Page 25 of 65 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Heard Blackstone signed a few Villa lads, although they probably wont be able to play in this cup.
    Fancy Blarney Street to take something off Kinsale, I know the Fairfield isnt Kinsales favourite place in the world to play.
    ya blackstone have signed couple of villa players alright but like i said on a previous post only time will tell who they actually end up with.i think the majority of villa players would have ended up in castleview.. to tell the truth we are talking with 3 now and we will wait and see..think its important when signing players like that they are actually better than what you have.. its not just down to ability,attitude is an important factor too
    hoping to give kinsale a run for their money on sat... think they might be up for this one though as last time we met we knocked them out of mjc.we are due a change of luck in league so hopefully saturday can kick start things.going to go along with everyone elses predictions except i see most are going with kinsale against us.fair enough i suppose on current form.my choice for an upset is dillons cross to catch glenthorn. just has suprise wrote all over it

41 Posts

surprise or shock

Street your comments with regards to replacin good with better would normally ring through with me but with regards to what ye have me I'd leave well alone.What ye have for the most part are good players albeit a little light up front but all round good players.

Yer just lackin a little luck with the results.I't will come for ye I have no doubt but for me yer best quality is that ye have a good bunch of lads.They get on well together an have a good team ethic.Work hard an give yer all.You have to consider that maybe by bringin in outside lads are you goin to benifit in the long run.

Trust me all it takes is one bad apple to start things goin rotten an before you know it your Villa.I know a lot of the Villa lads an they are again for the most part good players an good lads but Villa folded for a few reasons that are all to well known,commitment bein one an ye should look at that in terms of who ye approach.As I have said ye have a good bunch an they work hard cant ask for more than that.

Trust me what would you prefer a team who are successful but couldnt give a care about the club or a team that are not just good players but good clubmen.Gettin players to want to play for the club is the most successful thing a club can ever achive .

With regards to Dillons beatin Glenthorn.I live up next to there pitch an me an my son watch either them or Village most weekends an I would be astounded if they beat Glenthorn.Glenthorn have suffered more than most at the hands of the Gratts over the last 3 or 4 seasons but they are improvin all the time.The last 3 meetings between us they have won twice,I cant say that about anyone else in the Aul,or anyother league.Nipper has a good bunch if a bit highly strung.Dillons will huff an puff alright an I'd expect a red card at somestage but Glenthorn will have just to much for them.

With regards to ye an Kinsale,ye have to break yer duck at some stage an ye have done um already so why not.
    Last edited by littleman; 14/11/2008 at 4:51 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

41 Posts

food for thought

Saturday 15th November Kick Off 2-30 pm.
    FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
    Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,pardon me for reserving judgement but I'll leave this one alone as I'v been wrong the last 3 times.

Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath St.........Glenthorn by at least 2

Kanturk v Coachford...................Kanturk
    Park Utd “B” v Greenwood “A” ,,,,,,,,Parkboy again

Premier League:
    Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd Pfizer’s Pk (J. Lyne)........draw
    Blarney St Ath v Kinsale Fairfield (P. Murphy).......draw
    Premier A League:
    Rathcoole Rovers v Springfield..........Bella to win,,,,if ye can find it

Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath.........call me mental but I fancy Donoughmore
    Douglas Hall v Leeside...............Doughlas Hall
    Innishvilla v Leeds “A” ............Innish Leeds are a tough outfit,home win just

Glenthorn Cel “B” v Killumney Utd ,,,,,,,,,,,sorry olli but Mick O'Sheas lads could nick this one
    CFC Banteer v Grattan Utd “B”,,,,,,,,,,,this one aint goin ahead lads,sorry

Streetwise

Foot.ie!

littleman i could nt agree more with you about signing the right type of player.as it only takes one to upset years of hard work.thankfully our management team have been very successful with this in recent years.
    gone are the days when players were signed on hear say or even in the local.hopefully our luck or whatever it is will change this weekend our lads
    are training as hard as i have ever seen them.about our forwards been a bit light two of them finished in the top six of the golden boot last year
    so its a case of when not if the goals will come.heres to a weather free weekend best of luck to all teams

littleman you are spot on.. dont know if i came across wrong in last post but thats what i meant in terms of having right attitude..our strenght lies in what we already have so anyone coming in will be of the same mould... we have said no to some really good players in last few years cause we didnt think they would fit in..
    as for the glenthorn result i just feel that things have been going too smoothly all along and they are due to slip up.. dont know a thing about dillons so just being a bit adventorous..has to be a shock somewhere

I've been critical of the aul in the past but if they did bend the rules on this occasion and allowed the former Villa players sign for different clubs it would be the right move. I know rules are rules but it's not nice if you're a player and the club folds through no fault of your own and all you wanna do is play!!

Tough game for us tomorrow... we'll be up for it alright but Fairfield hasn't been kind to us in the recent past. Hopefully put that right tomorrow...elsewhere I don't see too many surprises.

Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd -> Grattan

Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath St -> Glenthorn
    Kanturk v Coachford -> Coachford

Premier League:
    Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd Pfizer’s Pk -> Ballyphehane
    Blarney St Ath v Kinsale Fairfield -> Kinsale

Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath ->Wilton

Innishvilla v Leeds “A” -> Innishvilla

Any predictions

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
    Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd - Grattan

Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 1st Round:
    Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath - Glenthorn

Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 2nd Round:
    Kanturk v Coachford - same as littleman, don't want to jinx it
    Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath -Wilton Utd “A
    Douglas Hall v Leeside -Leeside
    Greenwood “B” v Blackstone Rovers - Blackstone Rovers

Premier League:
    Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd - Draw
    Blarney St Ath v Kinsale - Draw
    Premier A League:
    Macroom v Castleview - Macroom
    Rathcoole Rovers v Knockavilla - Knockavilla

We won 3-1 today absolute brutal reffing, they got two penos two definite pens like, but had to be two defintie straight reds na a yellow, and nothing thank god. Our keep saved the two. Then we had a player sent off for nothing short of handbags, and the way he spoke to our players was terrible too, telling everybody to shut up, and when booking players, saying, theres a nother fiver for us bud!! Pain in the hole if ya ask me. Anyway another long journey down and 3 points to take home, so alls well in camp. Thats 7 league games now all away, cup next week away again!!
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

blarney street 3- kinsale 2

at long last we have our first league win this season and a great performance to boot.. i have said in earlier posts that the last time we beat kinsale in mjc we rode our luck a bit.. but there was nothin lucky about yesterdays game.. just sheer hard work and attitude and some fabolous individual performances..anthony peelo didnt give varian a sniff and gave a flawless performance.jp thompson ran the show in the middle and capped his performance with a free kick that you wont see better all season..credit too to kinsale they never gave up and when they brought it back to 3-2 we had to hang on a bit. macarthy was very impressive again and himself and john betts had a fabolous battle all day.overall tho we are delighted with the performance.i dont think the kinsale lads would have too much arguement here the better team on the day won.
    some very dubious refereeing here as well by someone who i would consider one of the better referees in the league.. not wanting to knock them constantly and we all agree anyone can make a mistake but its the attitude that gets me.. why cant they just talk to you like an adult instead of being so ignorant and condescending.. i know its a thankless job and i do respect them for what they do but it can be very frustrating.. bella i hear ya man!.. another great result for ye. never an easy place to get a result down there... grattan also won as expected and should have got a lot more goals by all accounts.. and glenthorn scuppered my prediction of a cup upset by beating dillons cross....
    also not wanting to be the bearer of bad news but lot of talk around of ballyphehane being in serious trouble... any body know anything on this

Blarney Street

Had a big fancy for Blarney street this weekend, I just knew Kinsale did not fancy another trip to norrieland and it was only going to be a matter of time before Blarney Street got a change of luck. Delighted for them to be honest

Streetscene, was at the Glenthorn game on Saturday and to be honest Dillons Cross were very very unlucky not to take somthing from that game. They missed a penalty when they were one down. Glenthorn were extremely relived to have won this and from talking to one them their manager more or less admitted the better team lost.

So your prediction was not as bad as people thought

Strangely enough I saw the start and end of the Glenthorn V Dillons Cross game on Saturday - missed all the middle when all the interesting stuff happened. All I can say is there was a lot of familiar faces on the subsitutes bench so the 2-0 win was achieved with a much weaker side than normal. Dont know if these were being rested or what. One of the regular centre forwards was also out injured. (Cast on his hand) The full depth of the squad was used in this case! Also when did the previous transfer window close - I have a question mark over one of the Dillons Cross players - I know he was playing with Village in October!!!
    Last edited by olachico; 17/11/2008 at 11:47 AM.

He's back.... he's crippled...

Made my season debut yesterday for a villa side short about 10 midfielders due to work/injury and a couple of other more dodgy excuses. No training this year for me a bit of squash every now and then. Central midfield for 90 plus 2 halves of extra time...
    Extremely enjoyable game we should have taken it in normal time... Leeds are a handy side who like to play, which suits us as we normally like to play the ball a bit so it made for an open enjoyable game...
    But am I regretting it now.
    There is not a muscle in my body that doesn't hurt. Why did I do this to myself!!!

Corinthians Cup for the Innishvilla lads now...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

Norrie news

Well before I share my thoughts on our game against Carrigaline(MSL) I would just like to sya congrats to Blarney street for breakin there duck.From all the reports very richly deserved.

Now back to the Gratts.We have lost the last 3 games before this one and with regards tp this particular bunch of players over the last 4 seasons they never lost 2 consecitive games so losin 3 on the trot did have us a bit worried if Im to be totally honest.We had a decision to make the morning of the game with regards where to play,in our own place which wasnt great or use Mayfields all weather.We decided to play at home an take our chances an it worked.We were really up for it an Figo scored a superb opener after only 3 or 4 mins.Class goal.

