Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: FT. Drogheda Utd 0 - 0 Sligo Rovers

You can be guaranteed Danny Ventre will let you down. I've always being saying it. Could have lost us the game in Derry as well with a stupid foul that should have been a penalty, also against Galway this year and Galway last year with his penalty in league cup, need i say more.
    I kept my silence until the nine games were up like Cook wanted. I took Avvenalafs lead. After 9 games i can tell you free of charge we will win nothing this year, and be a shame to the league in Europe.
    The one positive of the year was the win in Derry, and that doesn't look all that great seeing Dundalk went there and won, shows Derry have big problems at home, so the win up there isn't as big a coup as we may think. Other than the Derry game we have been pathetic this season, like i have been saying all along we will end up in a relegation battle, and i predict us finishing second last, only for Drogs being so bad we would be down this year. So we can count ourselves lucky. Drogheda are easily one of the worst teams i have seen in the premier for a while.
    Annoyed i went to that last night as it was spoiled by that ref.

Pile your money on Cork btw.

Formerly: wild rover
    I really hope no one bites......

Inside man, its getting old now.

Brewer, thought Morrison was sent off for screaming at the ref after he did'nt get a free kick. Did he actually make contact with the Drogs player?

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    Pile our money on Cork for what?, to go down or win the league?

Either way you're an idiot..

--

Anyways, i don't agree with this whole judge after 9 games like Cook said. We still don't have Butler or Mauro available.

When Cook has the BEST players at the club available to him i will start judging...Were only 5 points off 3rd place FFS .

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    You can be guaranteed Danny Ventre will let you down. I've always being saying it. Could have lost us the game in Derry as well with a stupid foul that should have been a penalty, also against Galway this year and Galway last year with his penalty in league cup, need i say more.
    I kept my silence until the nine games were up like Cook wanted. I took Avvenalafs lead. After 9 games i can tell you free of charge we will win nothing this year, and be a shame to the league in Europe.
    The one positive of the year was the win in Derry, and that doesn't look all that great seeing Dundalk went there and won, shows Derry have big problems at home, so the win up there isn't as big a coup as we may think. Other than the Derry game we have been pathetic this season, like i have been saying all along we will end up in a relegation battle, and i predict us finishing second last, only for Drogs being so bad we would be down this year. So we can count ourselves lucky. Drogheda are easily one of the worst teams i have seen in the premier for a while.
    Annoyed i went to that last night as it was spoiled by that ref.

I have to disagree with you about how you said we are pathetic. We needed a win to get our confidence and it did, from that match to the Bohemians game we have been playing great football (can't say how we played against Drogs). As Boy Boy said, we don't have our best 11 yet when Mauro and Butler return our back 4 will be better. Doe's anyone anyone who was at the match last night think the absence of Conor O Grady had any affect on us ?
    Coleman for Ireland

I know he's a legend
    Danny Ventre is the stupidest player i've ever seen who does he think he is Vinny Jones. because of this so called legend three points were lost last night. I've no dought we would've taken them apart in the second half. I prefer not to talk about Morrison.

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    I really hope no one bites......
    I nearly did

Quote Originally Posted by Shedzer View Post
    Danny Ventre is the stupidest player i've ever seen who does he think he is Vinny Jones. because of this so called legend three points were lost last night. I've no dought we would've taken them apart in the second half. I prefer not to talk about Morrison.
    I was never Danny's biggest fan but he was always a midfielder, not a centre half. He's been playing out of position all season. And he saved our skins in Derry realistically because we had no one else. Also against Bohs. The two best teams in the country could only put one past us with Ventre in centre defence. Give us a break lads. Unbelievably quick to stick the knife in here.
    Last edited by dong; 25/04/2009 at 12:12 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    I thought he stamped on the Drogheda centre back as he was going through underneath with his sliding tackle.
    That's what I thought too.

I couldn't really see the Ventre lunge, I remember thinking to myself, "easy Danny, no need to jump in here". Wasn't the ball already gone for a throw? Foolish man. I am no fan of Danny but up to that point he was doing well, marshalling the defence. I genuinely think he got himself needlessly wound up, particularly when he heard the chanting of his name. The boy needs to grow up.

Am I the only one who thinks that we actually looked a little more assured when Feeney went in Centre Half? I thought so after the Galway game and the same last night.

Despite having 9 men, we could have won the game, we certainly had the chances. Good crowd from Sligo, fair play to all who travelled.
    "Overwhelmed"

Danny Ventre mighten be the most talented player in our squad but he is certainly one of the most commited.
    I think he has really improved his consistency and his overall quality in defence.
    Granted he does make a few rash challenges every once and a while but thats part and parcell of his game.
    Every once and a while a tough tackling player of his style slips up, its an inevitability.
    So maybe next time the keyboard generals who are so quick to criticise when we have a player who doesnt show commitment or heart can at least appreciate that Danny always gives 110%, thats why hes a rovers legend.

Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    I genuinely think he got himself needlessly wound up, particularly when he heard the chanting of his name.
    Was thinking the same meself.

But at least he gives his all,unlike our other red carded player

Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    Fickle, simple as.
    Sorry but i fail to see how fickle that is? I was merely pointing out how i was dissappointed with the result, like a few on here, and i also was cueing up Avvenlaf nine game spinner, as i knew he'd come out of the closet.
    After all, wasnt it Cook who said 'judge his team after nine games', hence: 'nine games up... time to judge'. Honestly i fail to see your angle on this?

There's no doubt Danny is sometimes a liability at the back. I understand that he does give 110% and i love that in a player. But at times he does jump around as if there's nothing between his ears.
    Hopefully O'Grady will be back for Cork. Looks like Noctor might get another chance as well.

Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    Sorry but i fail to see how fickle that is? I was merely pointing out how i was dissappointed with the result, like a few on here, and i also was cueing up Avvenlaf nine game spinner, as i knew he'd come out of the closet.
    After all, wasnt it Cook who said 'judge his team after nine games', hence: 'nine games up... time to judge'. Honestly i fail to see your angle on this?
    We drew 0-0 with 9 men, and by all accounts could well have won.

We had a shocking poor start to the season. Our performances were woeful, but the last 4 games has seen a great turnaround by the players.

We're missing key players through injury, and already have a bare squad.

What do you expect? Us to be challenging for the league?

Come off it.

i know its all ifs and buts ! but if we had a striker on the pitch last night we would have won that game easily .We played some nice football but have no clue when we get up around the box . Sligo looked liked one of the worst teams to play in utd pk this season tbh , even with ten men you were very poor .We need joxer , shane barrett and robbie farrel fit if we are gonna have any chance of survival .

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    Sligo looked liked one of the worst teams to play in utd pk this season tbh , even with ten men you were very poor .
    But yet we were still the most likely to win the game...really shows how bad you are.

Winters ruined the game, if it was 11 Vs. 11 I'm confident we'd have got the 3 points.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    We drew 0-0 with 9 men, and by all accounts could well have won.

We had a shocking poor start to the season. Our performances were woeful, but the last 4 games has seen a great turnaround by the players.

We're missing key players through injury, and already have a bare squad.

What do you expect? Us to be challenging for the league?

Come off it.
    Yes thats exactly what i expect us winning the league

We were playing Drogs who are the worst team in the league, missing alot of their best players, and who had only picked up 2 points out of 24. Of course i was dissappointed when i heard the result. Never mind that we were down to 9 men. I was expressing my dissappointment that we did not beat such a poor team. Its not like i came out and said it was a shambles, and that we are going to get relegated. I merely stated my dissappointment at not beating the worst team in the league. And you come out and slate it? I've read alot worse in this thread.
    Come off it yourself

Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    It was cook who said after 9 games let the team be judged, something tells me that you wouldn't be raising the issue of the 9 games if the three points had been secured last night, which makes your raising it because of a draw last night, in my opinion, fickle.

I think we're all slightly disappointed as it was an away game that we could and possibly should have picked up 3 points from, but a bit of perspective. We finished the game with cook in the stands and 9 men on the field. I think most would settle for a draw in those circumstances.

In regards to the nine games. If you haven't seen the dramatic turn around in the team in the last few games then your always going to be a sceptic. Cook has been able to gel a team together with a lot of new players and get them playing some of the best football in the league and getting results against the big teams in the league. where exactly is he faltering can I ask?

What is your evaluation after 9 games?

People talk about Ventre being committment, this "Committment" has lost your club two points last night, this "Committment" should have caused you some point in The Bradywell, this "Committment" is just an excuse for rash and dangerous tackles, this "Committment" is a sign of a player who cannot control himself on the pitch. If all you are after is committment, and not skill...then i suggest you sign this lot...http://www.vysoke-myto.cz/portal/ima...ommitments.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by Sicuani View Post
    People talk about Ventre being committment, this "Committment" has lost your club two points last night, this "Committment" should have caused you some point in The Bradywell, this "Committment" is just an excuse for rash and dangerous tackles, this "Committment" is a sign of a player who cannot control himself on the pitch. If all you are after is committment, and not skill...then i suggest you sign this lot...http://www.vysoke-myto.cz/portal/ima...ommitments.jpg
    Your contribution is much appreciated and will be taken on board..........

people are very quick to judge a player that gives it their all,other players who put no effort in don't get criticised its a joke give the lad a chance hes up there playing out of position.if he was not good enough he wouldn't be in cooks team

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast