Page 28 of 65 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Strand Celtic?! Sounds as if it's near a beach!! Could be like a home from home!

Not getting ahead of myself though. We'll be doing well to reach the next round by overcoming coachford this weekend.. always been tight affairs between us, as it is when most teams play coachford. Amazes me why they never make a fist of a title challenge. Well capable of mixing it with the best. Not going to make any predictions, hopefully our hard work on the training pitch will be rewarded with a victory.

Littleman the Gratts going thru a sticky patch. It's always tough to take. When ye came along and knocked us off our perch we of course didn't like it one bit. It's a killer being knocked out of the big cups, but ye're free to concentrate on domestic matters which could spell trouble for the rest of us. I agree with you however when you say it will come. I have seen enough of ye over the past number of years to think it's going to come good as well. The Blarney st lads are gettin a bit smug for my liking

41 Posts

True Colours

Its nice to see that our colour change has drawn so much attention.From a historical point of view our origanial colours were red an black,just to clear things up.The blue an white came about later on in the clubs history.Most teams would just look for blue an white hoops when they go lookin for the Gratts.Nowadays sets of gear are handed out left right an center an sometimes you have to accept them rather than turn away much needed sponsorship.

For me I couldnt care if it was pink an yellow with purple pokadots,its the result and the performance that counts when your wearin it .

Lookin forward to Saturday as well because we get on really well with the St lads an some of them are ex Gratts an we go back a long way.I know its goin to be different for some of them toggin off in the away dressin room after spendin so many years in the other one but we wont expect ant favours,nor give um.Win loose or draw its back to the Anglers.Slaggin aside we couldnt care who we play Saturday because its 3 points up for grabs an we have a league title to defend an more importantly try to win again.I'd agree with Bog on his point about us havin at least the league an Aul cups to concentrate on an I know the management an team to be lookin at this rather than to be lookin for gloatin rights.

Again for me the St lads have a small bit of a right to bang there drum at the minute.They have turned there ship around in all fairness an deserve the credit.We will have to get back to basics an put in a performance more accustomed to what people expext out of us if we are to get a result.A Northside derby could be what we just need.
    Last edited by littleman; 26/11/2008 at 7:21 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post
    The Blarney st lads are gettin a bit smug for my liking
    bit harsh id say, if i recall the street were be lambasted from pillar to post for havin 4 players on the Cork Aul panel and i dont recall ever gloatin about any wins neither.
    lookin foward to the game at the weekend hopefully a cracker but would settle for a 1-0 win to the street and a crap game!! as littleman says its still only 3 points but i heard anice comment during the week from a current aul player to a Street player" ye beatin Kinsale and hopefully beatin grattan does us a big favour" gave me the impression that the street are looked as the hangers on of the league
    "Build it and they will come"

41 Posts

take from it what you will

To be honest at the time the St lads were called into the Aul squad you couldnt blame anyone for bein sceptical in Mintys decision.Now is a different story.The St lads as I have always said are a good bunch an well grounded by those in charge.Results are all that count an they along with Wilton seem to be form sides goin into this weekends fixtures.Withregards to whomever passed the comment about the St beatin Kinsale an maybe even doin us hes kiddin himself if he thinks one loss with 12 games to go more or less will have any effect on the eventual league winners,whom ever they will be.

Last season an the season before we lost only one game in each season,drawing 3 an winning 14.No one is goin to come near that this season,why there seems to be a bit more competition between all the clubs this season which is a good thing.
    Last edited by littleman; 27/11/2008 at 12:59 AM.

the gratts going thru a slump is a storm in a tea cup lads..you dont win two premier leagus on the bounce without having character and bottle and im sure they will show this soon.. just not this sat i hope.. seriously our boys are up for it as gratten would only expect and im looking forward to using this as a yardstick not only for us as a team but as a club as well.. having won our last few games we are on a nice run at the moment and we will be confident of putting it up to them...but we are all well aware of a gratten backlash coming soon so we will be well prepared.. should be cracking game and will be well discussed by both sides back in the anglers as is proper
    glad to see we have upset a few people down kinsale way...we must be doing something right so... as for strand utd bog i think ye should have too much for them..think they are out inniscarra way.. played them few years back and they were poor enough to be fair... on subject of fai anyone know anything about clonakilty.. interesting debate about being out of fai and munster early.. does enable you to concentrate more on local cups and league so there is for and against it.. still for a club like ours there is great incentive to go and get past clonakilty and then welcome a club like regional to fair field...six of one....................
    surely some one has the draw for munster junior cup that they could post.. i know we have wilton away but would like to see other ties...
    by the way bog just got a text of the chairman of strand.. they were wondering if they could use the fairfield for game against ye...hows that for smug...... i told him wait to see how ye get on against coachford first

ok bog warrior before you crucify me i just realised its strand celtic and not utd as i said.... know nothing about them.. sorry

41 Posts

Words of wisdom

I have always said one of the best things about this thread with regards to others is that we try not to let the converstation break down into knockin each other in a bad way.

I'd like to think that with all the new members we have that will stay the same.Behind all the cover names we use to hide ourselves I for one have a fair idea of who exactly I conversing with an vice versa no doubt.Wouldnt it be great to throw comments left right an center at whom ever you want because you were guarrenteed a win week in week out,not for me as we would be as bad as the Limerick lads then.So its best to take any dodgy comments an take a deep breath before replyin.

I'v been on here longer than most an learned a few harsh lessons about makin a comment that can come back a haunt ya.Plenty of time left inthe season to win the league or even be relegated,t'is worth rememberin before the knee jerk reaction comment puts ya in the smelly stuff

To whom are you referring littleman

Ha ha lads! That comment about smug Blarney st was only tongue in cheek. Trying to stir up a bit of banter north of the river! Alas littleman didn't take the bate. This nicey nice thing can only entertain for a certain amount of time!! We have to create our own entertainment!

No stir down in Kinsale lads. We'll welcome ye boys back with open arms in the return league fixture. Open arms is a stretch but you know what i mean!

Now to predictions for the weekend....

[SIZE=3]Grattan Utd v Blarney St Ath O’Neill Pk (T. Murphy) Grattan for me[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3]Kinsale v Ballyphehane Cel Fort Hill (J. Linehan) -> Thought it was coachford!! Wasnt training monday![/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3]Park Utd v Wilton Utd Brigowen Pk (P. Murphy)[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3]Draw[/SIZE]

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I have always said one of the best things about this thread with regards to others is that we try not to let the converstation break down into knockin each other in a bad way.

I'd like to think that with all the new members we have that will stay the same.Behind all the cover names we use to hide ourselves I for one have a fair idea of who exactly I conversing with an vice versa no doubt.Wouldnt it be great to throw comments left right an center at whom ever you want because you were guarrenteed a win week in week out,not for me as we would be as bad as the Limerick lads then.So its best to take any dodgy comments an take a deep breath before replyin.

I'v been on here longer than most an learned a few harsh lessons about makin a comment that can come back a haunt ya.Plenty of time left inthe season to win the league or even be relegated,t'is worth rememberin before the knee jerk reaction comment puts ya in the smelly stuff
    can i put myself out there for a knee jerk reaction comment to put myself in the smelly stuff and say that grattan won't win the league this year! in my opinion there is too much going on up there and all is not well. this is not a dig at you littleman or intended to get a reaction from you. you express your opinion and i'm expressing mine.

some tough aways draws in the F.A.I. for the aul sides alright this year, but you have to beat them all if your going to win it so it's irrelevant where you play.

looking forward to the northside derby this saturday and we will see the crudentials of the street. here's hoping for a good game and dry weather.

Junior Cup Draws as Requested

"surely some one has the draw for munster junior cup that they could post"

The Referees website has the full draw for both Munster & FAI Junior Cup on the AUL Fixtures Page on www.isrscork.com

tongue in cheek..

lads and in particular bog my comments were only a bit of banter.. i think you know that..we have incredible respect for all other clubs but in particular those that have been succesful ...thats not nicey nicey thats respect...there is a difference.... all you will ever get here is a bit of banter and slagging..

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by Jwal View Post
    "surely some one has the draw for munster junior cup that they could post"

The Referees website has the full draw for both Munster & FAI Junior Cup on the AUL Fixtures Page on www.isrscork.com

Are you sure about that - I couldnt find them there!!!!

Streetwise
    should be a good game against the gratts this weekend all black gear hope we don t see some kind of haka saturday. seriously there is more at stake than bragging rights here this will be the streets first league encounter with grattan in our history so we hope to make a success full debut there.there will be a lot of attacking players on show so it makes for a good open game.tough draws in the f a i cup all round but thats all you can expect at this stage of things. don t know a whole lot about clonakilty are they a west cork premier team.hopefully will have everyone for saturday one or two injuries but nothing too serious.just on been smug and all that bogwarrior turn the paper the other way when you are looking at the league table its wilton and yourselfs that can afford to be smug

Respect this, i love you that.... blah blah blah!! I do grow tired of this tip toeing around other people in case they throw a wobbler!! Fair play yoda, you think Grattan wont win the league and said it. Grand job. Leave littleman think about it for a while and come back with a reply. Simple!

Now if ye could draw with oneanother at the weekend that would be great.

Well

Grattan Utd v Blarney St Ath O’Neill Pk....Tough 1 Have to go with my heart Street to win
    Kinsale v Ballyphehane Cel Fort Hill.... Kinsale
    Park Utd v Wilton Utd Brigowen Pk ....... Wilton
    Coachford v Leeside The Glebe...... Draw

Knockavilla v Village Utd Knockavilla..... Knockavilla

Innishvilla v Richmond Skevanish... Inishvilla

some very tough games this weekend glenthorn no game this weekend so ,y guess is the will be up O'Neill park
    "Build it and they will come"

Haha - so are we all going to get nasty on here now?? I'm off to watch my old club Hibs hopefully get hammered by Mayfield tomorrow !! Just wanted to say that !!!

Mayfield 5 -0 Hibs

I wasn't disappointed!!

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Mayfield 5 -0 Hibs

I wasn't disappointed!!
    your not bitter by any chance olachio?????

41 Posts

Unhappy We might as well just pack our bags an go

Cheers Bog,we arent goin to win the league now so I'll tell the lads to take it easy in our next league match.Pointless us even tryin to win the league now that ye have it sown up.Wilton went to all that trouble to win those games an poor Glenthorn did so well too.Feck why did we even try.Last season we had a loss,3 draws an 3 wins from our first 7 games,strike me thats the same as we have now,but bugger that we'r well out of it

Page 28 of 65 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast