Their keeper is class, we played them last season away and he made a name for himself.
Printable View
cheers gf, yea ya got it rite there we were poor all over the pitch the last day, but it is true we were missin a good few, incl keeper and a few sick heads from the stag, as you say wel put it down to a bad day at the office and try move on, still in second and hopefully that will be a once off.
For straight red how much games do you get? For 2 yellows how much do you get etc?
Is there an appeal process for dodgy decisions?
I probably just gave away my identity :D
anyone know if the k.o times in mayo news are correct for sat 6pm?
Is it 3 games for straight red and 1 game for 2 yellows?
All rules here:
http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/affe...0708_10565.pdf
i know this has been mentioned before on this forum but the coverage this league gets in the papers is a joke. not a single game featured this week.surely as the second tier of the mayo league the clubs involved deserve better particularly the clubs whose first team are in this division ie.... fahy kilmore swinford etc.surely the papers could do a report on at least one game a week and spread the featured game between the clubs. god knows every gaa pre season back garden c**k fight gets covered in all the rags surely we're not askin for too much
Predictions:
Celtic B V Swinford (HOME)
Crossmolina V S & F (AWAY)
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (DRAW)
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (HOME)
Urlaur United V Manulla B (AWAY)
That the issue alright, its probably a 70/30 split as regards "public interest" and the papers split this further to an 80/20.
Personally I think it has got worse, there was better coverage of the games up until the last 2 years or so, what the reason is I dont obviously know but it is no incentive for any young players when they weigh up which code to play in order to see their "name in lights"
As regards Celtic B or C I cannot remember the last time a report was in the paper, maybe 2 years ago?
In fairness to Fahy and Swinford they do regular submit a report of their matches to the papers, maybe that the problem that the only way to get in their is to get each club to do up a report and force it on the papers, then they cannot ignore us.
So Excited out of pure interest maybe for the game on Saturday, do a report, email it into the Connacht and see if that rattles their cage, it will prove whether they have any interest in publishing it. Worth a try anyway.
Celtic B V Swinford (HOME)
Crossmolina V S & F (AWAY)
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (AWAY)
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (HOME)
Urlaur United V Manulla B (HOME)
To be fair the papers will only print what information they get. The role of P.R.O. in any club should be taken seriously if the clubs want to be taken seriously. If you think about it, even a small 300 word update of activities about your club will be read by a few thousand readers all across the region. Websites are also becoming more popular but the problem I see with most of them is that after all the hype of the "offical launch" has died down they are rarely updated.(In my opinion,the worst culprit here is the Mayo League itself. The Schoolboys/girls League tried but likewise is totally out of date. Where on this super highway of information (internet) can anyone read about what is happening on the Mayo Leagues (bar foot.ie)????? The only website I see regular updates on is the Castlebar Celtic one. I'm sure this also contributes to their sucess on and off the field.
Rant over..........!!
celtic b vs swinford (home)
crossmolina vs s+f (away)
glenhest vs westport(draw)
fahy vs kilmore9(home)
urlar vs manullab (away)
well i think its fairly simple, fahy done thier best to get the game changed, but it wasnt possible, it was one of their best mates stag and they chose to go and get drunk, i cant see a whole lot wrong with that, more to life than premier division mayo football, im not sayin its not important to these lads, but there not professional footballers
Their commiments lie, like most normal people, with their family & friends then football. If a stag, or a wedding, or any other occcasion is looking like it will effect the squad, normal practice is to try have the match called off or re-scheduled.
Fahy tried this, but unfortunately it wasn't possible. Therefore, as r.rover stated, life goes on. The boys went on the sauce, turned up for the match, and got walloped.
unfortunate timing, no regrets, great weekend.
It's still a long season.
this is a snip'it of one of your post "it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club".
by the looks of things i dont think Fahy Rovers will make the step up to a super league club, with the players having attitude's like that, i can bet you that any super league players would make that sacrifice!! (could go on the beer on sunday after the game )
celtic b vs swinford (Away)
crossmolina vs s+f (Draw)
glenhest vs westport(Home)
fahy vs kilmore9(Draw)
urlar vs manullab (Home)
i can bet you they wouldnt, im friends with plenty of them! dont worry we went on the beer sunday too! anyways no-one at the club is upset over it so thats what matters, i think we can let it lie now and look forward too weekends games, or we could open a fahy rovers disiplinary thread!not!
Contrary to what you may believe, this Fahy team are serious about winning the league and going up! We have high hopes of ourselves, last weekend is a once off in the season. As a player of the team I can say that none of us go out the night before games, and some us make the trip from Dublin, Sligo, Cork back to Westport every weekend to play games in the hope of playing in the super league next season.
The players have the belief and so do the management and we will do our best to be a super league team next season and if we aren't it wont be from lack of effort or bad attitude...
8 Fahy Rovers players showed up at 1pm Saturday for a fun bus. Commitment I think you'll all agree.
8 Fahy Rovers Players battled the mud and the blood and the beer all day and night. Attitude.
7 Fahy Rovers Players showed up to a match on sunday and got beat. Costly.
8 Fahy Rovers Players hit the sauce again Sunday and had a good oul weekend. Priceless.
In refenence to the quote you used, it is not relevant.
Whither or not we sucessfully establish as a super league club in the future is not entirly dependant on last Sunday.
My point in that post were the numerous factors both on and off the field that are instrumental in the long term establishment of a S.L club and a sucessful club.
Its a long season. How we react to the defeat will give a better idea of our attitude and character then the actual defeat itself.
in fairness if we were a super league club we might not have had to encounter the difficculties of having to choose between a best mate and a game of ball as we should have been able to get the game postponed.but we're not a 'celtic' so we just have to make do with who turns up on the day and hope that they're in relatively good shape for the game!;)
the lads all stay in on the night before a game generally and there is a number of players making a massive effort each weekend to travel down-a lot of clubs have players travelling long distances to play games at the weekends and fair play to them-its what keeps a club going and keeps a good spirit in a club.as gf has already stated if we can bounce back with a win on saturday against kilmore everyone will be happy (in fahy anyway!!:D)
Celtic B V Swinford (Away)
Crossmolina V S & F (Away)
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (Draw)
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (Away)
Urlaur United V Manulla B (Away)
It must have been the weekend for stag's!!! Seriously guys would ye ever chill. I'm glad to see that Fahy value their friends more than one game. I don't doubt their commitment or their hunger for the super league so why on earth is everyone making such a big deal of one game! From what I can tell they have players travelling from all over the country (like we do) to get home for a game at the weekend. Does this not show commitment? I have no doubt that Fahy will do well this season.....
Celtic B V Swinford -home
Crossmolina V S & F -draw
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B -draw
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore -home
Urlaur United V Manulla B -home
Not sure if any of guys would know this, just going through some reports in the League Cup in 2006 when Mayo League played Longford, I can not seem to find any info on these players that can came as subs (Fitzpatrick and Napier), I can not get their first names as that is the main reason.
Thanks
fahy beat kilmore 2-0 last night in a tough enough game.we played some of the best football that we've done for a long time and only for the kilmore keeper stephen o'boyle (i think thats his name) we would've scored a lot more.nice to bounce back with a win after last weeks minor setback!
i hear that s and f beat crossmolina 2-0 in cross-good win for them especially as they were away form home.westport b beat glenhest 1-0 and i think that celtic beat swinford 4-1.celtic going very well in the league but glenhest look to be in serious trouble at the moment.they only seem to have a couple of players that are of any real quality from what i've seen.they probably need a bit more of a blend of youth and experience as the current crop have potential but need to be brought on.
anyone know how the urlar and manulla b game went?
Not that it's an excuse but we were missing most of our team as they were gone to a wedding!! and I really mean most of the team. We were expecting to lose by a hell of alot more! We tried getting it postponed but mayo league were having none of it. I guess you must have to be in the superleague before they listen to you:(. Yes it's Stephen. He had a good game surely!! Some suprise results this weekend. It's really going to be an exciting season. Anything could happen;)
Westport beat Glenhest 1 - 0 with a Joe Kelly goal,a result, but not a great one, from what I saw Westport need to improve significantly in order to survive
Castlebar Celtic B Fahy Rovers Celtic Park 11/05/2008 14:30
Urlaur United Manulla B Urlaur 11/05/2008 14:30
Kilmore Glenhest Rovers Drum. Clogher Ballina 11/05/2008 14:30
Westport United B Straide & Foxford Sports Park 11/05/2008 14:30
Crossmolina Swinford Abbeytown 11/05/2008 14:30
Has the draw been done yet for the winners of the 1st round of the cup??
Lads, did Urlar and Munalla not play at the weekend?
Any reason for that.
Also are these results correst:
Fahy 2 v Kilmore 1
S&F 2 v Crossmolina 0
Westport 1 v Glenhest 0
Celtic 4 v Swinford 2