Page 46 of 50 FirstFirst ... 364445464748 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier League 2008

Quote Originally Posted by ExCiTeD View Post
    firstly congrats to fahy on your promotion i really hope ye get the pitch issue sorted yer a good bunch and deserve your crack at big boys.
    on the team of the year id agree with most candidates however cant believe the names not being mentioned. celtic finished second in the division and quite a few of the team that played most of the season with us have gone on to hold their place in the super league team and danny fallon and eoin torpey have just signed for sligo rovers how in gods name can they not be in the team of the year? eamonn crean has been our captain and probably our most consistant performer all year along with the lads already mentioned and the outstanding peter drevins who somebody else has already proposed.one other player i feel deserves a mention is 16 year old james mcgurrin he has come from nowhere this season to establish himself as one of the best full backs in the club through playing for the b team and will certainly be a first team regular next seaon as has already proved his worth in the super league this season.mark towey another teenager at only seventeen has also been promoted from our squad to play regularly at left back for declans first team and should have a big shout to make this team. i may be a little biased towards my club but we finished second and therfore we are the second best team in the division and i feel the players that achieved that should get their deserved recognition
    Cheers buddy, hopefully we can get a pitch

I think torphy and fallon are good players but did they play enough games in the premier league to be on the team of the season? If they play games in the super league it doesn't count to this selection. Played 3 times against Celtic B this year but didn't really notice alot outside Drevins and McGurrin. Crean, Torphy and Fallon did not stand out against us anyway, but maybe it was different in other games...obviously the 2 boys impressed enough to make sligo rovers but just didn't see it in our games.

ML should just ask the referees to pick the prem team of the season, they the only ones who watch the games

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    ML should just ask the referees to pick the prem team of the season, they the only ones who watch the games
    youve a great sense of humor gf! we all know the refs dont be watchin these games!!

yes mark towey and thorphy should have a shout of gettin into this team,seen them play a few times and ive been impressed.

Crossmolina v Castlebar Celtic B away
    Westport United B v Fahy Rovers draw
    Manulla B v Glenhest Rovers home
    Kilmore v Straide & Foxford away
    Urlaur United v Swinford draw

Quote Originally Posted by kingkong View Post
    S & F: Costello, Alan Mc, Fitzpatrick, G Gaughan
    Celtic B: E Crean,D Kirby,P Drevins
    Fahy: Joe Keane, other centre back and small midfielder
    Westport B: Colin Cameron
    The ´small midfielder´ you´re on about is Tomas Keane and he´s a class act alright, defensive midfielder with an unreal engine and great balance. His brother, Joe Keane would walk into any team in Mayo in my opinion and should have been in last year´s team of the season as well as this year´s one. Hopefully he´ll get a chance at the Mayo team if he gets watched playing Super league football. I agree with the assessment of James Mc Gurrin, I was impressed with him against us a couple of weeks ago.

yes the tomas keane is a nippy little player that id say would be hard to play against,always making it hard. Joe keane is a big strong defender who rarely misses a header. i can only see james mcgurrin gettin better all the time since he arrived out of no where.

We beat S&F 3-0. How did the Urlar v Swinford game go?

ur joking?????

Oh ye of no faith

Welcome to the forum KingKong! What team you with? And yes we really beat S&F 3-0. Did you hear any other results?

646 Posts
    Well done Kilmore fan, I believe that victory puts you into the playoff. And consigns Swinford and Urlaur to playoff for safety. Why were S&F off form today? How were your goals scored? Any tips for the Boro?

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Well done Kilmore fan, I believe that victory puts you into the playoff. And consigns Swinford and Urlaur to playoff for safety. Why were S&F off form today? How were your goals scored? Any tips for the Boro?
    OMG can't believe it! Looking at the other results we had to win!!! Crazy league.... we were sitting in relegation a couple of weeks ago and now we could go to the super???

[quote=joe_denilson;1020766]Well done Kilmore fan, I believe that victory puts you into the playoff. And consigns Swinford and Urlaur to plafitzyoff for safety. Why were S&F off form today? How were your goals scored? Any tips for the Boro?

From what i heard Ye will be playing a different team to what played yesterday against kilmore,no paul fitz,no alan mac,and 4 more first teamers missing..
    We had a good win yesterday against should have got 2 or 3 more but we were sloppy in front of goals.Believe ot or not it was the first game all season we had our full team out(due to injuries),our manager even had to leave 2 lads off the sub bench.
    Celtic did not do us any favors sending a very young team down to cross and losing 4 nil,we will just have to stay upthe hard way..

swinford won 3-1 no complaints and were easily the better team

[quote=Bandit;1020842]
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Well done Kilmore fan, I believe that victory puts you into the playoff. And consigns Swinford and Urlaur to plafitzyoff for safety. Why were S&F off form today? How were your goals scored? Any tips for the Boro?

From what i heard Ye will be playing a different team to what played yesterday against kilmore,no paul fitz,no alan mac,and 4 more first teamers missing..
    We had a good win yesterday against should have got 2 or 3 more but we were sloppy in front of goals.Believe ot or not it was the first game all season we had our full team out(due to injuries),our manager even had to leave 2 lads off the sub bench.
    Celtic did not do us any favors sending a very young team down to cross and losing 4 nil,we will just have to stay upthe hard way..
    Ya we only started 5 first team players. so yes the team that starts against the boro will be alot different... when are the playoff's to be played? so will the winner of the swinford vs urlaur game, play then in the playoff with the team that finished 3rd highest in division 1??
    Last edited by thekop; 15/09/2008 at 9:03 AM.

Our play off v Bangor is set for the 5th on the Erris pitch!

Looks like Urlar may rue not travelling to Kilmore a couple of weeks back!

Quote Originally Posted by Kilmore Fan View Post
    Our play off v Bangor is set for the 5th on the Erris pitch!
    best of luck lads.hope yee can beat them and get promoted.would be good to have yee up with us in the super league after starting off the same year as ourselves

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    best of luck lads.hope yee can beat them and get promoted.would be good to have yee up with us in the super league after starting off the same year as ourselves
    Hear hear. Ye were unlucky this year with injuries and everything. Surely ye will have the first eleven for the play-off? Hope ye do it anyway...

Page 46 of 50 FirstFirst ... 364445464748 ... LastLast