The pitch by our on standards was really really poor.I understand that some say it aint great anyway but in our own defence when it is cut an rolled(which it wasnt) it is a very nice place to play ball.We played with plenty of confidence in attack but because of the surface our defence had some nervous moments.Carrig never really threatened as long as we didnt mess around with the ball or lost our concentration,but when we did either of the above an it happenend twice in the 1st half we were very luck Lofty was in bang on form.We hit the upright twice an realisticly should have killed the game off but we didnt an Carrig could have drawn level an we would hav had knowone but ourselves to blame.It really is pointless havin so much posession an chances an not put the roundy thing in the net.1 nil at half time an the amanagement red the riot act to them an the 2nd was bascially a one way affair.We again missed unbelivable chances had to clear one of Carrigs few 2nd half attacks off our line before we got the killer 2nd goal.Figo again the provider for sub Alan O'Brien to head home.

All in all we have to be happy considerin the past few games.Agains Buttervant,Glenthorn an Newmarket Celtic we had enough chances to win all 3 of those games an we ended up with nothin.Its great watchin us attack after attack bombardin the opposition gaol,that is until the opposition score against us.I hope that the win this weekend will just prove as a reminder to the lads that cups an leagues can only be won by puttin your chances away an winning games.As a team we played very well an again the subs that were used hurt the opposition an that for me is a great bonus.All told 17 togged off an another 4 were unavailable so we have the strenght n dept an our self belife should be back to normal after a very good win.

Figo was untouchable on the day.Paul Lynch put in a terrific 80 mins an David Byrne bossed midfield start to finish.In fairness the startin 11 played really well an put in a second half performance that was more like the way people are used to seein them play.I dont see Carrig havin any grumbles with the loss.They got on the wrong side of the ref from the get go an roared at him through out the game.An to be fair the 2 goals were top class efforts .All in all a good win an Ballyvolane at home for the Gratts next week.

Norrie News
    If you were to belive what you hear Ballypheane could be the next to go an if they do the Aul should get the remaining 8 premier sides in an have a good look at how they are bein run.Squads an commitee ect ect.How in the name of God can sides let themselves get in this position.Finally Olli,maybe the individual you saw was actually signed for Dillons an played under a different name for the Village

No if he did happen to be illegal it would be the other way round - Not that i'm saying he was illegal . Definitely a signed Village player on the 4th of October 2008 . And played for them all last season. Perhaps he transferred before the deadline. I didnt see the Dillons Cross card but was surprised to see the individual in question playing. He was being called by his right name so its unlikely that he was illegal

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    No if he did happen to be illegal it would be the other way round - Not that i'm saying he was illegal . Definitely a signed Village player on the 4th of October 2008 . And played for them all last season. Perhaps he transferred before the deadline. I didnt see the Dillons Cross card but was surprised to see the individual in question playing. He was being called by his right name so its unlikely that he was illegal

He was illegal, that is definite. He will officially join Dillons Cross in Dec when the transfer window opens

So you know who I was talking about so Pacman - if he indeed was illegal as you say then Dillons Cross are playing a dangerous game. I told the Glenthorn chairman after the game that I though he might be. You might get away with that lower down. We all know it happens (doesnt make it right) but to try it in a cup match involving Premier and Premier A clubs is dodgy in my eyes. I once remember Littleman posting in these forums saying you wouldnt know what team you'd play against when you went to Shanbally well the same can also be said for some other clubs. I mean if you are going to try that one at least try it against a club a bit further from home

good news for the norrries

Well congrads to Blarney St on awell earned victory. was up at the game small crowd for a change up there but the loyal support was there from the biker crew as usual{a good few revs and a quick spin around the pitch for each goal} As said already a well deserved victory, the street had honestly 4 or 5 great chances in the 1st half alone Kinsale keeper made a few good saves. Kinsale had 2 , scored from a lack clearance the other tipped over the bar by the BSA keeper. 1-1 half time. The street always look to play the wings and scored twice from it. the other was a peach of a free kick from JP Thompson who was not only great on the ball but won his fair share of TACKLES & HEADERS!!! Pello aws outstandin on Varian didnt give him a sniff but was helped up by the double with there Dub who came back at all times to help out. at 3-2 Kinsale really took the game to the street but the Blarney St team from 1 to 14{subs done a good job on commin on} defended well and could of got another1 or 2 on the break.

Talked to a few grattan players over the weekend and heard it could realisticly been over at half time. well done to them and i see them kickin on from here now.
    bit off the forum here but lookin foward to Rockmount vs St Marys on Sunday out the cross Sunday
    "Build it and they will come"

transfer window

does anyone know exactly when the transfer window opens and you are elegible to play for a new club??

Quote Originally Posted by zohan View Post
    does anyone know exactly when the transfer window opens and you are elegible to play for a new club??
    December the 1st until 31st of January.

23 player rule

I am involved the MSL and the most players a team can have signed at any time is 23. The only way to get a player off the books is by transfer, emigration or long term injury. Even if a player fails to turn up for the rest of the season he can not be scratched off. This can put strain on clubs looking to sign players in december. I was wondering does this same rule apply to AUL?

Page 25 of 65 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast