eh so we would be using rocks then i suppose? You really think that the Euro will survive this?
Its going to happen anyway - I guess Greece will be the first
Printable View
This is the latest in the long line of Irish submissions to the ruling class, in our own country. I hope the ruling FG-Labour junta are not found out to be lying having denied we need a 2nd bailout and that this will mean access to funding long term. And that there is a stimulus package written into it.
Defaulting would mean the mother of all austerity as we'd have to balance the books straight away. We wouldn't have the bank money to spend elsewhere.
I ask again, do actually know what a fecking junta is? It sure as hell isn't a democratically elected Government well within the terms of office as laid out by legislation and the constitution.
The main yes side argument was that we needed to pass the treaty to access the esm, on the basis it's the new eu bailout fund and we may need to access it, so I'm not sure where the lie is coming into it on that either.
Dodge you are making good points and I understand where you are coming from
BUT its going to happen anyway - to continue getting huge loans and never-ending debt is not a solution at all.
Clean slate, or something more radical - but to be continualy relying on the same shower of useless politicians and "experts" that got us into this problem doesn't sit well with me. I dont think Inda will solve our problems
Iceland are doing fine, many nations have done it in the past - including the UK.
The time to do an iceland was at bank guarantee time.
I don't really disagree with your reply to dodge - something must be done about the debt and europe is heading that way imo. Slowly, but the spanish situation might force their hand regarding pace. However, I personally think it's still early to really judge the current Government on this - they're making small gains and we have feck all power in the EU, but it is going in the right direction. I don't think if we'd voted no it'd have done much anyway.
Oh I agre with that, but the hope is the loans help aid some sort of recovery. Certainly can't see one without investment, eeven if in the form of loans
Like Macy, I think that time has passed. I'd have been in favour of clean slates, 4 years ago. Now we've some sort of handle on things, I think it requires loads more work, but there could be a glimmerQuote:
Clean slate, or something more radical - but to be continualy relying on the same shower of useless politicians and "experts" that got us into this problem doesn't sit well with me. I dont think Inda will solve our problems
I guess it all boils down to if your a pessimist or an optimist. I dont trust the current crowd, or the last crowd.
No they are not.Quote:
Originally Posted by bennocelt
Balancing the books immediately is what some economists have recommended, rather than the year in, year out sequence of cuts and taxes. But the country has to stop looking for bailouts and handouts, and learn to stand on it's own feet. Otherwise there's no point cutting everything to the bone.
The people have once again decided to obey the government, and are now locked into the terms of an agreement, that the main Euro players haven't signed, and if they don't, we'll look a proper bunch of eejits.