Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post

Heres a big question:

The perfect player turns up at every training, puts in the effort, turns up at a game with no pints from the night before, and puts in 100%.

Is it possible to find 16 of them for a season?
    yes, i'd say just have a look at most of the good senior teams in the MSL.

Congrats to Wilton on their first premier league triumph!! Amazing feeling lads so enjoy it. Humdinger of a game and great for the neutral. Not so for us! Two sendings off were bad but I still thought the ref had a shocker. Gave us nothing right from the off. Then I suppose we got on his back and he got worse. First half we were awful being honest. Started so slowly and Wilton made us look a poor side. They got there goal and it woke us up a bit. Second half I suppose wilton got a bit nervous with the finish line in sight and I thought we were on top. Second red killed us. Definate yellow so no complaints. Penalty shout before hand waved away perhaps? Even with 9 we were pressing for the goal and were obviously exposed at the back but you could see the spirit the team has. That i was happy with.

I was very impressed with Wilton's midfield. Daly and Bucks we all know about but Shane O'Neill was a constant danger as was the right winger. Definately the strongest part of their team. Up front then Paul is a super striker and did well. Congratualtions once more wilton

From out point of view I dont think you can throw the blame at any one individual lads. We win as a team and lose as a team and thats the way it should be. Management included.

Onwards and upwards anyway. Small matter of an aoh cup now on sunday. Blarney st are going to be up for it but I can assure you we will be too. Game on!

AUL Division 1

On the Greenmount v Richmond game; Anyone hear if there was any outcome from meeting? I think it was due to take place on Tuesday...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Congratulations to Wilton on a great season.A very good side and worthy winners of the league.
    Best of luck to both teams on Sunday.
    On our own season,The A team still have 3 league games left while our B's have just the one.
    For those who do not we have just completed our new pitch.This will be used for probably all winter games and we will be keeping the main pitch for the big games at the start and the end of the season.Its not a bad pitch to be fair so look forward to welcoming ye all on to it next season

41 Posts

Norrie News

Fair dues Park for all the hard work in improvin what are probably already the best club facilities in the Aul.

To all the Wilton lads an John Lenorad , congrats on winning a great league title.Richly deserved.

Didnt make the game as I had to keep makin the liquid stuff to keep ye all happy,heard it was a cracker.

Kinsale may have lost a league title but they clawed the gap back fantasticlly only to fall at the final hurdle an they should be credited for it.No doubt they are gutted but at least they have the Aoh an the Mossie to try to make up for the league.

Sorry to hear about Mintys loss as well.Condolences from all at Gratts up in O'Neill Park.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

shilts any news on ye're two players sent off?.Will they miss the match on sunday?

41 Posts

Norrie news

With regards to the rules in the Aul at the minute,then the players sent off against wilton will have to serve a one game ban in the very next game.Unfortunatley for Kinsale an the players the next game is against the Street in the Aoh final.

By the way theres no provision in the Aul or in fact the Mfa or even the Fai within the junior/senior non pro game to appeal a red card.You can appeal the resulting ban or fine which is handed out to the player an thats all, the 1 match suspension cant be appealed an has to be served. The only loop hole is if your sent off say in the Fai or Mjc an your on the winnin side,then you serve the ban in the very next round,if your on the loosin side you serve the ban in the very next game in any competition.

Very hard on the players an especially so as theres a disciplinary meeting next week an that could effect wether they are suspended for the Mossie also.A very heavy price to pay for a couple of lads who have put down a crackin season up to now but football can be a harsh taskmaster.

Premier A Play Off Result :

Village Utd 2 - 1 Macroom

Macrooms unbeaten streak in Silverheights ( at least 13 yrs ) is over. Village probabably deserved it as they were a bit sharper than the Macroom boys on the night. Macroom led 1-0 when wonka ran onto a ball over the top to chip the advancing goalkeeper (good finish). Village playing down the hill in the 2nd half scored two, the winner coming with less than 5 to go, So advantage Village for the Premier spot ..

Everyone in the premier will be delighted with that result no doubt. A possible trip to Silverheights next year , Yipee..

41 Posts

Norrie news

You can re phrase that one my vine swingin friend, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,all the premier city teams will be delighted to have a trip to silverheights to look forward to next season,,,,,,macroom away midweek no doubt would have been a handy one for yerselves but its a bitch for us

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    You can re phrase that one my vine swingin friend, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,all the premier city teams will be delighted to have a trip to silverheights to look forward to next season,,,,,,macroom away midweek no doubt would have been a handy one for yerselves but its a bitch for us
    I beg to differ Weeman, Local Derby, Possible Kickfest etc. etc. but at least it would be played in a top class facility but again thats my own opinion.. .

41 Posts

Norrie news

I know our own aint great but Silverheights is another story all together.Nice view of the harbour though,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

41 Posts

Norrie News

Well gents I'm signin off till next week so I'll give my tips for the Aoh on Sunday an then next week who ever wants to have a go at me because I was either wrong or right is welcome to do so.

Being a Norrie naturally I'm a bit biased so I'm goin for Blarney Street,why you may ask well heres my 2 cents worth.

The street have been training hard an goin about their buisness nice an quiet over the last 3 or 4 weeks conserving energy all the while Kinsale have been playin non stop.

.Lookin at the supposed startin 11's there for me aint much between them,both have very solid back lines an keepers,both have again very hard workin an physcial midfields but for me the only difference is up front for both sides.The street will go with Jp thompson an A other,the other bein the problem for them for me.Kinsale have the 2 dereks,best front 2 by a mile in the league but one of the dereks aint fully fit an the Street know it.

If I had to pick anyone in the league to man mark Varian it would be BABS,an Hogan was made for the physcial areial approach of Mcarthy.Daniels for the Street an Holland for Kinsale have the individual skill to turn a game.The Street have 2 wins already this season under their belt against the same Kinsale side they play Sunday.Apart from that their fairly evenly matched,the only other thing that sticks out for me is the one thing that will get me the biggest rollocking,Kinsale without doubt have the ability to win it but Blarney Street have the belife an I'd rather a team with belife than ability anytime,so its the Street for me to lift the Aoh for the first time.

Like I siad lads if im wrong then have a go but if Im right,,,,,,,,,,,have a go anyway,tis only a game.

Best of luck to both sides.
    Last edited by littleman; 22/05/2009 at 5:17 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    With regards to the rules in the Aul at the minute,then the players sent off against wilton will have to serve a one game ban in the very next game.Unfortunatley for Kinsale an the players the next game is against the Street in the Aoh final.

By the way theres no provision in the Aul or in fact the Mfa or even the Fai within the junior/senior non pro game to appeal a red card.You can appeal the resulting ban or fine which is handed out to the player an thats all, the 1 match suspension cant be appealed an has to be served. The only loop hole is if your sent off say in the Fai or Mjc an your on the winnin side,then you serve the ban in the very next round,if your on the loosin side you serve the ban in the very next game in any competition.

Very hard on the players an especially so as theres a disciplinary meeting next week an that could effect wether they are suspended for the Mossie also.A very heavy price to pay for a couple of lads who have put down a crackin season up to now but football can be a harsh taskmaster.
    Cheers for the confirmation littleman.I would have to agree with teams not wanting to travel to macroom during the week.I would think the majority of lads would be working until 5 at least and would find it very hard to get there for a midweek game.

To be honest id say teams would prefer to play on a bad pitch rather than travel 3/4 of an hour,finishing work early etc.The likes of park would have to travel to nearly the other side of cork so I think most teams would be happy for a city team to go up.

Best of look to both teams on sunday.Kinsale for me,think they deserve a trophy after their long hard season.
    Last edited by BigFella 09; 22/05/2009 at 5:28 AM.

Pitches

In case anyone is interested, I've recently added some overhead pictures from the new Innishvilla grounds in Knocknacurra...

http://www.innishvilla.com/knocknacurra.html

If only I hadn't gotten married and moved out of the folks home, a good smack of a golf ball from my front door to entrance of pitch, now a 25 minute drive!!! (Not even Tiger could reach it!!!).

