Now Bella it wouldnt be the same if you werent dragged to a game at least once a year that you knew wouldnt be played !!! Count your blessings that it wasnt a sunday morning!!!
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Ah i know Bella - i always try and ring the opposition the night before to cancel a game - no point dragging fellas miles if you honestly think a game won't go ahead - not like it was a cup game and they were going to lose home advantage!!!
Rained out this weekend lads,stayed indoors all weekend an sipped on the ol vino an watched the telly.Only ventured out to watch Dillons an Dunbar.It had everythin,goals,rain,wind,mud an ****e refereein,typical Aul game in hindsight.
UMBRO F.A.I. JUNIOR CUP 4TH Round Draw. .
CORK AREA. .
1 Blarney Utd or Mayfield Utd v Kanturk Or Rathcoole .
2 Clonakilty or Kilumney Utd. v Blarney St.Ath. Or Blackstone Rvs. .
3 Ringmahon Rgs or Ballyphehane v Ballincollig .
4 Coachford or Glenthorne Clt. v Kinsale or Everton Utd. .
5 Park Utd. Or Greenwood "A" v Wilton Utd. Or Knockavilla .
6 Dillons Cross Ath or Dunbar Clt. v Carrigaline Utd/Grattan Utd./Ballyvolane .
7 Leeside or Midleton v Everton or Douglas Hall .
Some very interesting games comin up.All the Premier sides are still involved.A few games stand out, Number 4 especially.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
Due to the weather we have lost home advantage to Glenthorn which is dissapointing but I still believe if we hit form on the day we will beat them.As ye are all aware there seems to be a bit of ill feeling between the two teams but that always seems to make things more interesting.
Whats in it for the winners is a home date with Kinsale(more than likely) .
That draw believe it or not Littleman probably suits us as we seem to play better against the bigger teams.(taking the positives and all that eh)
Really and truly the season hasn't kickstarted for us yet ,training is going well at the moment but only time will tell.
my other teams to make open round are ~
Eh who am I kidding its impossible to pick ?![]()
Its one thing being positive another altogether bein realistic.Good post Junglegym.I think any team in the Aul Prem is capeable of gettin a result against any other fellow side.Home or away,on any given day.Far too much bein made of the current league standings given how few games have been played.Leeside are the Munster Junior champs an last season there league form wasnt great so it would serve as a good omen that anyhtin is possible in cup games if you just give it your all.
One off cup games can be great,who ever wants it the most an all that.I wouldnt be too worried about who ye/Glenthorn play in the next round either as again its a cup game an form goes out the window.Only thing is that the way the weather is I would say its highly unlikely that Glenthorn would have there place playable an Mayfield all weather is unavailable to,I checked for our own game just encase the weather dose us no favours either.
We are movin into the period of the season where you need to be playin week in week out,on any surface an not havin free weekends because the weather makes pitchs unplayable.Unless there is a big turn up in the weather games will be under pressure again this week to go ahead so in general we all have 3 decisions to make.
Play on yer own bogged pitch an hope you get a result.
or
Switch it to there place(also bogged)an hope you can win away.
or lastly
Plan ahead an hope ye like plain on an all weather(if available)
Oh man not for me but then again id be old school ,when we trained on one corner of the field all through the winter( two nights a week) in conditions that would literaly make a pig feel comfortable.and the only shower you had was the one falling on your head for the hour.
I know nowadays most teams are training on the all weather surface at least once a week so it wouldn't affect their style of play too much.
I was at the Cork Aul game in Blarney( in fairness,what a set up ) and I felt that there wasn't one class tackle in the game.(again thats only my opinion) And as for the poor keepers its like playing on the road.Although saying that,the Kerry lad was well prepared for the odd friction burn.![]()
Just laughing while i read junglegyms post!! Played in goal in a Nite Leagues game the other night and still nursing the scabs on my knees - playing on the all weather is grand if you are a forward or a winger but no fun if you are playing anywhere else![]()
alright lads..sorry for short absence small problem with the broadband..back to normal now
on the subject of these fifa approved pitches upm in mayfield and blarney i hate them and think they should be banned...totally decieving and olachio was correct you cant make a decent tackle.. football was meant to be played on grass.. i for one would much prefer to play away on a poor pitch than to switch to one of them..in my opinion they are a great advantage to weaker teams..but as i said thats just my opinion...
seasons been very frustrating this year.. the most stop/start season for us in a while..last few years we opted not to enter in the fai or munster and it stood to us cause we always got a good run of league games.. this year though seeing as we were premier it was decided we needed to enter these cups... but we havent put two league matches back to back this year..and that doesnt look like changing this side of xmas either.
any one know the fixture set up for games over xmas yet
some very interesting ties in fai.. we lost home advantage to blackstone last weekend making an already hard match now a lot more diffucult having to go to theirs.. bit like coachford..
looking forward to welcoming kinsale to fair field this sat...badly need a league win to get things going.. couldnt ask for a tougher one really but we will be up for it...
