Page 22 of 65 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    ''
    .I can understand Paddy Martin bein a bit sceptical of the reports of Villas demise because he would hardly want his lads relaxin headin into a game which could be vital to them.By the same token I 'm also not surprised that the Aul have not come out to say that Villa are gone,would that not be akin to admitin there part in the whole unsavoury affair.We are all well aware that the attitude in these matters of the Aul is not to alert the public of the embarrising carry on of its clubs,directly or undirectly due to the Aul itself.

100% right oh wise one.
    Of course our manager would not think the demise of a club is funny Pacman but I suppose the whole situation of not being told yet is the real joke.
    End of story....

Oscar Traynor

Anyone at this game?

Long time no speak

Hi all, been away with a bit and have not seen the old innish play much so far this season so wasn't in a position to comment on recent results etc. Shocked about Villa, premier and all that...
    Well done to neighbors Knockavilla on team of the month for Oct.

As for the Innish, I was at their game with greenmount yesterday, good close match and even though I am biased they left it after them. Ger Foran was back on the line sporting a nice cast on his recently operated on ankle, that guy doesn't half love his football I'll kid you not.

Scoreless till about 70 minutes with Innish wasting more chances than the visitors and pretty much owning the ball in the second have. Greenmount score from a corner (about 30 seconds after the sideline remarking that they couldn't see us conceding unless it was from a set-piece as we were so dominant in open play... Kiss of death or what) then 5 mins later Liam O'Sullivan hits a 30 - 35 yards screamer... game over. An enjoyable closely contested game though.

Talking to the lads after, I think they left it after them up in Village the week before and should have put Kanturk out of FAI as well, time to start turning performances into results...

Finally anyone know anything about Lee Rangers? The game a few walkovers a few weeks back and haven't been scheduled for a match since 19th October? Are they another club to fall from the face of the planet?
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Lee Rangers could be gone as well - they really struggled last year and only just avoided relegation.

41 Posts

A tale of 2 halfs

Corl Aul 3 Kerry Aul 2

Was at the game an to get the result we got considering the way we played in the first half was astounding.In all fairness Kerry should have been at least 3 or 4 up in the first half an would have been if it wasnt for bad finishing an a man of the match display from Shinky at center half.Kerry may seem not to offer much club wise but dont be fooled.They over the past 5 years have representitive sides in the Under 20 league of Ireland set up and the Championship A league as well an in the 1half they were top class.Some concerns were voiced amoung those watchin the game that they should not have been allowed to represent the Kerry league for this reason alone as the Oscar is supposed to be for junior players.

Delea an Cans did not play due to injury an Peelo was away for the weekend an to be honest we missed them.We were weak on the wings an didnt get near them in the middle of the park in the 1st half.Going in 1 nil at half time I was convinced we were goin to be hammered in the 2nd .Wether brilliant or sheer luck the management made 2 changes for the 2nd an it turned the game on its head.Figo an Betts came on for Bradfield an Thompson if I'm correct.Betts in fairness to him didnt allow Kerry to get any time on the ball an Buckley seemed to be a different player altogether with Figo on his right side.We looked a lot more dangerous whenever Figo got the ball.He put in a great ball for Mcarthy to score an excellent equaliser an had a hand in the other 2.Shinky was the stand out player on the day an got a great goal from a corner.We got a 3rd from the lad who was playin up front with Mcarthy an Kerry got one back with a few mins left to give us a nervous finish but we got there in the end made a bit easier by Kerry havin a man sent off for a stuipid 2nd yellow.Kerry must have been wondering what the hell happened in the 2nd half because knowone at the game would have given the Aul much hope lookin at how the 1st half went.We now have a goal difference of plus 1 goin to Limerick but if Kerry can produce 90 imns of what they could only produce 45 of on Sunday then I think they will beat Limerick in the next game in the group an then we willknow exactly what needs to be achived when we head to Limerick.

Plus points must be the way we turned the game around considerin the way the 1st 45 went,great spirt an ability showed to score 3 crackin goals an we could have got another couple if we were honest with ourselves.We didnt have our strongest side out but we got the result,we have to be happy all things considered.

Minus points were that again speakin honestly we only had 7 or 8 performers on the day,Varian again played outside left an looked lost.The backline barring Shinkwin looked like a back line that wernt comfortable with each other.Our center mid pairing in the 1st half may have had lots of experience but lacked the legs to get near the qiuck Kerry lads.Mcarthy casued them problems in the 2nd because the delivery was 100% better but the lad who played up front with him though hard working didnt really offer much.He scored a goal in fairness for all his tireless running but why Varian isnt up front baffles me,with Jp gone we need him up there big time.The players who were missing made a huge difference to the way the team would have played.Peelo,Shinkwin an O'Sullivan as a back 3 would probably be our best bet in a 3/5/2 formation.Buckley an Betts in the middle would offer stability an protection with Cans an Delea wide to stretch teams with there constant runnin.Varian an Mcarthy as a front 2 are the best way forward an that would leave Figo to play across the middle an leave him creat,but thats only my thoughts Minty

Goal of the game::::Mcarthys equaliser was superb

Man of the match::::::::Shinkwin,was the stand out player on the day.

Manager watch::::::: First 45 was a horror show,2nd 2 great sub changes at half time turned the game an the Aul were by far the better team in the 2nd an deserved there win.
    Last edited by littleman; 03/11/2008 at 11:06 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Well littleman, fiar play lad ye destroyed us, we didnt comeout at all, ye deserved nothing but points, we were shocking altogether, ref was no excuse for us im not buying that. Well done, see ye again in springfield.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

41 Posts

Honesty can be a hard pill to swallow

To start congrats to the Killer B's on a great victory.Heart matched with ability an a terrific attitude on an off the pitch.A credit to the club one an all.

Fair dues Bella as I didnt know what way you were goin to come back to me on Sundays game.Our lads were well up for the game an they are buildin up a great head of steam at home.I thought it was a good game to be honest.I know the ref may have been slow to blow on occasion but I enjoyed him.He knew the pitch wasnt great an he also knew it may be the cause of the odd dodgy challange an he let the game flow.I dont think there was a bad challange in the whole game just both sides tryin hard to win the ball.I spoke to our B manager just before half time an told him not to panic because ye had scored because we had the majority of play but our front 2 were holdin onto the ball too much an givin yer backline plenty of oppertuinity to close down an clear the ball.

I knew in the 2nd half we would be in a better position an for me the 2 subs he brought on caused ye problems an when we went to 3/4/3 I dont think ye were quite prepared for that,not many teams expect the losin side to throw 3 forwards up an lose a defender to try to not alone equalise but win a game.I know you might ask why didnt they start but if you dont train,he wont pick ya an I agree with his thinkin.No ego's.Our eqauiser was a terrific strike by our captain Christy Walsh who has a hammer of a left leg an our winner scored by Shane O'Mahony was just down to the hard work we have put in in trainin.Puttin balls back into the box without takin a second touch catchs teams everytime an its nice to see the things they work on in trainin are payin off.I think ye did well to hold out as well as ye did for so long but I do agree with ya on that we deserved the points,it was a hard fought victory an no doubt our next meeting will be as well for whom ever wins.

PS,my apoligys for the condition of the pitch.With the weather its been impossible to get it cut or rolled(we must be the only club in the Aul that get there hill rolled).Also for the mini pitch invasion from our 4 legged friend.This game had everything,goals,garda,horses,freezin weather an a ref willin to let lads get on with the football an not spoil it by bein whistle happy.

By the way did ya play Bella.
    Last edited by littleman; 04/11/2008 at 3:38 AM.

To be fair, he gave us absolutely nothing, but its no excuse ye still destroyed us. The 2nd goal was defintie offside but cancelled out the goal that wasnt given so again i wont complain.

I did-the coldest man on the pitch, up front chasing shadows.
    I scored but missed a sitter of header, so mixed emotions i suppose

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Lee Rangers withdrew

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post

Finally anyone know anything about Lee Rangers? The game a few walkovers a few weeks back and haven't been scheduled for a match since 19th October? Are they another club to fall from the face of the planet?
    Tables in Billysblog show that Lee Rangers withdrew
    Last edited by pass&move; 04/11/2008 at 5:30 PM.

Thumbs down How many by the end of the season??????

So thats three clubs now that have fallen by the wayside since August. Villa, Alberts and Lee Rangers - these things always go in cycles dont they though . Plenty of clubs that were successful in the past are now gone but they get replaced by new clubs. I feel a common theme though is that once one or two of the real committed people in a club finally have enough the whole club folds. Ex players dont seem to have the interest in giving back to the clubs who gave them so much

41 Posts

Callin a spade a spade

Olli you may be somewhat right in what your sayin about clubs not havin enough proper clubmen,but an its a big but the Aul for the last 6 or 7 seasons have let any fool with a bit of ground an a set of gear in the door an its after wreckin the league.Only about 60 or 70% of whats in the Prem/PremA are in the position to field team week in week out with at least 16 players.

The majority bar the odd few from there down struggle once they hit December along with 12 or 13 players at best.From December on its,walkovers,teams playin with 8 or 9,teams ringin each other to agree to share the points rather than travel to play with nothin at stake bar pride or worst of all even teams jackin it in.Be honest with yerselves I'm right no matter how bad it is to read what Im writin.

If the Aul want to sort this mess out they will have to cull the teams that are there.Jump on board with someone eles an admit its a good idea or be refused entry ,it may be drastic but we are in a drastic situation.
    Last edited by littleman; 04/11/2008 at 11:12 PM.

Have to disagree with you there Littleman

Clubs like Glenthorn/Blackstone to name but a few have started under the circumstances you mention and have gone from strength to strength. A club is only as good as the people behind it. When they go - the club usually follows.

41 Posts

Exceptions to the rule

You can pick holes in what I'm say'n an quote exceptions to the rule as you go but what I'm sayin is right.For every Blackstone or Glenthorn theres ten clubs who go 2 or 3 seasons or less an dissapear an you know it.

Trust me when I say the gravestone on the Aul will read "HERE LIES THE AUL , CAUSE OF DEATH TOO MANY CLUBS"
    Last edited by littleman; 05/11/2008 at 1:09 AM.

Consider this?

I'll deal with a case i know in depth. I predict and its with no great pride that Hibernian AFC in its current guise will be gone from existence within the next 3/4 years. A club with a great history and a fine set up . Why ??? Because the people in the area have no interest in supporting the club. The people off the pitch can be more important than the people on it. A committee of 10 approx 5/6 years ago is down to 2 . Last year it was 3 including myself.

How are you supposed to run a club like that. Nothing to do with the AUL , nothing to do with facilites just a lack of input. People who won trophies with the club and once their playing careers finished were never seen again. The purpose of the AUL is to promote soccer in cork which is what they are doing and while I agree to a certain extent that there is too many clubs I honestly think when the driving force behind a club goes then soon enough its curtains

41 Posts

Facts an figures

Fact there are over 30 clubs on the northside of the city in the Aul,Thats from Mayfield to Knocka an out as far as Blackpool Celtic.Only just over 10 on the southside,not countin down to Leesside or out as far as Lakewood an Ballincollig.If you were to add to that 30 to the number of Msl sides on the northside your gone over 40.There aint that many Norries in Norrieland to support that lot an thats why we struggle.

Example,"A,B an C" are all pally on a team in a bar."A" gets droped an decides I'm off.He drags "B" an "C" with him an goes out to the lounge an in a moment of clarity (after 6 pints of any Heineken product) decides we'll start our own club an win the world cup.They drag there buddies from another 3 or 4 clubs in with um weakin those clubs an have a good 2 seasons before they decide bugger this I'm headin back to me last club as soon as they fall out with the manager.An we start again.Ring a bell.

You can have the most committed clubmen(as indeed Villa had) in the world but if the system(the Aul) dosent make it hard for players to move or cull the number of clubs then this problem will not go away,just get worse.

From O'Neill Park to the Fair Field how many teams are there.Grattan..............Knocka Celtic..............Bohs............Temple........ ..Castleview............Postal.............Blarney Street..........City Bars ..........Parkview............Villa(RIP) ..........all that in little over a 1 mile radius an there are ex Grattan players who played minor an then junior playin with at least 6 of those 9 clubs that I know of,maybe more...............
    Last edited by littleman; 05/11/2008 at 2:27 AM.

I'll put it simply so and dont mean to cause offence Littleman but which one of these clubs would Grattan be willing to join up with - perhaps becoming Grattan Bars???? or GrattanView or PostalGrattan . People think almagamating a club is a good thing until they try it themselves. Its grand if its two small clubs but not when a big club swallows a small club which is often the case

And we have transfer windows now to prevent players signing for as many clubs as they can in a season as was the case before!

41 Posts

Too much to little

To little to late Olli,the writin is on the wall.The Aul is 1 year into a 5 year plan,will the Aul last 4 more years...........................

Ah yes!

The great five year plan! I think you were there when i made a mockery of their proposed rule to have every club have someone trained as a referee whereby if an individual wanted to stay with their club they couldnt join the referees society. if anything were to then happen to the said individual while refereeing the would have no back up from anyone - not the AUL or the referess - ah yes the great five year plan indeed.

Does anyone remember Templemount ???? Where are they now

This is my final input for tonight!! Lads some more of ye really need to start working night jobs . It gets boring with just me and Littleman on here!!!!!!

im here only have no input for that conversation really...

Thanks for the input Bella

Page 22 of 65 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast