Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast

Thread: Do you acknowledge other EL fans?

Quote Originally Posted by Youths4Ever View Post
    when in college in waterford a few years ago used to see the occasional el jersey but never really chatted to any only got into el until wexford got a team used to attend a good few waterford games when then had a few wexford lads on team.

have to say I am a little bit disappointed for the disdain shown for fans of other sports in some of the comments in this thread. I get the premiership jerseys but why GAA jerseys and rugby jerseys surely if still supporting local team does not make a difference what sport. Then make not like soccer it not for all. personally I am season ticket holder of the youths make about 90% of away games and actively involved in supporters club.

probably get slaughtered for this but I am also a Leinster rugby season ticket holder seasons and regularly go to support wexford gaa as well i know many people who support a combination of local teams.

rambling now main point if you support a local team should not matter what sport it is.
    Agree with you completely here. I'm a season-ticketer with GUFC (happy tonight) and I know a fair few of the fans would also have Connaught Rugby season tickets. Really frustrating that both home games are on Friday evenings. Attend the odd GAA match, though not as often as when I was a kid.

On the OP, I used to work in HMV in Kingston, Surrey and a local teenager came in one day wearing a GUFC t-shirt. Went up talking to him but he didn't know who they were. He had been given it by "some Irish relatives".

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    It was the week before the 2 weeks break and given the low standard of play on offer I...er I mean, he...merely remarked wryly to the nearest punter (in a Derry accent admittedly), "They're already on holiday, son!"

I was as surprised as anyone to get the response, "I am indeed, who are you?"
    I salute you two men for your tribute to two of the finest songs of living memory

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    At the Wexford Youths - Shelbourne game in Tolka one of the shrewd supporters club members turned around pointed to me and said to his pal "there's passinginterest", I was but oddly proud at the same time.
    Ye gotta do a home game soon Passing so I can eyeball you (or are you not allowed drive down on your own still??)

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    Ye gotta do a home game soon Passing so I can eyeball you (or are you not allowed drive down on your own still??)
    Still no driving on my own. Waiting for another test date. Haven't actually driven the car at all in ages!

I'm slightly scared that you're so keen to see me. Although I do admit to being rather the handsome devil.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Still no driving on my own. Waiting for another test date. Haven't actually driven the car at all in ages!

I'm slightly scared that you're so keen to see me. Although I do admit to being rather the handsome devil.
    Only keeping an eye on you from a footballing perspective. Even on that front you still have L plates and need to be accompanied at all times

64 Posts
    Don't suppose anyone spotted a Galway United away jersey in Lanzarote recently?

101 Posts
    So who was the Shels fan I was chatting to outside the Custom House yesterday evening?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Met a Shels fan at a Sligo Rovers table quiz near Grange Co. Sligo recently

i know this is not the same thing but I was in pub called the dubliner in reyjavik last week and hanging on their wall was a shels jersey from 2004 and bohs jersey from 2000/01 season .. that was the time irish clubs played a reyjavik team in europe..

24 Posts
    seen a Cork City jersey in Camolin in Wexford a few weeks ago nearly broke my neck doing a double take
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

my girlfriend wore my limerick jersey for irish day over in ios, greece, and got some very bad looks off a few shels fans, we had beaten them the day before . Got a big wave and a cheer then from someone from tipp saying "up limerick 37" or something along those lines. also in america last year i bumped into a guy in a longford town jersey, ended up having a great chat about eloi with him. its great to see supporters of other eircom league clubs when abroad.

112 Posts
    I remember being in Gran Canaria ten years ago. I wasnt following League of Ireland much then. I was wearing a Longford GAAAA jersey purely because the place was full of Irish. A guy with a Dub accent immediately asked me was I a Longford Town fan. I said I went to the odd game but didnt really know any of the players. He was best mates with a certain Vinny Perth! Started going a bit more regularly after that! Really wish id followed the Town more in my earlier years.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

theres a few lads who follow longford town in college. no other eL fans though! i wouldnt approach someone wearing an eL jersey. thats weird

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    my girlfriend wore my limerick jersey for irish day over in ios, greece, and got some very bad looks off a few shels fans, we had beaten them the day before . Got a big wave and a cheer then from someone from tipp saying "up limerick 37" or something along those lines. also in america last year i bumped into a guy in a longford town jersey, ended up having a great chat about eloi with him. its great to see supporters of other eircom league clubs when abroad.

the lad that you were chattin to in america was that sonic( rip)??

Quote Originally Posted by chipsahoy View Post
    theres a few lads who follow longford town in college. no other eL fans though! i wouldnt approach someone wearing an eL jersey. thats weird

who would be the lads that you know that follow us do they post on foot??

30 Posts
    I got a hearty welcome from a Dundalk fan in the Bohemian pub in Olso
    on Wednesday. He was delighted to see another Division Oner

Bray fans were quick to call over when they saw the jersey too

i had the pleasure of bumping into the twelfth man and his two kids last nite in tolka. great catchin up on them after two to three years pity about the result ..

I met a few dundalk supporters in Lanzarote a few weeks ago and they were the biggest shower of c**** I've ever met - typical dundalk fans - very hard to listen to and very hard to have a decent football conversation with). I wanted to smack them, and they wanted to smack me (Well at least one of them did). Was pretty bitter atmosphere, had to leave the pub as I'd the gf with me and she didnt like the 'atmosphere'!

Other than that, I'd always have a good chat with any EL supporters I meet in the pub, abroad,etc
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Met Youth4ever at our game the other nite and it was a pleasure talking to a few other Wexford fans too. Pity they took the points with them when they left though.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    I met a few dundalk supporters in Lanzarote a few weeks ago and they were the biggest shower of c**** I've ever met - typical dundalk fans - very hard to listen to and very hard to have a decent football conversation with). I wanted to smack them, and they wanted to smack me !
    I think it must just be you Cosmo maybe your just and unlikable kinda chap as I've worked with, went to college with and met a number of Drog fans over the years and always got on well with them and i'd say i'm a typical Dundalk fan.

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast