Page 42 of 70 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by RenzoRosso View Post
    Avenue were beaten quite easily yesterday and the only reason Lifford are hated is that they are undoubtedly the best footballing team in the league. On the day, Avenue lacked everything needed to win. Heart, intelligence and fitness. If poor old Gary Flynn didn't have his ample arse to blow out of he would have exploded after 20 minutes. How the mighty have fallen. Russell has nothing to contribute to the game other than his sly little comments. Utterly useless player. With Avenue's midfield performing in this manner, they hadn't a hope. Well done Lifford, that victory was a long time coming!
    Reminds me of lifford 2 weeks ago against Newmarket
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895

wow, if lifford ever win the league they are gonna need a web site of their own to proclaim their greatness.
    when its put up to them they dont have the balls to give it back,but newmarket did 2 weeks ago, and bunratty probably will too. still 2nd or 3rd place is all lifford will finish with..
    avenue didnt do it yesterday unfortunately, and lifford deserved the win despite 2 own goals and freak 3rd

ps.pretty pathetic to see liffords management abusing their OWN players, and they were 3 nil up, ref stopped the game to tell him shut up. some attitude.

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    Reminds me of lifford 2 weeks ago against Newmarket
    At least they play their games on the field.

[quote=hacker;1133342]lose to newmarket struggle past moher..beat an avenue team going through a bad patch and they are world beaters..cant see bunratty dropping 6 points out of 4 games to lose league..

Does this mean that Avenue teams have to be going through a bad patch for someone to beat them?

[quote=hacker;1133375]
    Quote Originally Posted by AWOL View Post

no it doesn't but i was just making the statement that they have been going through a bad patch and personally i dont think lifford lads should be on here talking about winning a double..(well not just yet) ye should catch up wit bunratty before talking about something thats out of your control..

True for you. And as was mentioned on an earlier post, Bunratty are not going to be too easy to dislodge. It ain't over till the final whistle. And by the way ye are not the only ones to have bad patches

Wink .

ye will be grand hacker, shur according to previous post avenue have no heart, no defence, no centre midfield, no anything, handy 3 points. where is the game on?

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    ye will be grand hacker, shur according to previous post avenue have no heart, no defence, no centre midfield, no anything, handy 3 points. where is the game on?
    you forgot to mention ye have ample arse's

" football is a simple game "

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    you forgot to mention ye have ample arse's
    apologies,
    yes ample arses, maybe they would be more suited to the 3rd division, going on previous posts.

what these so called top premier teams produced on sunday morning was nothing short of shocking to watch.. both teams refused to try and put 3 passes together. eg. keeper roll ball out to full backs he would put his head down and hoof as far as he could and if he found his own player he got " great ball " and if not he got " unlucky next time " and this was right all the way up through both teams. who was the big lad up front for avenue it was painful to watch him he was so bad and how he was left on the field for as long as he was???? i agree avenue were lacking leadership and lay down very fast when the goals went in. liffords first goal was well taken the other two were just lucky goals. all in all it was a very poor match..

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    comment of the week..

its amazing how they forget these things
    Lifford haven't forgotten their performance on that day and would be the first to admit they were awful. Their own worst showing of the season by far. Newmarket well and truly beat them and they deserved that victory. In the same way that Lifford hammered them at the start of the season. How easily that is forgotten. As for their manager; he has the full and unquestionable support of the team. That's not to say that they agree with everything he does on the sideline because they don't but they do have the utmost respect for him, I assure you.

Lifford did not struggle past Moher, by any means. The scoreline did not reflect the true nature of the game as, in fact, at no point were Lifford in danger of losing. By saying that Lifford beat an Avenue team going through a "bad patch", what are you implying?? That Avenue are better than Lifford at their best...? Ha ha! That is an absolutely pathetic excuse either way. Excuses can be made for any defeat no matter what the circumstances so please stop being so ridiculous, for everyone's sake. Lifford beat them and that's that. And to whomever described the two goals as "own goals", since when are deflections and own goals the same thing?? There is a distinction for a reason. Lifford had myriad goal opportunities in that game and had Davy and Macca not scored those two, they would have come from elsewhere. Credit where credit's due.

Bunratty are not to be feared. It will be hard for them not to win the league at this point but nothing is impossible. And let's not forget that Avenue can still get ahead of Lifford with their game in hand so they can't be discounted and are certainly not out of the running. I would much rather see Avenue win the league than Bunratty so all both Lifford and Avenue can do is win their remaining games. It's certainly going to be a very interesting finish to what has been a season full of shocks and controversy.
    Last edited by RenzoRosso; 31/03/2009 at 1:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by RenzoRosso View Post
    I would much rather see Avenue win the league than Bunratty
    Good man yourself. I was hoping you would spout something like this

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Good man yourself. I was hoping you would spout something like this
    Cheers. I wrote it exactly for the purpose of pleasing you.

I would think the only people who would want Lifford to win the league would be Lifford themselves esp in which way the manager behaves on the lines very un sportsman like

Quote Originally Posted by Nutz4dCupz View Post
    I would think the only people who would want Lifford to win the league would be Lifford themselves esp in which way the manager behaves on the lines very un sportsman like
    Don't you think the same can be said about any team? There are no angels on the sideline and some of the chat comming off the pitch can be very choice too. And yes Lifford would love to win the league, so would Avenue, Bunratty are nearly there, but I don't think any team playing in the prem are there to twiddle their thumbs Do you?

Sympathy to The Avenue on the loss of a great supporter, club man and player. For both Avenue and Lifford in his time. RIP Giles

Don't you think the same can be said about any team? There are no angels on the sideline and some of the chat comming off the pitch can be very choice too. And yes Lifford would love to win the league, so would Avenue, Bunratty are nearly there, but I don't think any team playing in the prem are there to twiddle their thumbs Do you?

Sympathy to The Avenue on the loss of a great supporter, club man and player. For both Avenue and Lifford in his time. RIP Giles
    yea what a legend he was i remember going to watch avenue play in the fairgreen back in early 90's and Giles was his best running up and down the line shouting at the avenue players what to do where to go it was very funny to watch him in action also making all these mad noises as he went. My best memory would be of him shouting at JP in goals avenue might go 1 up after 5 minutes and that was it JP had to " lock the shop " A great loss R.I.P.

[QUOTE=AWOL;1134038] Don't you think the same can be said about any team? There are no angels on the sideline and some of the chat comming off the pitch can be very choice too. QUOTE]

The Lifford Manager is the worst I've ever seen on the sideline and I'll be very surprised if he is there next year.

Yes players and the sidelines can get pasionate thats part of the game but some of the comments the Lifford manager makes are over the top, for instance near the start of the season Lifford were playing Bunratty in Bunratty think it was a cup match and I remember the lifford manager ranting about breaking the Bunratty strikers legs as he thought he dived thats an unaceptable comment to make don't you think?

Quote Originally Posted by Nutz4dCupz View Post
    Yes players and the sidelines can get pasionate thats part of the game but some of the comments the Lifford manager makes are over the top, for instance near the start of the season Lifford were playing Bunratty in Bunratty think it was a cup match and I remember the lifford manager ranting about breaking the Bunratty strikers legs as he thought he dived thats an unaceptable comment to make don't you think?
    Is that the same as being tokd of things that were going to be done to your mother when you are playing a match or comments to that effect. It never happens. Its done as a tactic to redirect focus and that is what happens. Anybody going to hurt any other player should be severely dealt with by the ref. and then by the League(when they feel like it). I have heard worse comming out of managers on a sideline and not always at junior games. We can only mind our own side at games, we are not responsible for any one elses managers.

Exclamation Olympic A win Team of the Month for March

Congratulations to Shannon Olympic A on winning Team of the Month for March.

Quote Originally Posted by 2on2 View Post
    yea what a legend he was i remember going to watch avenue play in the fairgreen back in early 90's and Giles was his best running up and down the line shouting at the avenue players what to do where to go it was very funny to watch him in action also making all these mad noises as he went. My best memory would be of him shouting at JP in goals avenue might go 1 up after 5 minutes and that was it JP had to " lock the shop " A great loss R.I.P.
    a sad loss to all involved with avenue have many memories of giles running the line on the fairgreen usually given us the opposition a bit of stick and of the pitch he was gracious in victory or defeat R.I.P GILES a true avenue legend

" football is a simple game "

Page 42 of 70 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast