Big result for Grattan yesterday! Wilton must be delighted!! To be honest a draw would have been ideal for us but now the gratts will have their heads up against us next sunday and will be full of confidence. Did littleman actually play?!Not a sleight on you as a player wee fella but just presumed you were gettin on a bit in years!!
We scrope thru against blackstone!! Could very well have found ourselves out of the cup only for an extra time penalty converted by who else but mccarthy. I do think we deserved however, but Blackstone fought tooth and nail for everything. Never before have i seen a team so committed. Thought they fought very well. We saw extra time out well and are relieved to be in the semis. Some top teams left and very surprising to hear park were beaten by kanturk. They'll obviously be the team everyone will be hoping to draw in the semis.
Coachford now on thursday night. What's the story with the mossie lads... top two or just the top go thru?! Anyone know what the groups look like at the moment?! We have two wins anyway..
I could'nt have planned the way Sunday morning was going to pan out even if I had a team of writers from the X files.My experience should have told me that wether the clocks are goin froward or backwards an hour,some idiots will get caught out by it,and if you add any kind of a party the night before then your on a hiding to nothin with what you expect to turn up on Sunday morning for a game.
I was at home Sunday morning an had the intention of watching the first half of the A game an then the 2nd half of the B game.How wrong could I have been.The B manager txt me to say that of the 17 he had at training Thur only 11 had turned up an as I had signed the B form encase of emergency's then could I turn up as sub.Fair enough I said an got into the car an got to the pitch.Then at the gates I met one of the lads envolved with the A team,he missed his spin,I thought to meself I'll drop him down to Leeside as I wont be used in the 1st half of the B game,at least hopefully not at all.Got down to Leesides place to findout 5 or 6 of the team had gone to a christening the night before an failed to show,we had 11.Manager went in goal an asked if I'd tog off as sub,I thought to meself I'm 36 an I was expectin to be on the bench for the B team an I'd got promoted to the A team with out even toggin off.
Leeside had at least 20 togged off an were well up for it for the 1st 15,then just seemed to self destruct,unbelivable display from them.The ref was in a word,dispicable.Ignorant an emotionless also spring to mind.Like talkin to a cow,stuipd look on his face throughout and any questioning of his decisions drew a yellow he got envolved in stuipid arguments with the side line which only drew both sides and the game out.He sent off a leeside player who had nothin to do with the incident that drew the foul.The Leeside center half,was an I dont like sayin this about any player but he was a disgrace,3 challanges in the 1st half alone that were straight red and I challenge an person watchin the game to defend what he got up to durin the game.
I can understand a player being commited,even bein well up for it so to speak,but this fella went out to hurt people,plain an simple.Dont get me wrong it wasnt a dirty game,just some of the fouls were truly terrible to watch an how some of the players left that pitch in one peice was a miracle an probably more down to their fitness an a bit of luck..
The ref played a huge part in the game,sent the wrong player off an bottled another straight forward sendin off offence,the center half agin put in a terrible challange on Figo,straight through the back of him,bit of a malee an our Brian Sull went head to head with there Sullivan,the Leeside Sullivan kicked him in plain sight of everyone,ref less than 2 yards away an lookin straight at it,what did he do,sent Jack from Leeside off for what knowone knew.With the extra man we were well in control an probably played the best 90 mins I have seen all season.
2 up with an should have added another 2 or 3 but again the final ball an in fairness a good young Leeside keeper kept it down.Leeside were gifted a goal in injury time when a clearence by our right back on the line hit the backside of the keeper an went in(twas par for the course considerin the way the mornin went) on back in injury time butttoo little to late.Oh ya I came on for the last 25 at left back.What age did Bobby Charlton play on too,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Last edited by littleman; 30/03/2009 at 8:39 PM.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
Billy Lyons got it spot on on Friday night when he said our recent form was not good. Going into the game, I still believed, but wasnt overly confident.
We had 17 for the game, after a few games of number struggling. We looked well in our new jackets.....things may not be so glum. We started well and both sides went hell for leather into the tackle. Both sidelines were well up for it too, with some lovely pleasantries exchanged!! The first clear chance fell to us when our full back chipped the Kinsale keepr only to see the ball drift just wide. We went ahead from a set piece on 20 minutes, and the belief grew. Dont be fooled, it was clear we were playing a good side, and some last ditch defending was needed. Just as we thought we might scrape in ahead at the break, Mr Mc Carthy found a half yard of space in the box and it was 1-1 on 40 mins. We were still ok, but 3 minutes to go and Derek struck the goal of the game - a header into the only spot our keeper wasnt going to get it. 2-1 down at the break, but no despair. We were angry with ourselves, in fact. Second half started with Kinsale on top, but this game wasnt over. After an hour of the sideline screaming handball in unison, we finally got the break. 2 all from the spot. We defended like our lives depended on it, while still harbouring the odd sniff up the other end. 10 minutes to go, and it seemed like the final nail when their centre back got free in the box and made it 3-2. Everyone, even some of the away fans, saw the clock tick down and worried for Blackstone. It was even worse when we missed a free header on 88. However, well into injury time, we equalised from a free into the box. The place went ballistic!! Into extra time, and Rovers again had to defend, but with the ten minutes up in the first half, it seemed the worst was over. An inocuous throw into the box, a poor challenge and Mr Mc Carthy completed his hat-trick. We didnt even have time to kick off. The 2nd half passed without much at either end and Rovers went home unhappy to have lost...but, on reflection proud that the only non premier side did ourselves proud at the top table.
There was some challenges went in over the 120 minutes.The Kinsale right full, hope its not you bog warrior, should have been sent off on the half hour for a two footed challenge, and it set the tone for the rest of the game. We christened him "Gary Neville" after the game, cos he wound up our sideline, a right plonker!! All in good jest when we told him on the way out!
As I reflect, I ask myself are the rules stretched (but not broken) by all teams at the top level? Do we see players swinging off each other every week in the Premiership? Cmon Premier boys, back yourselves!! To be fair, we know we should have lost a man too, and one or two of our challenges would water your eyes too!
The coldest wettest Sunday of the year - i dunno about seeing Charles Fort on a Sunday in March. Lovely set-up, bogwarrior.
Bogwarrior, give me your match report. I always find it amazing how two people watch the same game and see things differently!
As I posted my piece on "dirty" at the top, did Littleman answer it?
Littleman any idea when the draw for the semis of the aoh is..asked two members of the aul commitee yesterday in the anglers and they didnt know
I think Billy got it spot on in the echo today when he said the scoreline flattered us yesterday against Rathcoole.at one stage in this game we were really in trouble and had to dig really deep to get the win.Rathcoole are a decent team and i was very impressed with their front two..we took the lead after 10 mins john betts getting on the end of a paul hogan corner and buried the header giving the keeper no chance. then we went into self destruct mode yet again and this is something we really need to sort it out.instead of driving on and getting number two we got complacement and paid the price just before half time when they got a genuine penalty which their keeper converted,one all at half time,
in fairness we were a totally different team in the second half and took control of the game.we started to dominate in the middle of the park and our centre halfs got on top of their front two. when we scored the second thru lawerence betts again from a paul hogan corner we were totally on top.john betts added a third and john paul thompson finished off the scoring with a great strike in to the top corner.we really need to sort ourselves out though if we want to get into the final.playing for only one half is not good enough.it is something which we have talked about but it keeps happening and its really frustrating.. anyone got a number for eileen drewery!!!!!!!!
Kanturk pulled off the shock of the weekend against park and cant be taken lightly.was talking to someone who watched the game between kinsale/blackstone and he said that blackstone were very unlucky and can hold their heads up high. in fairness we all probably expected kinsale to win but they were made to work very hard for it.i think the result of the weekend must go to glenthorn though away to knockavilla and coming from two down to win.was suprised by grattan/leeside result cause i really thought leeside would be really up for.they started yesterday second in the league and seemed to be in a position to have a right challenge of it. reports though are that gratan were good value for the win and fair play. looks like wilton were the big winners and they didnt even play
Also was told yesterday that the semis of the aoh are not on in the cross.i was told earlier that they were back out there this year.anyone know anything definite
Look lads I wish I could tell you that the draw is done in a organised fashion with Stokes Kennedy Crowley there to oversee it all bein done good an proper,but it aint.It will be done at the next Aul commitee meeting I presume because otherwise I'd have heard today as I was with the commitee and the Aul team down in the Echo office.I'd go with 4 bits of paper an one of the commitee picks um out of a glass I expect.I'd love someone to tell me I'm wrong an that the Aul will invite the 4 clubs to a pre arranged meeting an have sherry an appertifs afterwords but I think not.This the Aul remember.
The date for the final is fixed for the 22nd of May.First name out of the hat has home advantage as per the last 2 seasons.I know there is a rumor about that the Cross might be available but if it was then the dates for the semis would have been on the paper tonight.City play their games on Friday nights every other week an with the demands on the Cross for finals I cant see any semis bein played their for any league.
For me Blarneys grass pitch under lights on a Friday night would be a sight to behold for any semi final,somethin about Colemans Park as well.I played their a good few times when I was younger an enjoyed the place big time.But then again the AUL might surprise us all,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,![]()
The Killer B's hav'nt had the best of luck since the end of January.The rub of the green an the bounce of the ball just aint goin their way.We will have to knuckle down an get back to basics if we are to rescue things before its to late.Still loads to play for.
Only 36 wee man? I was only coming into my prime then HAHA!![]()
Hey lads finally got back on after changing jobs.Its been a while!!.I see there hasn't been much happening on the league front.It looks like grattan could have a say on who wins the league after all littleman!!!.
I've lost my contact on the wilton front hence changing jobs but from how the league table is looking at the minute they must be confident enough with leeside losing the weekend and grattan hitting form,kinsale having to play them this week.
I reckon they'll be happy to sit back an watch teams taking points off eachother!!.
Well lads as reported earlier The Street got goining in the 2nd half,after a terrabile 1st and in my opinion we were worth the 3 goal difference. 3 games at home in 10 days starting with Macroom on Thurs night , Glenthorn on sat both in the Mossie and Glenthorn again the following Thurs in the league
I went down to the Kinsale vs Blackstone game in the afternoon and was suprised to hear Blackstone were 1 up{just been honest Horse} but I have to say Blackstone gave it there all and can hold there heads up high after a very competive and a times pleasurable game to watch, Ill hold my hand up and say I was roaring ye onbut peglars challenge was shocking ,wat he was thinking was beyond me and the few around too.
Would agree with you Littleman with teams been brought in for the semi final draw id even go as far to say the Quater Finals and also on the playing of a neutral pitch, Little Island, Charles Fort, Mayfield,Douglas,Leeds. the Farm, Castleview or Whitegate. All these mentioned are in the Cork AUL and are of a high quality, do think the Cross should be final only?
"Build it and they will come"
First and foremost I'm a Grattan man,A or B dosent really come into it.I only signed the B form at the start of the season just encase they were ever left short handed an its only happened once or twice.Sunday morning games are always a lottery with regards to gettin fellas to turn up so what happened this Sunday was a one off.
If I was younger I'd have no bother competing with whats in the league now an I'm not meaning to be either disrespectful to anyone or big headed but I'm not foolish enough to think I'm either fit enough or light enough to go head to head with someone out on the wing.My times been an gone though I still enjoy the odd cameo,its only to give a hand the odd time they need sone help.Which thankfully isnt very often.
The win against Leeside restored a bit of pride in the lads themselves.They deserved it not because Leeside made it hard but because we played football like we used too an they came off the pitch a little sore but with a smile on their face for the first time in a long while.I'm lookin forward to the game Sunday against Kinsale,league status apart we are still the two sides everyone likes to claim as a scalp an against each other its no different.Games are always played hard an fast an I expect Sundays game to be no different.It could go anyway.
Plenty of games left in the league which could leave Wilton with a nervous run in.If im right they have to play,Kinsale,Ourselves,Leeside an Glenthorn to finish off,could go all the way.It makes it a bit more interestin though for a change.The mossie may throw up a few new faces in the semis,Kinsale goin for a trebble possible,Glenthorn as well,sure as I said it makes it all the mose interestin for the rest of us...............
In advance of the AUL AGM, I would like to see what points fellas will be bringing up to give me thinking time:
My List includes:
1) Yellow card fines, crucifying clubs.
2) Suspensions - players suspended for the weekend ahead should be listed on the website.
3) 2 promoted at least from every division. AUL say 1st division has only one promoted because they dont want a team to get to Premier League without winning a league. You can get to Premier League in England by finishing 6th in 3 divisions!! A good start by one team leaves 9/10 teams out of the league by Ocotber maybe because guys were on holidays. Is that fair?
4) I saw a bit on the MSL site about MSL grants - could AUL help clubs out with Pitch or Dressing room development in these trying times? We have plans, but will we have funds?
5) Should players from folded clubs be punished during non-transfer times for things that happened outside their control?
Thats all I can think of for now.
Those who know me know I dont usually say much at the meetings!!!!!
I agree, as it is 3 getting relegated from Premier with only 10 teams is fairly tough going, especially having had to work so hard to get there (i.e. win a first division).
But I also know where the point is coming from with only one team going up, this year our division is really interesting with 4/5 still in with a shot; but last year by Christmas the 2 going down were fairly obvious, and one side had built up a bit of a lead... no-one else had hardly anything to play for...
”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
George Hamilton...
http://www.innishvilla.com
How about not letting any team without a 'B' team into the premier leagues? This would prevent the crazy situation in the prem div this year where 2 teams have folded. Bad enough in the lower leagues but it has totally distorted the premier division this season.
What about neutral venues for the AOH Semis. Bit of a joke to be togging off at grounds with no proper dressing rooms for an AOH semi?
What about a bigger prize for the winners of the top competitions? Dublin AUL Prem winners get a team holiday, but a set of gear wouldn't be too bad for our winners would it!![]()
Yeah, the problem of the 6 teams going down is a big one. Do we need to go from 3 divisions to maybe 2 divisions, Prem A & B, and then to one division? The other option is the 3 winners , and the three runners up in some sort of play off with the 4th bottom in Prem A. At least it gives a team something to aim for if one team has gone away at the top.
On prizes, Im sure something could be found. It cost us a fortune last year when we won something because you feel you must reward the players, whether in drink, or, tops or whatever.
I do think all semis for all cups have to expect certain standards - dressing rooms, good surface etc. For AOH, its the biggest cup, if we cant get the Cross, then Colemans PArk or something along those lines should be looked at. Im sure Ramblers could do with the few bob. One after the other would cut down costs for the AUL.