Let him say his piece. Interesting bloke.
Printable View
Let him say his piece. Interesting bloke.
I hate this mentality where you get these whingers trying to ban people when they say something they don't like or find mildly offensive. Join ourweecountry.com. You'd be more at home there as they ban anyone for not towing the party line.
If you don't like what he says you can click the ignore option on his profile and you won't see any of his messages again. No need to go whining for him to be banned even if he does talk rubbish most of the time.
Shay Given? Best 'keeper in the Premiership over the past decade, in my humble opinion.
Of our current squad, 18 out of 25 players were born in Ireland. This doesn't include the injured David Meyler, the overlooked Andy Reid, or the self-exiled Stephen Ireland, all of whom are Irish-born. Of the expected starting line-up in Armenia, only Liam Lawrence and, if selected, Kevin Kilbane will be English-born.
I don't have overall stats for every player that has represented Ireland in the last 20 years, but out of the better/more influential Irish players to have debuted in the last 20 years, I give you Roy Keane, Denis Irwin, Gary Kelly, Kenny Cunningham, Shay Given, Steve Finnan, Stephen Carr, Ian Harte, Richard Dunne, John O'Shea, Andy Reid, Glenn Whelan, Kevin Doyle. You might also consider Stephen Ireland. In short, the vast majority of our most important players have been Irish-born.
We had an Irish-born majority in our 2002 World Cup squad.
Out of our 1998 European Youth Championship-winning squad, Liam George was the only English-born player (apart from the London-born, Dublin raised Stephen McPhail).
Out of our last team to compete in the World Youth Cup in 2003, only Darren Potter and David Bell were English-born.
Of the current Irish U-21 team, only four players (Kiernan, Onyebanjo, McCarthy and Mason) out of eighteen are UK-born.
As we can see from the patterns in underage and senior teams, it's nonsense to say that 'most' of our players are English or Scottish-born.
It's not aidinho's opinions I have a problem with; we can argue the merits of McGeady vs. Lawrence all day, it's pretty subjective. It's the sweeping, prejudiced, narrow-minded generalisations, with no thought or resources whatsoever, that are clearly designed as wind-ups, that get my goat.
I'm seriously beginning to doubt whether he's even a Celtic fan from Scotland at all.
Celtic's 'association' with Ireland owes itself to mass immigration to Glasgow in the 19th century.
Yet aidinho, who sees himself as being of this 'Irish' tradition, is completely unwilling (as seen on other threads) to accept the Irishness of 2nd or 3rd generation Irish people in England.
Bizarre logic.
So you'd like Forrest to represent Ireland if possible.....only to slate him for doing so in your next breath, for being and Scotsman?
Foot.ie is open 24/7 365 days a year. You are free to post when you want.Quote:
Originally Posted by aidinho
Aidan (The poster !)? Yer making yourself look silly.
Been there, done that. As in where you have/seem to be. Take a chill pill FFS.
Spartak have just (last week) signed the Kombarov twins from Dinamo Moscow. Kirill and Dimitri both play as wingers (left and right) so I do wonder what this will mean for McGeady now, both are 23, and both will probably represent Russia in the not too distant future. I would imagine they could play Kirill at right back but they are both primarily wing players.
With a joke nearly 40 years old???
You need to get out more....
I don't agree. His tone and content is outright offensive. If I was a newcomer browsing this forum and reading his contribution I'd never return. Let's try and get (at least this part) of the forum back to what it used to be & what it's supposed to be - a platform for people with something to say about the Irish national team, positive or negative, to exchange views. I don't care about toeing any "party line" - anything goes, but Aidinho's contribution is just unadulderated rubbish.
The forum used to encourage people to come on and spout whatever opinions they liked about football without much fear of being banned or suspended. Eirebhoy was fairly forgiving with people's ramblings once they didn't become too offensive or agressive. You get much less leeway now.
Aidinho hasn't said anything particularly offensive or agressive. People spouting unmitigated garbage qualifies as neither and that's all he's guilty off yet you have members crawling out of the woodwork suggesting he should be banned. We've turned into a nation of militant politically correct lunatics just like our friends across the water.
As I said earlier just ignore his posts if he annoys you.
This thread has become cluttered with infantile garbage and the garbage is spreading out to other threads.
People answer his nonsense and it goes on for pages.
Diverse opinions are welcome. Aidinho does not even fulfill the minimum standard to hold or express opinions.
An opinion requires some (varying) degree of forethought before expression. Aidinho appears incapable of performing this basic function at this stage in his life.
Best not to reply to any of his posts, because he is also missing the capacity to understand what is written in a reply.
It's subtle (maybe more bizarre?) but sweeping and provocative statements like the following that perplex/amuse me somewhat. I don't believe someone could really believe the nonsense he spouts. The following is a selection from the past three days alone:
I'm 2nd generation Irish so I don't like England full stop.
An integral aspect of being Irish is not liking England full stop then?
[Niall] McGinn is pals with [Kyle] Lafferty whats that all about?
Why McGinn should have a problem (beyond aidinho's sectarian and intolerant assumptions) with being pals with Lafferty, I'm not sure. They are international team-mates, after all.
