View Poll Results: Who would you like to win?

Voters
167. You may not vote on this poll
  • Dundalk

105 62.87%
  • Shels

62 37.13%
Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Dundalk or Shelbourne

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Splurge View Post
    Dundalk are the only fans that require a serious police presence, after both visits the "ultras" made a bad impression. Maybe more fans would turn up if you didnt play on a Tursday night, virtually no other club in the world play son Thursdays!

I think that is an unfair assesment of some of our support. Some are undesireable but your tarnishing us all with the one brush. I thought Wexford Youths supporters would be better than that.

I guess I'm failing to see the link between "Thursday" and "Amateur"

It suits Dundalk and if I was a Dundalk fan I'd be fully behind it.

I've said it before and I'll say it again if every other club stood up to Dundalk they wouldn't be long cutting the Thursday nonsense.

As it is, why should they??
    Thursday nights are unique somehow. We did try to have games on other nights but for some reason the attendences where lower on fridays and away support never compensates. Apart from UEFA cup games we are the only club in europe that plays on a thursday. The matchday mag ran an article of some norweigan called steve who through gambling on a thursday is a massive dundalk fc supporter.

Quote Originally Posted by Splurge View Post
    I dont, but i know WD brought more fans to ferrycarrig than Dundalk did and there wasnt a problem, so its not the numbers that are the problem, its the people, the Derry game aswell was a wonderful occasion.
    Look at the distance between Waterford to Wexford and Dundalk to Wexford. You'll find your answer there.

Back to topic.
    Obviously I want dundalk to win. C'mon the town
    Long Live King Kenny

30 Posts
    Slightly off topic, just on the fans issue ... usually our home games against
    Shels and Dundalk are classed as high risk games and need extra security
    on account of the usually large travelling numbers.
    Now I know most clubs (us included) have a few idiots who tarnish the name
    and reputation of the majority of decent fans ... but the only time this season
    that an away fan pulled a knife on a steward in Lissywollen was when we
    played Dundalk.

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Slightly off topic, just on the fans issue ... usually our home games against
    Shels and Dundalk are classed as high risk games and need extra security
    on account of the usually large travelling numbers.
    Now I know most clubs (us included) have a few idiots who tarnish the name
    and reputation of the majority of decent fans ... but the only time this season
    that an away fan pulled a knife on a steward in Lissywollen was when we
    played Dundalk.
    Where the Gardai informed. Was any action taken. The only way we stop idiots like that is for us all to stop turning blind eyes to it. Zero tolerance. A minority of our fans are no angels but as you know they are the ones who tarnish the names of our clubs.
    Long Live King Kenny

186 Posts
    Dundalk was the first away game i went to, was about ten, so dont mind going to Oriel
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Where the Gardai informed. Was any action taken. The only way we stop idiots like that is for us all to stop turning blind eyes to it. Zero tolerance. A minority of our fans are no angels but as you know they are the ones who tarnish the names of our clubs.
    Absolutely,as the majority of fans I meet home and away are sound and
    interested in nothing other than the football and having a bit of craic.

Not sure what action, if any, was taken but there were a number of Dundalk
    fans removed from the stadium. I think a few stanley knives were left behind
    in the away section of the stand after the game.

Zero tolerance is definately the way to go, some of our fans were also removed
    from stadium for acting up this season so its not exclusive to away fans.
    Last edited by Ash; 14/11/2008 at 8:34 AM.

Shelbourne. Dont understand this sympathy vibe for Dundalk for not being promoted a few years back. They knew the rules.

Shels are a great example of a club who bit the dust over financial irregularities, came down to the 1st division, regrouped and put out a competitive team without breaking the bank. In fairness to Dundalk they have done the same so whoever wins it on the pitch and fulfills the Premier Licence criteria, fair play.

Still want Shels to do it though!

Mmmmm this is a really tough one.

There have been numerous instances since the 80's of 'incidents' when away in Oriel which never endeared the club to me.
    But on the other hand they have done great work with the club to give it stability and deserve credit for the way they have got their house in order. And I suppose they were hard done by a couple of seasons back and they have a very decent level of support.

Shels would be a easy away trip to get to. I actually always like going to Tolka as a ground and Shels also deserve a huge amount of credit for taking their medicine a couple of seasons ago and rebuilding to the point where they are just a whisker away from promotion.

However it may be better all round for the league if County Louth has a repsesentative rather than another Dublin team especially when you consider the doom merchants are predicting the end of Drogheda Utd.

So Dundalk in a hobsons choice kind of way.

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Shelbourne. Dont understand this sympathy vibe for Dundalk for not being promoted a few years back. They knew the rules.

Shels are a great example of a club who bit the dust over financial irregularities, came down to the 1st division, regrouped and put out a competitive team without breaking the bank. In fairness to Dundalk they have done the same so whoever wins it on the pitch and fulfills the Premier Licence criteria, fair play.

Still want Shels to do it though!
    Awh Magicme I thought we had an agreement that you didn't want to see us in the KCP and we didn't want to go to the KCP next season.
    Pls god I don't want to go there for another year. Send me anywhere, I'll do anything
    Long Live King Kenny

Very easy, Hate Dundalk as they are a bitter and twisted lot .

We have a better DVD then you or there .

Shels
    Can't wait to burst my sides laughing when Dundalk muck it up again*

(*hoping those words don't come back to haunt me)

I think that is an unfair assesment of some of our support. Some are undesireable but your tarnishing us all with the one brush. I thought Wexford Youths supporters would be better than that.

Look at the distance between Waterford to Wexford and Dundalk to Wexford. You'll find your answer there.

A few undesirable's are reason enough for me and other Youths fans to not miss you if you do go up next season. I know of people that didnt go to the 2nd game this season as word of the first one got around, which was a pity , not least because we put in our best home performance of the season and it came directly after the Limerick debacle.
    Im not saying Wd fans are better than you lot as there were more present, im saying that it's not the number of fans that were the problem, it was the few bad eggs that tarnished the rep of Dundalk in Wexford at least.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

69 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    Shels
    Can't wait to burst my sides laughing when Dundalk muck it up again*

(*hoping those words don't come back to haunt me)
    We can't all reach the targets we set ourselves at the start of a season. Well done to Monaghan United for achieving theirs yet again. Fair play.

Awh Magicme I thought we had an agreement that you didn't want to see us in the KCP and we didn't want to go to the KCP next season.
    Pls god I don't want to go there for another year. Send me anywhere, I'll do anything
    Mon U are a credit to the league in fairness. They are one of only a few clubs that treat away fans with respect.
    Who Cares?!

Dundalk or Shels?
    It feels like a Carlsberg ad. " They're not great options are they?"
    If pushed I'd prefer Shels mainly because the Thursday night situation. There is probably a good chance both will be in the Premier next year anyway.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    We can't all reach the targets we set ourselves at the start of a season. Well done to Monaghan United for achieving theirs yet again. Fair play.
    TL, both sides were relegated about 8 years ago. How much money have Dundalk spent since then? What have Dundalk achieved in that time?

69 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    TL, both sides were relegated about 8 years ago. How much money have Dundalk spent since then? What have Dundalk achieved in that time?
    Not quite eight years ago. At least we've shown ambition to get out of this division since we got relegated in 2002. This season will be Monaghan's highest placing since then. Sixth, wow, you must be proud! We've spent well within our means over the last three seasons to get into the top 2-3 and challenge. We haven't overspent in trying to get promoted, if that's what you're implying.

Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    We haven't overspent in trying to get promoted, if that's what you're implying.
    In fairness, since Matthews took over you have cut your cloth to fit (but even in his first year the club made a loss).
    But prior to that, yes you did overspend; why else was Hiney park sold? Gannon's budget was huge by First Division standards (I heard what it was from a very reliable source), and I suspect Anderson's budget was too.

Any chance both will be refused a premier license? If so that gets my vote

If not, Dundalk. And I hate Dundalk...