on live over the weekend?

Will there be live coverage again this year of this one on Ocean FM ?
    Coleman for Ireland

Cork City site is good for info and updates

http://corkcityfc.ie/views/matchday.php