Results 1,441 to 1,460 of 8595

Thread: Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    The new Finn Park is due to start in the next few weeks

The club and developer are both raring to go and its just a matter of waiting on the fire safety cert before work can commence. Ive had to deal with this before on apartment complex and its a balls of a system but, its the final piece of the puzzle and more than likely work will be started within 2/3 weeks.
    Well tell the board to rush any money through because a major Irish bank will go bust in the coming 4 months (I will not mention which one it is) and these projects will be scraped. Clubs should be aware of the insecurities of the banks.

The back up claims by the Government are a joke. There is no way that they can realistically back up 400B. Not a chance.

As regards the Harps stadium and Bohs new stadium; I will beleive them when I see them.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post

As regards the Harps stadium and Bohs new stadium; I will beleive them when I see them.
    Machinery has been moved in today with work to commence on Monday. Some brilliant news for Harps.

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Well tell the board to rush any money through because a major Irish bank will go bust in the coming 4 months (I will not mention which one it is) and these projects will be scraped. Clubs should be aware of the insecurities of the banks.

The back up claims by the Government are a joke. There is no way that they can realistically back up 400B. Not a chance.

What a load of rubbish.

Beat it up ye.

I've my doubts your even a Harps fan.

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar

RTE Report:
    Work to begin on Finn Harps stadium
    Friday, 10 October 2008 15:00
    The eircom League of Ireland has received a timely boost with the news that work on Finn Harps' new 6,600 all-seated stadium is to commence within the next fortnight.

The news comes after the club received the final piece of documentation required for the project to start.

The Donegal club's Ground Development Officer Patsy Lafferty confirmed that a Fire Safety Certificate had been granted and that work was imminent.

The delay in the granting of the certificate was due to some slight adjustments to the plans to allow it to stage outdoor concerts and other big sporting events. The alterations will enable Harps to cater for crowds of up to 15,000 for such events in their new home.

'It is a massive boost for the club,' Mr Lafferty said.

'It gives everyone involved a huge lift at this time. There has been a lot of sleepless nights to be fair and a lot of times when we thought that maybe it wouldn't go ahead.'

The original timescale on the project is two years, which could mean Harps could be playing at the state-of-the-art venue in 2011.

The development in Stranorlar will be built to completion before Harps move in. As well as 6,600 seats and a second pitch for junior soccer in the area, the development includes all facilities required for UEFA Licencing, a three-storey administration block and ample car parking.

Already, funding of €1.2 million has been granted to the development. Earlier this year, the first sod was turned by Pat The Cope Gallagher.
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Great news and well done to all those involved. Can't wait to see the stadium take shape.

Great news for Harps and the whole League in the current climate! Congrats again to the Harps Board!

Fair play to Harps. Just wondering will there be room to put in more than 6,600 seats later on? I mean is there room to expand on the new site?

Excellent news Harps. Well done.

47 Posts
    Great news Harps, are there any artist's impressions, drawings plans or the like to have a look?

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    Great news Harps, are there any artist's impressions, drawings plans or the like to have a look?
    http://finnharps.openhosts.com/Stadi...NewStadium.htm

Looks really modern.

Fair play to Harps. Great news for the league. Hopefully things work out for Drogheda and ourselves now too.

960 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by niallsparky View Post
    Hopefully things work out for Drogheda
    ........????? Last few days spent on Holiday or somthing?

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    On Holiday in Drogheda watching the Bohs win the league. Why?

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by niallsparky View Post
    On Holiday in Drogheda watching the Bohs win the league. Why?
    Lads, chill out will ye. And i second it .... i hope things work out for all the clubs this year. We have to look out for ourselves, cos not many other will thats for sure.

Well done Harps.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Photos of the works at the new Harps ground can be viewed HERE
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

3,491 Posts
    Excellent news for Harps. It was starting to look like another Drogheda ground for a while. This seems very positive (as in, diggers actually moving in).

37 Posts
    Work has started on the TV gantry at Terryland. It was originally built last year, based on specifications provided by RTE, but the near-sided corner flags were out of view and thus, it was never used.

It is locted on top of the old stand that was built over a decade ago. Up to now, TV cameras have been placed inside the Pressbox of the new Corrib stand.

The upgraded gantry will be completed in time for the FAI Cup semi final which will be live on RTE Two. TV viewers will then be able to see the new stand which in usually less empty than the old stand.

FOOTNOTE: Why is that TV cameras at Sligo Showgrounds and Turners Cross are located in their newer/bigger/fuller stands? Last Saturday, I was at the Sligo V. Galway United match and I noticed that the new stand in Sligo was almost full but the TV footage showed the half empty stand that was probably built in the 1960's.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

47 Posts
    The most recently built and modern stands are more likely to have been built witha tv gantry. I completely agree though, good news i hope cork follow suit.
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

Quote Originally Posted by fionnsci View Post
    The most recently built and modern stands are more likely to have been built witha tv gantry. I completely agree though, good news i hope cork follow suit.
    I wish we could but it wont ever happen i'd say. Its jut not possible.