Results 1,241 to 1,260 of 1294

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    So Kinsale win the AOH cup in a pretty dull game by all accounts.
    I would have liked to see Blarney Street win as to be honest they were the only team who tried to play ball. Kinsale were quite happy to hit the ball long up to Varian and hope that he can make something out of it all by himself.
    The loss of McCarthy hurt Kinsale but Kinsale seemed short on ideas and route one to the front lads seemed to be the order of the day.
    Blarney Street to their credit played some nice football and had most of the possession and looked much the more dangerous team but in saying that didnt really create to many clear cut chances. Credit to the Kinsale centre backs though.

For anyone who saw the penalty shoot out, It was as if neither team wanted to win the cup. Hilarious stuff

ya for a keeper to save 3 spot kicks and still lose is harsh enough and as you said it was like no one wanted to win it.

i'd agree with you there pacman, i thought blarney street deserved to win this over the 110 mins, just! they tried to knock it about where as kinsale seemed to hoof it long and hope the fella up front would do something with it. was the number 11 for kinsale the guy varian? if so he must have had a huge off day yesterday as i was expecting great things from him (never saw him play before), i suppose if you don't get any ball you can't do anything with it. number 10 for kinsale, numbers 5 and 16 for blarney street impressed me the most, seemed like they wanted to keep it down and knock it about. poor game all in all and disappointed for a cup final but i'm sure kinsale couldn't care less, they should see off ballyvolane easily enough next weekend. congratulations kinsale.

So Kinsale win the AOH cup in a pretty dull game by all accounts.
    I would have liked to see Blarney Street win as to be honest they were the only team who tried to play ball. Kinsale were quite happy to hit the ball long up to Varian and hope that he can make something out of it all by himself.
    The loss of McCarthy hurt Kinsale but Kinsale seemed short on ideas and route one to the front lads seemed to be the order of the day.
    Blarney Street to their credit played some nice football and had most of the possession and looked much the more dangerous team but in saying that didnt really create to many clear cut chances. Credit to the Kinsale centre backs though.

For anyone who saw the penalty shoot out, It was as if neither team wanted to win the cup. Hilarious stuff
    Was hoping to get there but missed it. Well done Kinsale, hard luck to Blarney Street.

Anyone know why McCarthy was missing. Huge loss, I saw him against Wilton and I must admit was very impressed. I know Varian was a doubt for the Wilton game so you'd have to question how fit he was 5 days later and their 2 starting central midfielders from the Wilton game would have been suspended so that could account for their lack of ambition/invention. But we all know cup final football is for one thing, winning.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

varian and mccarthy

Yoda,
    Yes Varian was their no 11. I thought he did well, he was up their on his own and had to chase long balls all day. He caused the defence a lot of trouble with his pace. However the few times he did have chances he didnt make the most of them.
    Thats the area of his game he needs to improve on, he does need more composure when he gets into good positions. I've marked him and McCarthy a good few times and whilst Varian is definitely the fastest player in the AUL, McCarthy is always more dangerous due to his better finishing ability. I'm sure however he'll improve this aspect of his game and when he does he'll be some player.

Inish, McCarthy started but picked up an injury early on and eventually had to go off during the first half.

Yoda,
    Yes Varian was their no 11. I thought he did well, he was up their on his own and had to chase long balls all day. He caused the defence a lot of trouble with his pace. However the few times he did have chances he didnt make the most of them.
    Thats the area of his game he needs to improve on, he does need more composure when he gets into good positions. I've marked him and McCarthy a good few times and whilst Varian is definitely the fastest player in the AUL, McCarthy is always more dangerous due to his better finishing ability. I'm sure however he'll improve this aspect of his game and when he does he'll be some player.

Inish, McCarthy started but picked up an injury early on and eventually had to go off during the first half.
    he did ok like, he was quick alright but he really didn't threaten, he had one shot off a great turn but other than that he was just chasing long balls, prob not the best game to judge him on. haven't seen mccarthy play before either so i'll reserve judgement on him also. the number 10 for kinsale was a nice ball player wasn't he?

71 Posts

AOH Cup Final

Here is my 2 cents on the game:

Firstly, Congrats to our Kinsale friends on the site, and comiserations to our Northside brethern.

First half was good, but I think every cup final needs an early goal. As the game wore on, the thoughts of "not losing" came to the minds of the players even if they dont know it. Blarney Street were the better side no doubt.

I thought Derek Varian did well, he is full of confidence. He had a great one on one chance but our friend Casilles did well. Kinsale did have only one tactic of boot it up to Varian......but the two or three that were marking him still had trouble. If I was looking at him.....which I know one or two higher placed clubs were, then I would have been impressed. That turn and shot oozed class, but just went wide.

Bog, is it true he is off to Everton seniors?

Isnt it amazing though that a player of his confidence didnt put himself down for one of the first five kicks? One of the Blarney Street players that oozes confidence didnt take one until number 10. Its a strange one, because two of our best players last season would run when a shootout came up.

Hey bog, I see our friend Gary Neville was a crowd favourite again. I wanted him to score to see his reaction to the crowd and he didnt let me down. A right character that fella. I will ask you the same question I asked you after our game - should he have seen red for his second tackle where he injured himself?

I thought the amount of people there was disapointing. It was my first final, and I thought the place would be jointed.

The ref was good - all four officials are off to the MSL next season I believe.

Aoh Cup : My view

Firstly :
    Well Done to Kinsale and very hard luck to The Street.

It's easy for us to sit in the stand and criticise what we're viewing after all the biggest critic is the guy in this position.

But it was awful.

I have to say I was hoping Blarney St. would win because lets face it everyone loves the underdog and the Kinsale boys have one in the pocket already.

The question is How in the name of God did Blarney St. leave it after them. All there prayers were answered up until the final kick. Mc carthy injured after 20mins, which meant no Varian attacking down the wing. Kinsale out on their feet after a massive last month of league games and then that wonderful penalty shoot-out in which the seasiders were to miss 4 spotters.

When your keeper is on form and oozing confidence facing into a penalty shoot-out all the players around him should have took a leaf out of his book. Step up and fu***ng whack it into the back of the net. The Street will be sick no doubt today ( in every way ) but to come so close and not grab that all important chance is heartbreaking.

I feel The Street lacked the belief to win it.

21 Posts

Kinsale retain AOH Cup

After the heartbreak of losing the league last week I felt that great credit was due to us to come back and win the AOH Cup 5 days later.
    Varian on one leg, McCarthy subbed early on and multiple suspensions all going against us - it would have been easy to look for excuses as to why we didn't win. From some comments made earlier you would think that Blarney Street battered our goal - But I can only remember Hurley making 1 save all day - from a long range 1st half free kick. Varian's one-on one chance in extra time was the best chance of the game.

Penalties is a cruel way to lose (remember they beat us on pens in the MJCup). But do we want/need replays at this stage of the season. Very dramatic shootout with all 22 on the pitch having to take 1.

On another occassion I would have been cheering on Blarney Street - a good gang who were very sporting to us - even giving us a bottle of champers that they had ready for themselves. I hope they win something soon. Well done Blarney Street!!!

We celebrated hard on sunday/monday but we'll be back training over the next few days with one aim - Linnane Cup Final next monday night. If we can get our injurues/suspensions sorted we'll give it a good rattle!
    Last edited by Shilts; 26/05/2009 at 11:01 AM.

Firstly Bog/Shilts congratulations on winning the game sunday night..two aoh cups in two years is some achievment so fair play and again well done..
    to say we are dissapointed would be an understatement but thats football.. going into it i couldnt believe the way things were falling for us..kinsale were finding it tough with all the league games,suspensions,injurys etc etc and then macarthy gets injured after 20 mins i was thinking this has to be our night.. to be fair though there is a lot more to them than the two dereks..i thought there 2 centre halfs were outstanding on the night an the guy holland in midfield is a classy player..the simple truth of the matter is we did not create enough chances on the night..i dont think we lacked belief cause thats something we have in abundance but i do think we lacked the killer instinct.. we did enjoy the majority of the possesion but the tropy is down in charles fort now so maybe there is a lesson to be learned from that.. it is time now to sit back now and take stock of things and get back to the drawing board in a few weeks time and try and get back out there next year and win it.

Greenmount Richmond Decision

Pearse win the league.The draw stood.This was only fair i think but at least greenmount go up as well.

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    Firstly :
    Well Done to Kinsale and very hard luck to The Street.

It's easy for us to sit in the stand and criticise what we're viewing after all the biggest critic is the guy in this position.

But it was awful.

I have to say I was hoping Blarney St. would win because lets face it everyone loves the underdog and the Kinsale boys have one in the pocket already.

The question is How in the name of God did Blarney St. leave it after them. All there prayers were answered up until the final kick. Mc carthy injured after 20mins, which meant no Varian attacking down the wing. Kinsale out on their feet after a massive last month of league games and then that wonderful penalty shoot-out in which the seasiders were to miss 4 spotters.

When your keeper is on form and oozing confidence facing into a penalty shoot-out all the players around him should have took a leaf out of his book. Step up and fu***ng whack it into the back of the net. The Street will be sick no doubt today ( in every way ) but to come so close and not grab that all important chance is heartbreaking.

I feel The Street lacked the belief to win it.
    I wasn't at the game but I've heard nothing but bad things about it. It just shows that if you are doing well in the league and still in cups at this time of year no matter how good you are your going to need a squad to deal with suspensions, injuries etc. from the off.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shezer View Post
    Pearse win the league.The draw stood.This was only fair i think but at least greenmount go up as well.
    The Premier A Div needs 5 replacements from the 1st Divs. Normally the three 1st Div winners would be promoted. How were the other 2 teams decided on? if not by playoff

As for the those who were not entertained enough last sunday night in Turners Cross - might I suggest you try the Opera House or the Everyman Palace in future.
    AOH Cup Finals are ONLY about winning!!!

41 Posts

Norrie news

Well lads theirs seems to be a fair few different views of what went on in the Cross Sunday.It wasnt the best game I'v watched but few finals live up to the hype.Most are played at a lunitic pace with both sides hammerin each other an for the most part thats whet went on.]