Any predictions
FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd
Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 1st Round:
Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath
Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 2nd Round:
Kanturk v Coachford
Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath
Douglas Hall v Leeside
Greenwood “B” v Blackstone Rovers
Premier League:
Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd
Blarney St Ath v Kinsale
Premier A League:
Macroom v Castleview
Rathcoole Rovers v Knockavilla
Any predictions
FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd - Grattan
Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath - Glenthorn
Kanturk v Coachford - Coachford
Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath -Wilton Utd “A
Douglas Hall v Leeside -Leeside
Greenwood “B” v Blackstone Rovers - Blackstone Rovers
Premier League:
Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd - Draw
Blarney St Ath v Kinsale - Kinsale
Premier A League:
Macroom v Castleview - Castleview
Rathcoole Rovers v Knockavilla - Knockavilla
On the subject of all weather I would defentily be in favour of teams pre booking if they were in the open rounds of the MJC/FAI cups. losing home advantage is 1 thing but havin to travel up to lets say Lifford Celtic Co Donegal is another, I was involved with a team about 6 years ago and that was the result of our game been called off. I bet if you asked any1 of the players the day after travelling which they would have preferred the majority would have been a resounding All-weather.
FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd .....Grattan Utd
Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath.... Glenthorn Cel
Kanturk v Coachford.... I sense a shock here Kanturk!!!!
Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath.....Wilton
Douglas Hall v Leeside.... another1 Douglas Hall
Greenwood “B” v Blackstone Rovers.... Blackstone Rvs
Premier League:
Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd....Draw
Blarney St Ath v Kinsale....Blarney St Ath got to happen soon!!
Premier A League:
Macroom v Castleview...Macroom
Rathcoole Rovers v Knockavilla....Knockavilla
"Build it and they will come"
well any new from Cobh/Springfield?
"Build it and they will come"
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Yep Blackstone have signed Jason Forde and one more I think the last time i heard.
I'll knock this one on its annoyin head once an for all.
Villa Utd held the registration of there players.They folded thus the registration of the players now belongs to the league,ie the Aul.Any club now wishing to sign any of these players must now transfer these players as normal an register them as normal once the transfer window opens on December the 1st.
Seeing as they have been knocked out of both the Fai an Mjc they(the players) are only eligable to play in Aul competions,ie League,Aoh ect ect.They can sign for 20 clubs between now an the transfer window but its the club who gets there paperwork stamped first will secure the player/s.I have heard a few stories about who was signing whoever so I'll just wait till the transfer window opens to see who really signs who.
Isound like an owl with all this who who who![]()
This is technically true Littleman, those are definitely the rules. However I was talking to the secretary of Villa the other day, who had the job of informing the AUL of their demise. He was told that whilst what you mentioned was the truth, the AUL can make execptions in some cases and that this may be possible in Villa players cases.
Not sure if any club will pursue this, but if a former Villa player really wanted to push an early move there is some 'greyness' there from which they might benefit. This was told directly to him from the powers that be in the AUL
Depending on which club is asking which Aul commitee member you can get a few different responces.I tend to trust the responces I get from the people I ask specificaly because there the ones who say yes or no to things in the end.
The Aul has some core commitee members (not always the ones that spring to mind,the common sense members)an a whole host of commitee members who do nothin but occupy a jacket an tie at the meetings.These no doubt are the ones tellin the various clubs what may or may not be achiveable.
Thats the beautiful thing about the Aul commitee,for all there rules an regulations they are quite willin to bend the rules when it suits them.But the FAI an MFA are a different ball game altogether an any club who is left in these cups should thread wisely to coin a phrase.The Aul are well aware of the position these players are in also the position the league is in an wont be stickin there necks out for anyone.
I operate a policy which is "If in doubt ask Martin Conlon" - I trust his opinions!