On Mark Lawrenson's nationality, in spite of aidinho claiming himself to be second-generation Irish:
lawro is fecking english mate.
just as I expected. just let the English run your team and TV and country then.
When informed that Niall McGinn apparantly had no interest in playing for Ireland:
that's how [Niall McGinn] is being blackballed [by Neil Lennon] then, we have Neil Lennon as coach now, he hates the Rangers just as much as those wee guys you saw during the orange walk was on in Belfast hitting them with petrol bombs and that..... and worse.
On Aiden McGeady's impending debut for Spartak Moscow:
Apparently [McGeady's] debut will be in Chechnya now and just like yourselves they have now declared peace
Huh? :confused:
Then there was his original spell of typing solely in a Glaswegian accent; possibly an over-compensation? And he refers to us as "the Republic". Is this common for Scottish-born second-generation Irish? Or is it just a northern thing? Hmm...
Such comments don't really deserve a reaction because they're so daft and doing so only insinuates a certain level of credibility, although it would be somewhat embarrassing to encounter them and see them let go; a catch-22 situation certainly. I can see why someone might take offence if they thought he was of a serious persuasion, but I don't let myself get worked up by him as I don't think he's genuine at all. To be honest, I think he's a troll/Rangers fan from the north on a wind-up mission to draw sectarian and ignorant comments out of posters on here; possibly someone seeking to avenge the influx of Irish fans onto OWC in light of the whole eligibility saga. If that is the case, he's, as you'd expect, failing miserably. If my suspicions are incorrect, then he must be a 12-year-old kid from Glasgow and I don't know what he's doing working security at nights. Ignore him if he bothers you. Otherwise, just laugh at what he has to say.
I've got a soft spot fae the wee radge.
I would simply question anybody's sanity that is even remotely offended by anything a member has posted who had previously claimed that Aiden McGeady's delivery was 'Beckamesque'. I kid you not.
To be honest it's a relatively 'free' world, thus would tilt towards a, er, libertarian stance of 'free', er, speech for all.
Including yer man and his posts which are a little crazed.
Spartak Moscow were drawn in Group F with Chelsea, Marseille and MŠK Žilina in today's Champions League draw. Will be interesting to see how McGeady does against Chelsea. I'd imagine they'd have a very good chance of progressing in second position. Between them and Marseille really.
I notice that 'aidinho' has gone a bit quiet in recent nights. I wonder did he feel his cover was blown, or maybe it's just due to something perfectly understandable and he's no longer working security... :rolleyes:
McGeady is expected to play some part in Terek Groznyi vs Spartak Moskow tomorrow. I believe kick-off is about 1pm Irish time. For those of you with a bet365 account they often show the Russian games online. There are usually plenty of other streams online as well.
Aiden isn't even on the bench for Spartak today. Hopefully it's not an injury and he'll be on his way to Dublin tonight to meet up with the squad.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?i...1&league=RUS.1
btw Spartak have been well on top for the first 10 minutes and my Russian is coming along nicely. Близо́к локото́к, да не уку́сишь
Is he injured or what- has he been part of any sqaud since he joined Spartak
Jacky, he had a back injury at Celtic in preseason, and hasn't made a squad yet in the two matches Spartak have played since his transfer.
Have/will Spartak release him for international duty? I know they are supposed to but if he has an injury then I'm sure they could persuade everybody it isn't in his interests to travel.
Probably played about 45 minutes since in all of preseason to date. Not great if we do actually need him over the next week.
I understand the whole thing about match fitness / sharpness and so on, but I kind of agree with Trap when he said all he needed himself was a week's pre-season and he was good for 90 minutes. If you look after yourself and train well in preseason you're likely to be in peak condition and fresh to go. He's probably itching for a game. Anyone who does athletics will know all about tapering before an event - i.e., you've done all the training, to be fresh you need to ease off a bit. Lawrence & McGeady won't have lost fitness over the summer.
Getting worried about McGeady being at Spartak, some rumblings in the club at present and the main moneyman behind the club has in the past day been on local media here complaining about demands being made by Karpin and his "35%" (this reference to the amount of votes he got to get elected into his position). They've just off-loaded Stipe Pletikosa to Spurs and are trying to clear off debts owed to past players. It's a massive club in Russia (undeservedly so) and I only wish he'd gone to a solid side like Loko, but here's hoping.
Agree with regards to fitness. Its the touch/sharpness factor that is lost without games under the belt. You only have to miss 5-a-side for a couple of weeks at my pathetic level to notice the ball bouncing off you and the inability to weight a pass properly. Completely different level I know but Ive seen it with professionals coming back from a lay off to see it takes a few competitive games to get back in to the swing of things. I'd be disappointed if he did feature but the game passed him by or was riddled with simp;e errors because of lack of game time in recent weeks.
Not sure we'll have much option though based on Duffers news etc...
Assuming McGeady is healthy I think he can make a real impact for us. I reckon Armenia will be a fairly similar team to Georgia and McGeady had a stormer against them last campaign.
He played a full part in training today for the first time.