Blarney St in all fairnes had the majority of play but they did nothin with it.Possession means nothin if you end up on the lossin side.Blarney had a few chances but they were only half chances at best.They troubled Kinsale by movin the ball quick an Kinsale looked rattled when they did get the ball wide an were run at the but only on a few occasions.

Other than that Kinsale seemed happy to just clear their lines an hope Mr Varian came up with the goods.He left his markers for dead on 3 occasions an should of had made the game safe for Kinsale but he took to much out of the ball twice an Kenny made a great stop to deny him late on.

Kinsale for me were lucky to finish with 11 ,the center half should have gone for the tackle on O'Connor on the half way line for which he got a yellow or for the high challange again on Ledger in extra time.He didnt an he put a way a peno in the shoot out,contensious or what

All said the penos were terrific for the watching supporters but if the truth be known Blarney St learned a cruel lesson.You have to consider it a privilage to reach any final,more still the Aoh.Its the blue ribband cup for junior football an not just in Cork,it holds the highest respect out side of the county as well.It was just a pity the Street players didnt have the resovle their keeper had .For me he was the outstanding player on the pitch.I know Jeremy got it but I'd say he was delighted the way Blarney St put high balls at him all day an Blarney St didnt offer anythin up front despite much promise.

It takes some balls to take a peno in an Aoh final an I commend the scorers an the guys who missed but when Your keeper makes 3 super saves an left you with 2 chances to win the Aoh,an blew the lot.A lousy way to finish after workin so hard.football can be crule.
    Last edited by littleman; 27/05/2009 at 1:30 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Alot has been made of Casilles contribution in the shoot out lads and rightly so.. but what about Brendan Hurley? The young man saved four penalties!!? He gave us four chances to win it but we ddnt take them(including one himself). I thought he was superb. Distribution is second to none as well.

As for the final it was terrible for the neutral but we couldn't care less!! Blarney st had more of the ball but did nothing with it and we came closer to scoring than they did i felt... varian twice, once leaving babbs on the ground before trying to round the keeper who did superbly well. Other than the free in the first half I dont recall hurley being under too much pressure.

I was impressed with JP Thompson. Did his best on sunday and has a great touch. Blarney st looked dangerous when he came deep and turned. I thought Mongo and Tyner at the back were excellent. Fair enough he was lucky to be on the pitch to take a peno. The tackle on the half way was a yellow for me as geroid cummins was there to cover i felt. Should have been a second yellow for the second tackle. But what balls to take a peno with the crowd booing?! He loved every minute of it!!

Park at the weekend i think and then the final on monday night... nearly there!!

41 Posts

norrie news

Sorry Bog an Tizz,,,,,,congrats to kinsale on winning the Aoh for the 2nd year running,should have done this before I put yesterdays post up so please forgive me.Hows Scully by the way,will he be fit for Monday congratulated himm after the game but he looked in a bad way.

I agree Brendan played well but of the 2 keepers Eddie was the better on the day,only just though.

As for tyner,he's one of those robbie savage types,he annoys people on sight,,,,,,,,,but he dose do a good job for his team.As for the boo'n for the peno that was just the crowd tryin to put him off an in fairness to him he stuck away a good peno.Talkin about the crowd I thought there was great support for both sides an the banter between the support was brilliant,slaggin non stop.As I said yeaterday all the possesion in the world means nothin if you end up on the loosin side an in the end the history books will say Kinsale won the Aoh an nobody will care how the game was won..................................

mossie leauge cup:

lads any predictios on the final next monday nite?????any news on the kinsale injuires????

Streetwise
    firstly congrats to kinsale on last sunday nights win.as for the game we had a lot of the ball but our lads knew afterwards we didnt create a whole lot of chances. i thought both keepers and defences played very well on the night and thats why it was nt exciting for the neuturals.the games we played against each other prior to the final produced 17 goals so to finish nil all just proves in a final teams are cagey and nervous.but we will take some positives out of it and hopefully come backl stronger next season.
    i would like to thank our players and managment for all the work and effort
    this year. heres to busy summer

41 Posts

disaster averted

we nearly slipped off the page,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    we nearly slipped off the page,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    I was considering doing the same well done Wee man...

Any report from Linane cup final? Well done Ballyvolane, hard luck Kinsale. Nice to see a spread of teams winning the various cups...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

linnane cup

Suprised to see that Ballyvolane beat Kinsale in the Linnane cup final, not suprised to hear though they lost the penalty shoot out.

anyone see it?

Suprised to see that Ballyvolane beat Kinsale in the Linnane cup final, not suprised to hear though they lost the penalty shoot out.

anyone see it?
    well this certainly was a surprise for me anyways.
    we got what we expected from ballyvolane, they gave it their all and i thought the 2 centre backs played very well (which you always need for an upset)for them but other than that they weren't great. on the other hand kinsale must be exhausted or over celebrated the aoh cup win or something as they must have played way below what they are capable of, i'm not knocking kinsale but surely they are better than the display yesterday? for the second final running they seemed happy with the long ball over the top route.
    penalities are a lottery but congrats to ballyvolane and comiserations to kinsale, another long season over, enjoy the rest everyone!!!!