You can see the training pitch is well worn at this stage but it is well floodlit and has a lot of sand on it so it should recover well over the summer, with a bit of TLC. We are about to do some extra drainage work on the two pitches starting ASAP (see the yellow piping and sand in the car-park area). Also to note the pitches are massive. The guys paced out Turners Cross last week while we were there, We could make the pitches the same length (110 yards I think but expect they will be somewhere between 100 - 110y) but they will definitely be wider, can't remember off the top of my head now the widths...

And NO the shed in the corner is not the AWAY dressing-rooms

I'd like to wish Kinsale and Blarney St. All the best in the AOH this weekend. Both side have very active and honest contributors on this site. I'll be honest I've only seen Kinsale twice this season and my only encounter with the street was in a 5 a side charity tournament last July up in churchfield, so I don't think I'm too qualified to make a prediction. I will try to make it and will be supporting my neighbours, but I think I'm correct in saying they'll be missing 2 starting central midfielders from the Wilton game due to suspension, if Varian is not back fit as well... Not many clubs would have a squad that could take that kind of hit...
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 22/05/2009 at 12:11 PM. Reason: just though of something else
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Greenmount/Richmond game

Heard that the 2-2 Result os to stand - Pearse as Champions and Greenmount as runners up - Apparently Greenmount are also being promoted???????? Two up from one of the first divisions?? Maybe someone else is pulling out of the Premier or Premier A

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Heard that the 2-2 Result os to stand - Pearse as Champions and Greenmount as runners up - Apparently Greenmount are also being promoted???????? Two up from one of the first divisions?? Maybe someone else is pulling out of the Premier or Premier A
    they still have to fill the two spots already gone

Re

So 1 more from one of the other first divisions to go up as well???
    2 gone from the Premier being made up by Knockavilla and Village!
    3 Promoted from the first divisions plus Greenmount would still leave the Premier A short 1 if 3 teams are relegated plus the lack of the two teams that withdrew from the Premier???
    Last edited by olachico; 23/05/2009 at 8:26 PM.

Talking

Norries of the world unite

Heres wishing Mr Power /Eddie Casilles /Danny Q and the rest of the Street Boys the best of luck in The Cross Sunday night .Enjoy it boys and be sure and bring home the bacon .Its Always nice to see any trophy being brought over the Christy Ring ,but remember boys this is the one The Holy Grail ,so why not the Street .Lads im getting emotional again ,MY GOD wouldnt i love to carry it over Blackpool Bridge before i die .

Ps Lads .On the subject of Cups /The Cross and Blackpool ,What about Mr Murray and company another Norrie invasion in The Cross next Sunday night Blackpool Celtic V Whoever in The Corinthians Cup Final .Well done Seanie /Tony and Co Enjoy it

Good nite

Pitches look great Innish well done.

Well lads it's an unbelievable morning so looks like conditions could be perfect for tonight's encounter. Tuesday is out of our system and we cant wait to get going now. Massive trophy to play for!!

Best of luck to both teams but obviously i'm hoping for a Kinsale victory! C'mon Kinsale!!

AOH Final

So Kinsale win the AOH cup in a pretty dull game by all accounts.
    I would have liked to see Blarney Street win as to be honest they were the only team who tried to play ball. Kinsale were quite happy to hit the ball long up to Varian and hope that he can make something out of it all by himself.
    The loss of McCarthy hurt Kinsale but Kinsale seemed short on ideas and route one to the front lads seemed to be the order of the day.
    Blarney Street to their credit played some nice football and had most of the possession and looked much the more dangerous team but in saying that didnt really create to many clear cut chances. Credit to the Kinsale centre backs though.

For anyone who saw the penalty shoot out, It was as if neither team wanted to win the cup. Hilarious stuff

Page 62 of 65 FirstFirst ... 12526061626364 ... LastLast