I don't think the FAI are too enamoured with them right now judging by their statement. I doubt they'll be helping too much.
Printable View
20 team division may mean nothing for a lot of teams, but the attendances would rise for a lot of those clubs which could mean the difference between survival and folding. If the likes of Mervue and Salthill were able to get an extra 200 or 300 through the gate from away fans at Shamrock Rovers, Cork, etc. they would end up being a lot stronger financially don't you think?
It also makes a home derby game much more appealing. Playing your derby game 4 times in one season just takes away from the occasion.
When I heard the news I liek I'm sure a few people plonked it up on the oul FB:
Got this response...Quote:
Originally Posted by Me
I retorted...Quote:
Originally Posted by Gobs**te mate
EDIT: He responded!!!Quote:
Originally Posted by Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gobs**te mate
--------------------------------------------------------Quote:
Originally Posted by Me
I'm disgusted that Mons have bitten the bullet.
If there was a prospect of this happening earlier in the season would the club not have considered it prudent to remain in the First Division?
That the club spent it's existence looking out for the long term interests of the club and the local regions interest in football why the sudden short-termism?
It indicates to me that the club weren't truly honest with the licensing committee. This does not absolve the mess that yet again they have caused.
I didn't say away fans should be a deciding factor, I'm simply saying it would help a lot. It would also boost home attendances. And I do believe attendances are a huge factor in every clubs survival, it's nonsense to think otherwise. If a club has 2 or 3 big attendances in one season (aka Harps v Derry or Limerick v Cork or even Wexford v Shamrock Rovers attracting upwards of 3,000) that could make or break a clubs season.
Most clubs are on their knees because of poor attendances. Just look at Monaghan now.
Meanwhile in Poland..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=affbvK4UZgc
I haven't posted on here in a while and I'll probably not need the site much for the rest of the season :(
Leaving the league mid-season is probably better than struggling on until the end leaving wages unpaid and screwing over local businesses when we fold. How much did lesson and co owe to those caterers in Galway? Roddy can't be blamed, we probably would have gone sooner without promotion and he gave us great memories from last season. Financially, I doubt if many clubs could surivive with no sponsor, or could cope short-term with having two of their biggest gates being rescheduled to midweek. Our budget was the smallest of the premier teams, this was never fingal/shels/bohs type spending, it would have been very easy to break the bank to keep the Brennans etc.
But mainly I'm just feeling gutted. I can t be arsed to waste my afternoon listening to the fields of athenry as whelan misplaces another pass, while knowing that John Delaney is sitting there on his wages watching on. I doubt if I'll watch a live loi game again for a long time.
My sympathy to all those fans who have lost clubs because I finally know what it's like now, and I hope that no more clubs go because this feels really, really ****.
http://www.fai.ie/domestic-a-grassro...ws/102594.html
Update from the FAI.
Sligo not back in the cup. One team will recieve a bye.
Monaghan results, as expected, will be expunged.
I know a lad who was a Kildare fan who then started following Monaghan, imagine how he feels!
Quick question. When's the last time a team was relegated by finishing bottom of the Premier Division?
UCD have been rightly fecked over by this
RTE couldnt even use the correct crest ffs.
Used this
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...aghancrest.jpg
John Delaney is a joke, partying it up in Poland with the "Best fans in the world" until the early hours whilst the domestic league is falling apart. How can we expect to produce decent players when the League of Ireland is in such a state, Mon Dogs gone, Dundalk struggling (got my letter in the post today asking for a donation) & many many more having financial problems in recent times. How he justifies his salary of €400k amazes me, especially when you think of the pittance giving out in prize money.
Then you have the "best fans in the world" giving out about the state of the national team. For me they have no right to this when the majority of them don't give a dam about their domestic league. What an embarrassment to be the only nation in the Euros to not have one player from our own domestic league. To be honest at this stage I don't think the Irish people deserve a decent national team and it might sound harsh but I wouldn't care if Italy destroyed Ireland tonight as it would help highlight the state of football in this country. Anyone can sing along to the "Fields of Athenry", have the craic, jump on the bandwagon but try going to support your local team in a wet and windy evening week in week out no matter what the result is. COYBIG