Page 42 of 45 FirstFirst ... 324041424344 ... LastLast

Thread: 1st division

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Not an excuse cos at the end of the day we were brutal, injuries or not.
    Definitely no excuses.

Just to conform injuries etc

Kevin Dunne - centre half - first ever game and he will remeber it forever but will also have learnt from it.
    Robbie Egan - Only second start for Athlone - One for the future definitely

Injuries
    Ian Rossiter - ankle - should not of even been on the pitch due to this

Phillip Reilly - ankle - Could barely walk getting onto the bus and only played with heavy strapping

Ian Coffey - ankle - heavilly strapped so he could play

Des Hope - always carries injury but had to play due to both regular centre halfs Jim Sheridan and Nigel Keady unable to play

Niall Scullion who was on the bench unabale to come on as sub due to reoccurence of ankle injury in warm up. Third time this season we have had a player injured in warm up in Oriel. Not the pitches problem just bad luck.

Regular starters Robbie Hamm and Anthony Hayes both injured.

Out of the panel of 20 we barely had the 16 needed to travel to make up the squad available.

But as said above no excuses totally outplayed on the night by a much better team who were well up for it.

On a side note I hear that Dundalk -1 goal were 6/5. Wonder how many got on that

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    ... and Jinks and Russo.
    They had enough there to put up a better showing alright.
    Happens like that though, and from our point of view really it was the defeat that was key, not the scale of it.

The one glimmer of hope we have is the mindset of Dundalk on the final day.
    IF we were to win tonight, which we have to do to take it to the last day anyway, then Dundalk will realistically only need a draw at Kildare.
    If they're going in needing a win you'd back them all day long, but if only a draw is needed, and Gill starts off looking for that...
    As I say, it's only a glimmer.
    That is my fear my blue friend. What happens tonight will set our tone for next weeks game. If shels win tonight we will win with the hope that limerick are good enough to get something. However if Shels lose or draw our mindset as you say will be too draw but we may just approach the game just to see it out.
    i'd still prefer a waterford draw or victory tonight.
    (never thought i'd this but) C'mon the blues
    Long Live King Kenny

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Des Hope - always carries injury but had to play due to both regular centre halfs Jim Sheridan and Nigel Keady unable to play
    I remember des when he used to play with Roscommon County under the old fella, always gave it his best.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Definitely no excuses.

Just to conform injuries etc

Kevin Dunne - centre half - first ever game and he will remeber it forever but will also have learnt from it.
    Robbie Egan - Only second start for Athlone - One for the future definitely

Injuries
    Ian Rossiter - ankle - should not of even been on the pitch due to this

Phillip Reilly - ankle - Could barely walk getting onto the bus and only played with heavy strapping

Ian Coffey - ankle - heavilly strapped so he could play

Niall Scullion who was on the bench unabale to come on as sub due to reoccurence of ankle injury in warm up. Third time this season we have had a player injured in warm up in Oriel. Not the pitches problem just bad luck.

Regular starters Robbie Hamm and Anthony Hayes both injured.

Out of the panel of 20 we barely had the 16 needed to travel to make up the squad available.

But as said above no excuses totally outplayed on the night by a much better team who were well up for it.

On a side note I hear that Dundalk -1 goal were 6/5. Wonder how many got on that
    In fairness now your no. 13 who came on caused a few slight problems with his enthusiasm. He looked decent enough for 10-15 mins.

At this stage of the season I wouldn't worry too much about it. It was on the cards that we had to hammer somebody. Athlone had nothing to play for(Kildare have no chance of overtaking you for 10th). I don't know how we didin't hit double figures and I'm actually dissappointed in that
    Last edited by jinxy lilywhite; 07/11/2008 at 1:26 PM.
    Long Live King Kenny

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    I don't know how we didin't hit double figures and I'm actually dissappointed in that
    Was just chatting about that with one of the lads on the way home from the
    match ... imagine being Giller and storming into the dressing room after hitting
    us for 7 and going on a rant on how they didnt do themselves justice!

The only upshot from night from our perspective is that young lads like
    Dunner, Robbie Egan and Coffs got some 1st team experience as I'd be fairly
    certain that they will be more involved in the squad next season.
    Mistakes were made but they will learn from them and it'll make them better.

Never like congratulating Dundalk but fair play, ye were unquestionably the better
    team and inflicted the kind of hammering our performance deserved.

Funny though as before the game I was chatting to Ritchie and he was joking
    about us rolling over and loose 4 or 5 nil. I said we usually dont need to roll over
    to let in a load of goals in Oriel and we laughed and joked about it ..........
    Last edited by Ash; 07/11/2008 at 1:42 PM.

84 Posts
    Number 13 that came on was Ian Coffey. One very good thing I noticed in the game was that the young lads in their first seasons with the club never gave up even when 7-0 down and that was excellent to see although I would have never doubted their committment to the blue and black

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

24 Posts
    Shel got the result then needed tonight surely there's to lose now
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

101 Posts
    I'll go to Kildare next Saturday and just hope Limerick don't put out the pathetic line up they put out tonight..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by Youths4Ever View Post
    Shel got the result then needed tonight surely there's to lose now
    Ya all they have to do is beat Limerick and not worry about Dundalk's result (unless of course Limerick are leading Tolka), but Dundalk have to keep an eye on the score in Tolka even if they are beating Kildare. Limerick are going to give it everything in the last match so if Shels do beat Limerick they won't do it easily and will most certainly have worked for the title right up to the last day and be deseved Champions.

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    I'll go to Kildare next Saturday and just hope Limerick don't put out the pathetic line up they put out tonight..
    as i said in the other thread, not going to happen

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post

Holiday, Limerick not the problem, Waterford were a joke tonight, chance to draw level and make a fight of it ??? nothing to offer in response.

In saying that shels might be happy tonight, they still have to win on sat night.............
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Holiday, Limerick not the problem, Waterford were a joke tonight, chance to draw level and make a fight of it ??? nothing to offer in response.

In saying that shels might be happy tonight, they still have to win on sat night.............
    Waterford were ok tonight. Gave us a few scares but we held on. It's obviously by no means over but I'm much more confident now than I was before tonight. Over a week to recover now for any injuries or illnesses. Saturday will be tense

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    where you at the game? I only ask because I was and Waterford where far from a joke. IMO should have made some changes sooner but where not a joke

Waterford and the ref tried everything to get that equaliser but it never came.

All 11 players (and sub) were superb for Shels last night.
    Waterford gave it everything and could have had 3 or 4 red cards they were that fired up.

One game to go

Dundalk fans still think they are favourites ?
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by higgins View Post
    Of course we're not. For the record, the bookies have it: Shelbourne 1/2, Dundalk 6/4.

Limerick are a good team though and I can't see your match against them being a stroll in the park.. If Fingal were able to hold you to a 0-0 then Limerick can too.

Having said that, I think you've taken 19 points from the last 21 available and if you do go on and beat Limerick then I'll hold my hands up and say well done. The table doesn't lie at the end of the day.

www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

69 Posts
    Obviously not. It's all over. Congrats.

Fantastic travelling support from the Reds last night. Bring on Saturday

24 Posts
    Waterford and the ref tried everything to get that equaliser but it never came.

All 11 players (and sub) were superb for Shels last night.
    Waterford gave it everything and could have had 3 or 4 red cards they were that fired up.
    Waterford did try for equaliser but I seriously don't know why you brought ref into it made bad decisions for both teams but by no means influenced outcome of game

Shles support was good

Waterford werent a joke last night even if they didnt put in their best performance as has been said they were fired up for it and it wasnt surprising they ended with 10 men. Either way we were superb last night and its hard to fault a single player in a red jersey. Well deserved victory and a fantastic turnout for an away match. Limerick wont be easy by any stretch of the imagination and i doubt theyll put out the team they played against Kildare

The team really showed they wanted it in the RSC on Friday as did Keely. If they show the same dedication and fight for everything, I can't see us being stopped.

I know it won't be easy but we're almost there

Page 42 of 45 FirstFirst ... 324041424344 ... LastLast