Yea you can see Vllaznia on the seats in the stadium from google earth, modern technology is terrific.
Rapid Vienna'd be a good trip alright if we get through (better than the trip to Israel that I was told was on the UEFA site earlier!).
Can't get to either leg of the 1Q round so really really hoping that the Rovers get through.
Anyone know if these Albanians are any good?
1. They finished second in the Albanian Premier league, behind the champions by 4pts and securing their Europa league spot by a massive 20pts.
2. 2 years ago they beat Zagreb in the Intertoto Cup.
3. Last year they got to the second round of Uefa Cup by beating a Slovenian side in first round.
4. In their last 6 attempts in European football(this decade) they have only failed to reach the second round on 1 occasion, losing to Dundee United.
5. They have the highest attendances in the Albanian league. Average attendances of 4,255. Highest attendances of 10,000 last year. Supposedly they pulled 20,000 for a match in their 01/02 season.
6. Their staduim has a capacity of 20,300.
7. Vioresin Sinani is their dangerman. Plays for the Albanian national team, has played in Turkish Super Lig and also Croation Premier league. Notched up 14 goals last season.
8. Their season finished officially at the end of may with the their play-offs. Vlliaznia have not played a competitive match since mid may.
Just said I'd post it for anyone interested:o.
We should forget about vienna as there albans will be no mugs!!
They lost 6-0 to Dundee, then they lost 8-0 to Napoli, the crowd they beat last year from Slovenia finished i think 10th in their league are rank useless and were out of season and have been hammered the season before that by a Bosnian team and the season before that to a Bulgarian team 6-3 and 6-0.
The Intertoto form is something i would pay little notice to as so many clubs don't think it seriously but anyway that was NK Zagreb and not Dinamo Zagreb and there is a major difference. ;) It will be a very difficult match and we will need Peers, Parkhouse and Holmes back to have a chance but i believe meeting a team out of season gives us a real chance of turning them over. They done well in their own league last season but i think they may have lost one or two of their players from last years team.
They won their league a few seasons ago and just sneaked through against a crowd from Iceland an away goals, they are probably a decent side but no need to make them out to be world beaters either. Look put it this way Bohs or Derry would take them and i would fancy us with a full side to take an out of season Bohs if we were in season. There is a fair bit for us to be positive about the draw but we need to have our injured players back and the fact the our lads will be in season for this and fully fit is a major plus imo. I am sure they won't be delighted with drawing a team have way through their season. C'mon the Rovers
[QUOTE=red bellied;1181514]Got the Albanian side. At least we got the home leg first, they mighnt bother turning up.[/QUOTE]
They'll turn up all right. Getting them to go back home might be the problem!:D
Has anyone booked yet?
:DI know i never said that. I said Zagreb, so technically i wasn't wrong.;)
I think they will look at this draw and say they could take us. From their point of view they are playing a team who has not been in Europe in 13/14 years, and atm we are very depleted. All that aside i think we will take them, but we will need to be on our game.
Will be travelling back to Sligo for the first leg which I think is on the 2nd July, how does one get match tickets, can they be bought on line ?
Just booked me flight...cannot fecking wait:) This is gonna be some dodgy trip:D
What days you heading Sligoman? Over on the Wed back on the Fri? Going via Dubrovnik?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17FXubPCleA
What lies in store for us in round two..... :eek::D
im going wed to fri via dubrovnik, think will stay in dubrovnik on the wed nite as be nearly 8 when land. so party in croatia wed and albania thurs. cant wait will be a great trip. never thought id be saying im going to albania !!!
Will the Drogheda game be pushed back the Sunday?
ya we should all meet up somewhere on the wed nite and keep the crowd together. be great craic
after getting myself and me mate booked in both nights in 2 lovely hotels. dubrovnik on wed in a lovely 3 star with its own private beach for 40 euro each and 5 star in shkoder on thurs nite for 37.50 each. hopefuly drink and partying as cheap the rest of the way !!!
Rovers100% is that per night? Would ya mind sending it on to me? :o
Think we should all base ourselves in some pub the day of the match and try and stay together.
lads, if ye are willing to go through Liverpool, Easyjet do direct flights to Dubrovnic for £116 return. You can fly knock to Liverpool for feck all
http://www.easyjet.com/en/book/step3.asp#x
Hi to all,
I'm a fan of Vllaznia :)
I see that a lot of you want to come to Albania. I suggest to come to Shkoder from Tirana (airport of Rinas). You can see the flies at the site of airport http://www.tirana-airport.com.al/ .
Shkodra is 90 km from Rinas.
You are welcome to Shkodra :)
For the match , I think that our squad will pass the first leg :).
I like the fourth heading down the page "Shkodranet a friendly match in puke" :)
Looking forward to our trip Vllaznit. Most of us will be flying into Dubrovnik and will have to get down to Shkodra from there. Is there a bus service for this or would you know what's the best way to get down?
Will many/any of you make the journey to Ireland for the first leg?
Lads try and organise your own bus. We did it in Odense and Gothenburg and it worked grand. Get e-mailling any bus companies and see what they can do for you.
http://www.findcroatia.com/transport...axi_trains.htm
http://www.visit-croatia.co.uk/travellingaround/bus.htm
For 20 a head in Denmark we got a company to pick us up at Billund and drive the hour or so to Odense, picking us up 2 days later in plenty of time for flight home
We are 5000/1 to win the tournament. Bargain! :)
Your right there Dodge.......contact NeilMcD on here (I know he's a Bohs fan but other than that he's sound;)) he organised a bus in Dubrovnik to Podgorica for the Ireland game, so will probably have the Bus Company details
Gutted I cannot make either leg......so make sure you all give it loads so I can go to Vienna!