Well done Bunratty hope the celebrations go long into the week.
Good game, great crowd. Fair play (3 yellows) and a penalty shoot out. Finished 0-0 after extra time.
Avenue could have taken it twice but missed. Bunratty took it in sudden death. Tough way to decide a league but they could have been there for the day. Both teams cancelled each other out.
Congrats to all the Bunratty lads
Until next year![]()
Take it easy ! (and if ur getting it easy Take it Again)
Well done Bunratty hope the celebrations go long into the week.
Well done to Bunratty, best team on the day and for the season won the league in fairness.
Congrats to bunratty, i thought they deserved for trying to play ball, avenue were very poor and only had 1 or 2 half chances! As for bunratty being regarded as the best team throughout the season i don t agree, they won alot of games 1-0 and i think the fact GOAL DIFFERENCE didnt come in to play was a mistake, anyway its those 1-0 wins that go along way towards winning the league! Congrats to bunratty again and i m looking forward to next season where hopefully we ll end our drought of no league or cups in many years!
Jeez what a way to win a league. Heart stopping stuff there in the penalties.
I think the better team won it though. Lot of sick heads after the session yesterday.
Well done to Donal, Steph and all the team. A lot of work went in this year and it paid off for a finish.
Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na!!!!!!!
Well done to Donal, Steph and all the team. A lot of work went in this year and it paid off for a finish.
Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na!!!!!!![/QUOTE]
Gracious in defeat - didn't expect anythin else - well done to the rats
Congratulations to Bunratty.
I have had to change my sig![]()
I'll update this next year.
Well done bunratty.I think the best team won the league.Awful game but bunratty will not complain.Surprised with the team big daddy put out but he gets the job done again.
how can you make a comment like that.they won 3 games 1 nil.everyone knew goal difference wouldn't come into it so thats a lame excuse..by far the best team in the league this year.and on behalf of the rovers congratulations well deserved..[/QUOTE]
The most consistent team, yes, but not the best.
Congrats Bunratty...wasn't at the game but heard ye deserved it![]()
My Goal Is To Deny Yours...
Congrats to Bunratty. Played better football on the day but credit to Avenue who play a different stlye of game but do it very effectively and probably came the closest to scoring during the 110 minutes. Penalties provided great entertainment for the neutrals.
Well done to all involved. Hope Newmarket made a few quid in gate receipts, both pitches looked immaculate.
Well done to Donal, Steff and the Bunratty squad on a great achievement from all at Olympic. Also a lot of credit to Avenue for hauling back the Rats and comming so close to what would have been an amazing turnaround.They must be gutted but they did themselves and their club proud .![]()
you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.
Blues and Tones @ 5 in Clarecastle and Cup final is 6.45 in Doora. Any word on the Rovers lads Hacker Planners? Will they miss the soccer?
Best of luck in the game whatever happens. Plenty of support from ye in Newmarket yesterday. Keep it in the Parish![]()
Blues and Tones @ 5 in Clarecastle and Cup final is 6.45 in Doora. Any word on the Rovers lads Hacker Planners? Will they miss the soccer?
Best of luck in the game whatever happens. Plenty of support from ye in Newmarket yesterday. Keep it in the Parish
When were the times confirmed for the hurling ?
[quote=hacker;1158020] Don t get me wrong i think they deserved it for being the most consistent team all year, but i don t think they are the best team! It wasvery exciting for the neutrals, Avenue having 2 penaltys to win it but the pressure got to them! best of luck to lifford B on saturday, lets keep the cup in the town for another year
Top Scorers 08'09
Michael Mahony Avenue Utd 14
Johnnie Daly Moher Celtic 11
Top Scorers 07'08
Michael Mahony Avenue Utd 11
Johnny Daly Moher Celtic 10
Interesting that the top scorer was fought between the same 2 lads this season. The 6 goals Mickey got last week though were the difference this season.