Page 18 of 25 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast

Thread: Pre-season friendlies..

Michael Collins is a nut job.
    I always like collins as a player - really put drink driver georgie in his place in cork a few years ago. A few ports fans I know said he was past it? I know its only a friendly but did he look like he still had it in him sligoman? If he does, hes some signing for craptown!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    I always like collins as a player - really put drink driver georgie in his place in cork a few years ago. A few ports fans I know said he was past it? I know its only a friendly but did he look like he still had it in him sligoman? If he does, hes some signing for craptown!
    But he hasnt signed for ye, hes signed for us!!

Really hard to know Cosmo as the ref told Connor to take him off after a few minutes. He made a terrible tackle on Sean Doherty and then went over giving out to him on the ground. Would have been sent off if it was a league game and also if it wasn't Paul Deering as ref.

Sounds like the collins I know - admit it, you'd all like a tough nut like him in your team
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Sounds like the collins I know - admit it, you'd all like a tough nut like him in your team
    We have 2 already, Danny Ventre and Chris Butler

dundalk fc's very own version of vinnie jones
    DUNDALK FC BACK WHERE IT TRULY BELONGS IN THE PREMIER DIVISION.....A club with history,traditions,great fans....
    We Are the people's Club

Pats will be playing in Birmingham against their reserves on wednesday

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Wexford Youths 1 - 1 Shamrock Rovers, another good result for the Youths, looking promising for the season ahead.
    Yep, a good game and Rovers probably the best of the 3 teams to visit pre-season. Less substitutions per side for this game, so it had more of a flow. The new faces are great to see. Holden, McGrath, Breen, White. I can't wait to see Sheehan.
    The defence was very settled and Gavin was great up front. He is really strong on the ball. We missed one sitter in the 1st half and their keeper made a great save from close range at the end. Dodgy peno for them, but I would think that

Danny Furlong came on for the last 5 minutes, so it will be great to have him back. I hope it is not too soon after the last setback

Rovers brought some 'interesting' fans with them

69 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    Danny Furlong came on for the last 5 minutes, so it will be great to have him back. I hope it is not too soon after the last setback
    What happened to him?

Quote Originally Posted by DRDoc View Post
    Pats will be playing in Birmingham against their reserves on wednesday
    Think its thursday, they're flying out on Wedneday

why do drogheda fans continue to call us craptown?

9 leagues 9 cups

9-1 to the lilywhites

Quote Originally Posted by Dundalkjames View Post
    why do drogheda fans continue to call us craptown?
    Presumably because having a previously succesful football team doesn't make a town not crap...

122 Posts
    Galway Utd vs Salthill Devon
    Tuesday Feb 24th
    Drom KO: 7.45

Galway Utd vs Mervue Utd
    Friday Feb 27th
    Terryland Park KO: 7.45

Quote Originally Posted by GUFCforlife View Post
    Galway Utd vs Salthill Devon
    Tuesday Feb 24th
    Drom KO: 7.45
    So that's Salthill Devon Vs. Galway then.

137 Posts
    Could say the same about the Mervue game.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    What happened to him?
    If you aren't familiar with Danny, he is the lad who scored 4 goals in the U18 cup final (against Dundalk) and our only goal in the League Cup final. Grand player but, by the end of last season, he had played 3 years solid football without a break and developed shin splints. I was told it had flared up again in pre-season trainng and last night's 5 minutes is all he has done so far

69 Posts
    I'm very familiar with him, that's why I asked nice dig though

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    I'm very familiar with him, that's why I asked nice dig though
    T'wasn't meant to be a dig, I didn't know if you were familiar with the U18 setup.
    Anyway, you should see what tricks he can do with a ball on our astro pitches. He is better on them than on a real pitch. He might suit Dundalk (now that's a dig)

Letterkenny 0 - 4 Shels

McAllister penalty, Madden hattrick.
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

its not confirmed yet on the town website but I heard up in Derry that we are playing local roscommon and district league team shiven rovers away on tuesday nite...

Page 18 of 25 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast