Page 35 of 65 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

aoh cup 3rd round

blarney st 3- buttevant 1

one nil down after 2 mins again but back on level terms after 10 we were never really in any trouble in this one.. went in at half time 3-1 up and really could have racked up 7 or 8 second half but for some bad finishing and over doing it.. very comfortable throughout with jp thompson grabbing 2 and gary coughlan the other.. colin hourihan just signed from blackstone came on second half for his debut and settled in well while our other new signing derek o connor was class throughout and could prove a huge asset to us i think.. eoin cremin was back amongst the subs as was stevey walsh so the squad starting to take a bit of shape at last..looking forward to welcoming coachford to fairfield next sat in the league.. should be a good game with a big 3 points up for grabs.. jungle jim was spotted up in the stands in the fairfield yesyerday taking notes so no doubt they will be up for it too..
    as for marko sullivan zohan i think its true that he has gone back to marys but on the other hand harry goulding was a watching our match yesterday so he is definetley back.. i know which one i would rather half in my team anyday..

71 Posts

Michaels Cup

We were haunted to get over Bosco's yesterday. 2 down with 4 minutes to go, we won 4-2 aet. Poor performance, but quarter finals now is all that counts.

Streetscene, Colin Hourigan is a good player who never really fulfilled his potential with us. A 4 game ban lasted a long time over the winter months and spoiled his season a bit. The new manager this season brought a centre half with him, and our other centre half is an AUL panellist, so his chances were limited. I hope it works out for him.

What do ye know of Villa player Ken Lee?
    Jason Forde is playing very well for us.

Whats the latest on Ballyphehane?

for you Horse

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Streetscene, Colin Hourigan is a good player who never really fulfilled his potential with us. A 4 game ban lasted a long time over the winter months and spoiled his season a bit. The new manager this season brought a centre half with him, and our other centre half is an AUL panellist, so his chances were limited. I hope it works out for him.

What do ye know of Villa player Ken Lee?
    Jason Forde is playing very well for us.

Whats the latest on Ballyphehane?
    From what I seen of Hourigan against Buttervant and from before with yerselves he is just what Blarney St need a tough hard no holding back kind of player. At times The street seem to be too kind and can be bossed around. said at the start they needed an above and a goalscorer, I believe they have got both{ Derek O Conner been the goalscorer]. Nice make up to the squad and who knows maybe another 1 or 2???

On Ken he was out training with Blarney St after Villa folded and seemed to have the right attitude, was talkin to him over Christmas and he said he enjoyed his time with yer manager before so said why not wich is fair enough, Jason is avery good player on his day if it aint going right for him after 10 mins you might as well take him off.

latest on Ballyphehane rumour has it the AUL have giving them a few weeks grace to sort themselves out and i can tell you it aint gone down to well with the old Villa crew asthe asked the AUL for a week or 2 and were told no way!!!
    "Build it and they will come"

The future looks bright for The Street..

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    .. jungle jim was spotted up in the stands in the fairfield yesyerday taking notes so no doubt they will be up for it too..
    I've been taking notes far longer than last weekend on your club streetscene and without doubt ye are heading in the right direction. I watched ye coast through the Prem. A last season and unfortunately came up against an exceptional team in Wilton for the top prize but im sure being in the Premier is what ye would have accepted if offered before the season began.
    Must compliment the groundsman in the fairfield. He must have been working overtime over Christmas
    I felt ye needed a new striker and your after sorting that problem out. As said before if the GAA dont come calling he'll be a big asset for the rest of the season.
    After beating Kinsale twice this year I may be after convincing Streetwise to lump on a small sum for ye to capture the AOH. With yet another home tie against lesser opposition I think ye will be looking at the last 16 and thinking Why Not ?

Thats enough Compliments for one night.

So hopefully we'll take the 3pts next Sat. and leave you pondering for another week.

hi lads, can anyone elaborate on the transfer situation this year? like how many teams can you sign for in any given time and during the window etc....

ah still a long way to go in all comps, still in the MJC AOH and plenty of games still left in the league, didnt hear anything about the Mossie so????

Lookin foward to the game Sat as it is felt The Street left it behind them down Junglegyms way at the start of the season.

On Derek and the GAA - With the way the GAA season is organised in Cork he should be available every week{Snr & Intermedaite leagues played mostly on Sun at 2} Hopefully Vincents win 1st rnd and with Cork still involved there dont be many games played until Sept/Oct-

Any tranfer rumours down Coachford, Kinsale,Leeside,Park????

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01 View Post
    hi lads, can anyone elaborate on the transfer situation this year? like how many teams can you sign for in any given time and during the window etc....
    You can play for two teams in a season I believe. Im not sure how many you can sign for or even if it matters

41 Posts

Norrie News

Happy new year lads an I for one am delighted to have the 2nd half of the season to look forward too for makin up what we managed to do to ourselves in the first half.I'll start by confirmin that Cans has gone back to Marys.Best of luck to him.I't was no great surprise after the defeat to Glenvale.

On the Mossie I was told today that it will be run off shortly(as in the next 2 or 3 weeks)an be in the same format as last years.

With regards to the transfer thing,it depends on who you ask.To say its a grey area is an understatement.The Aul say you can only sign for 2 clubs,an register for 3 ????.The MFA said you can play for 2 an register for 3,an you can actually resign for the first club you were with due to a loop hole because technically they are one of the 2 clubs you played with(an example is Cans ,signed for Marys,transfered to us an returned to them).The Fai junior secretary told me that technically the rule only applies to the pro game an they hope to implent a rule specifally for junior/senior football next season an there fore each league is to adhear as close as posible to the ruling in the junior hand book.The plot thickened when I spoke to the FAI representitive for Munster,he said 100% that you were allowed to transfer twice in one season.My best advice if you are interested in leavin or joinin a club is to wing it.

Casilles, look man if I got a call in the mornin from Mick O'Brien or Gerry Smith an they wanted to know who were the players I'd say were good enough for selection I'd stick exactly with what I said,those said players ,plus Macarthy an Varian.There's nothin else in the Aul as much as I hate to say it..As for us a few bad results do not make a bad players an thankfully we are lucky to be in the position where our fate is in our own hands with respect to the league an Mossie.

With regards to the Villa lads who came on board they are a treat to have,they havent missed a training session yet .There attitude is top notch. Keith was thrown in at the deep end at center half an Jonny had to come on when we were chasin the game so it might not have been the best of games to have a look at them but I am confident that they will be excellent players for us.

As for Ballypheane,today I was told that they might not even have enough players left registered at the club to field a side,Blarney/Casement an Everton all MSL seem to be the lucky encumbents of those players.Its a caSe of when an not if I'm afriad.

Lastly Dillon X 2 Westport 3,the stuff dreams are made off
    Tizz Bog excellent result.

Nearly forgot,our game away to Wilton has been changed to Sunday morning,ko at 10:45 in the Farm
    Last edited by littleman; 06/01/2009 at 2:42 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Yeah I forgot to post yesterday. I agree Wee guy, well done Kinsale, a trip to Sligo just after Christmas is a tough one well done, and fair play Dillons X... To go that close against one of the favourites for the FAI Junior is a great achievement, anyone with a report on either game???
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

thanks for the info littleman, i think i've mad a boo boo by leaving my last team to sign for a new one and want out!

41 Posts

Hindsight

At least Yoda you have the chance to make good your mistake.A lot of lads wouldnt have the guts to admit movin was a mistake.Best of luck goin back an any info ya need if it gets a bit awkward dont hesitate to ask.

the wheels on the bus are bate

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Yeah I forgot to post yesterday. I agree Wee guy, well done Kinsale, a trip to Sligo just after Christmas is a tough one well done, and fair play Dillons X... To go that close against one of the favourites for the FAI Junior is a great achievement, anyone with a report on either game???

we travelled up on saturday, 6 hours journey, got in just before torres stuck that screamer !! quiet night in the sligo park hotel with the darts and MOTD, early start had by all so a few dazed heads, morning turned out to be great, not a puff of wind and the pitch was great for us although a little bit bumpy, we got off to a flier, scully with 2 goals within 20 minutes and we looked very comfortable, eased off a little and the controversy came after 38 mins, bad flying tackle by their outside right on micky brad left studs showing and ref didnt think it worthy of a free (home town ref and linos but we expected it, he booked half of our lads and i think he only booked one of theirs- and they gave as good as they got), anyway micky gave yer man a shoulder after the challenge, he goes down in a lump, none of the officials see it but the lino on the far side reckons he did and brad gets sent, after that we played within ourselves to protect the lead, some savage running by all players and w could've sneaked a few more if varian had his shooting boots on, very happy to come away and go into the hat for the next round, thanks to the strand club for a decent hard game and for the soup after, it was much appreciated, long spin home but sang a few seafarer melodies and some rum helped the journey pass ok, wives n girlfriends delighted to get their boys back in one piece

all in all we're delighted with the game and a home draw in the next round gives us a chance at the end of the month, back to bidness at the w/e, out to the farm to teach the students some lessons, things going ok at the seaside but nobody getting too excited yet

thanks for the well wishes lads. we'll try to keep the rebel flag flying for another while

tizz out

41 Posts

Backwards or forwards

Sorry for goin slightly off the track here lads but I have a question.

Has anyone played in a game this season where they had no dressing room facilites to tog off in.All jokes aside,straight up,toggin off on the side of the road /in cars ect,is it still goin on.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post

Has anyone played in a game this season where they had no dressing room facilites to tog off in.All jokes aside,straight up,toggin off on the side of the road /in cars ect,is it still goin on.
    Not yet this season - touch wood - i do know there are a few sides who offer facilities near (use the word near loosely !!) to thier pitch - in this case I'd rather tog out in a car. For example throughout the years playing against Central Rovers I've never availed of their offer of dressing rooms - where are their dressing rooms???

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    we travelled up on saturday, 6 hours journey, got in just before torres stuck that screamer !! quiet night in the sligo park hotel with the darts and MOTD, early start had by all so a few dazed heads, morning turned out to be great, not a puff of wind and the pitch was great for us although a little bit bumpy, we got off to a flier, scully with 2 goals within 20 minutes and we looked very comfortable, eased off a little and the controversy came after 38 mins, bad flying tackle by their outside right on micky brad left studs showing and ref didnt think it worthy of a free (home town ref and linos but we expected it, he booked half of our lads and i think he only booked one of theirs- and they gave as good as they got), anyway micky gave yer man a shoulder after the challenge, he goes down in a lump, none of the officials see it but the lino on the far side reckons he did and brad gets sent, after that we played within ourselves to protect the lead, some savage running by all players and w could've sneaked a few more if varian had his shooting boots on, very happy to come away and go into the hat for the next round, thanks to the strand club for a decent hard game and for the soup after, it was much appreciated, long spin home but sang a few seafarer melodies and some rum helped the journey pass ok, wives n girlfriends delighted to get their boys back in one piece

all in all we're delighted with the game and a home draw in the next round gives us a chance at the end of the month, back to bidness at the w/e, out to the farm to teach the students some lessons, things going ok at the seaside but nobody getting too excited yet

thanks for the well wishes lads. we'll try to keep the rebel flag flying for another while

tizz out

was just wondering was richie holland playing in sligo, last time i watche kinsale he was on the bench and didnt look too happy? any news there?

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Not yet this season - touch wood - i do know there are a few sides who offer facilities near (use the word near loosely !!) to thier pitch - in this case I'd rather tog out in a car. For example throughout the years playing against Central Rovers I've never availed of their offer of dressing rooms - where are their dressing rooms???
    Similar with De Courcy Albion...
    That said Innishvilla have used Eli Lilly's pitches at various times in their history...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post

funny you should mention this littleman, this is a fraction of the reason i regretted my transfer, played a cup game last sunday and had to change at the side of the pitch (and a terrible pitch it was aswell, hasn't ever been rolled i'd say) i left a senior club for this?!?!?!?!?!? was i mad or what?

Quote Originally Posted by casilles View Post

Any tranfer rumours down Coachford, Kinsale,Leeside,Park????
    Was talking to some of the ex-villa lads and was told Conor Murray is gone to Leeside. He's living down that direction I think. I know when they folded he was thinking of going to Blarney Street as he is friendly with the ex Villa lads there from a few years back.

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Was talking to some of the ex-villa lads and was told Conor Murray is gone to Leeside. He's living down that direction I think. I know when they folded he was thinking of going to Blarney Street as he is friendly with the ex Villa lads there from a few years back.
    was talking to John Betts and he confirmed it for me. tough strong player Conor "gonks" Murray is.

Littleman on the the signing of Shawzer and Johnny Mc, 2 hard working ,honest ,good footballers and if villa had a few more like them they would have been challenging.

On the subject of the call ups to the irish team , how can you say on pure form to the mentioned players when ye have been quite clearly stuggling? not a dig just a fact?

A few games this weekend to look forward too

Page 35 of 65 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast