Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

Sportsmanship from Shn Olympic

24th February 2009
    Following a meeting of the CDSL Executive Committee to discuss an objection from Shannon
    Olympic into the recent Prego Menswear Clare Cup match against Tulla Utd on 15th February
    the League upheld the objection under FAI Rule 113 Section 4. However great Sportsmanship
    has been shown by Shannon Olympic who have offered to replay this match. Shannon Olympic
    accepted that a misinterpretation of the rules has occurred and everyone involved in Clare
    soccer applauds their sporting stance on the matter. This re-fixture will take place at
    the County Grounds on 8th March. Both teams will now be included in the draw for the last
    16 of the Cup which will take place on Friday night at 6.30PM live on Clare FM.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    24th February 2009
    Following a meeting of the CDSL Executive Committee to discuss an objection from Shannon
    Olympic into the recent Prego Menswear Clare Cup match against Tulla Utd on 15th February
    the League upheld the objection under FAI Rule 113 Section 4. However great Sportsmanship
    has been shown by Shannon Olympic who have offered to replay this match. Shannon Olympic
    accepted that a misinterpretation of the rules has occurred and everyone involved in Clare
    soccer applauds their sporting stance on the matter. This re-fixture will take place at
    the County Grounds on 8th March. Both teams will now be included in the draw for the last
    soccer applauds their sporting stance !!! .. if so sporting why appeal about illegall player in first place .. 1 player does not make a team take your defeat on pitch and move on ... as for clare league must be the first time ever they have been prepared to award game to opposition on strenght of illegal player ,, would it be due to fact that senior member of cdsl when contacted by tulla before game if player was ok to play tulla were advised by senior member of cdsl that player in question was ok to play !!!
    what does this say about state of the cdsl ... p.s. illegall players happens quite a lot in clare league espically in the lower divisions and out in the west of clare .. cdsl member was extremly blind when it came to his club playing illegal players over the years .
    Last edited by old git; 25/02/2009 at 10:28 AM.

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    soccer applauds their sporting stance !!! .. if so sporting why appeal about illegall player in first place .. 1 player does not make a team take your defeat on pitch and move on ... as for clare league must be the first time ever they have been prepared to award game to opposition on strenght of illegal player ,, would it be due to fact that senior member of cdsl when contacted by tulla before game if player was ok to play tulla were advised by senior member of cdsl that player in question was ok to play !!!
    what does this say about state of the cdsl ... p.s. illegall players happens quite a lot in clare league espically in the lower divisions and out in the west of clare .. cdsl member was extremly blind when it came to his club playing illegal players over the years .
    cop on old git. I personally have never played on a team with an illegal player. Its about the standard a club sets, some clubs dont respect the rules others do. That in itself is a sporting decision - if you cheat or not. I must pont out that Tulla did not cheat they got poor advice. That is the worry, rules are plain to see and should not be open to interpretation. If a club plays an illegal player then they should forfeit that game, its simple - cheat or dont cheat. In Tullas case they requested advice through the wrong channel and received incorrect direction. They did not intentionally cheat, hence the reason Olympic agreed to a re-match. Letter of law rules they should forfeit the game - Olympic recognised the genuine error adn Clare league made the ruling. Whats your problem with that?
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Yeah, we should all just accept that rules mean nothing and move on...?

What's your problem old git? That Olympic raised a rule breach? That there has been rule breaches in the past? That you have a problem with this "senior member of CDSL"?

It would say alot more about the CDSL if Olympic didn't bother to do anything about this matter because it MAY have happened before!

FYI Old Git, Olympic could've appealed and demanded the result be awarded to them, Tulla did not dispute playing an illegal player. Olympic chose to settle the matter on the pitch... The very definition of SPORTSMANSHIP...

Quote Originally Posted by Stanley View Post
    Yeah, we should all just accept that rules mean nothing and move on...?

What's your problem old git? That Olympic raised a rule breach? That there has been rule breaches in the past? That you have a problem with this "senior member of CDSL"?

It would say alot more about the CDSL if Olympic didn't bother to do anything about this matter because it MAY have happened before!

FYI Old Git, Olympic could've appealed and demanded the result be awarded to them, Tulla did not dispute playing an illegal player. Olympic chose to settle the matter on the pitch... The very definition of SPORTSMANSHIP...
    no problem with rules if enforced by relevant leagues ... but me always played the game as won on the pitch & not off the pitch if your beaten on it fair and square so be it move on sportsmanship in my eyes .. i 'm also sure a lot of players / club's out there have played against clubs with illegall players and did nothing or sorry did appeall it with league only for nothing to happen .

Thumbs up Sporting Olympic

24th February 2009
    Fair play to Olympic, Very sporting. Seems to be a genuine mistake been handled with common sense.

Fair play Olympic.
    Wonder would Tulla offer Bridge a replay following their lg game earlier in year

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    cop on old git. I personally have never played on a team with an illegal player. Its about the standard a club sets, some clubs dont respect the rules others do. That in itself is a sporting decision - if you cheat or not. I must pont out that Tulla did not cheat they got poor advice. That is the worry, rules are plain to see and should not be open to interpretation. If a club plays an illegal player then they should forfeit that game, its simple - cheat or dont cheat. In Tullas case they requested advice through the wrong channel and received incorrect direction. They did not intentionally cheat, hence the reason Olympic agreed to a re-match. Letter of law rules they should forfeit the game - Olympic recognised the genuine error adn Clare league made the ruling. Whats your problem with that?
    no problem with ruling .. but would have been a bigger show of sportmanship to accept defeat on the pitch... but lets move and best of luck to you in re-arranged game and rest of season

lets agree to disagree - personally I dont think it could or should have been handled any differently by Olympic. Replay should be a cracker. Big motivation on both sides.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Old Git

We should all know at this stage that Old Git has to get a moan off his chest every now and again. Let him have his fun in peace.

He has admitted before that he is appropriately named.

tulla united

alright lads,

anyone here know anything about tulla united u16s? what are they like?

we (castlebar celtic) are playing them on sunday in last 32 of national cup.

Quote Originally Posted by hoop4life View Post
    alright lads,

anyone here know anything about tulla united u16s? what are they like?

we (castlebar celtic) are playing them on sunday in last 32 of national cup.
    Because its the clare league forum i bet we know alot about them..but wouldnt you think they would have a better chance the less you know

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    fair play to olympic great sportsmanship...

as for you old git...what are you on,,can you honestly say that if you were involved in managment or committee of a club..and a team beat ye with an illegal player who might have been involved in the winning goal..that you wouldn't be pi**ed with that team and report it...why should teams get away with breaking rules..if sent off its an automatic 1 game ban..
    ..yes would be pi**ed but commenting as an ex player only hard as it is accept result and try to move on .. as others already mentioned team broke rules with genunine mix-up and bad advice.. i have already mentioned numerous teams get away with breaking rules each year .. can you honestly say you have never played against any team with illegal players over the years .. so why are they getting away with it. hacker do you committes other managers also tell your players not to dive / cheat / break rules during matches and if they do you punish them for this after game

We should all know at this stage that Old Git has to get a moan off his chest every now and again. Let him have his fun in peace.

He has admitted before that he is appropriately named.:
    the nurses have just called to give me my happy pills... hopefully they are extra strong ones :

lets agree to disagree - personally I dont think it could or should have been handled any differently by Olympic. Replay should be a cracker. Big motivation on both sides.
    yes definatly adds a bit of extra spice to replay now ..

Out of curiosity will the player that was illegal be available for the replay or was there a caveat on the agreement for the replay?

Fair Play to Olympic , its good to see that at last common sense has prevailed.

Old Git , I know where you are coming from , I have played in teams where It was known that the opposition had illegal players playing but no one ever seemed to take issue with it. When it was brought to the Clare league it went unnoticed because as you say members of the CDSL were involved in some of these teams. We usually got the answer ye won anyway so what are ye moaning about: . In fairness I think most clubs are trying to toe the line these days not like when we played back when shin guards weren't obligatory.

Maybe the way Olympic and Tulla have handled this will be the catalyst that improves things in the league as it is a clear sign of clubs wanting guidelines that are known by all and are adhered to. This can only improve things in the future.
    I'll update this next year.

From what I hear the illegal player will not be allowed play in the replay.

what??? thats a disgrace......the illegal player not allowed to be played

Quote Originally Posted by doitfortherats View Post
    what??? thats a disgrace......the illegal player not allowed to be played