AUL Results - Tuesday 26th May:
Premier League: Pearse Celtic 2 Park Utd 0; Kilreen Celtic 1 Grattan Utd 1.
Premier A League: Carrigtwohill Utd 3 Cathedral Celtic 2.
3rd Division Promotion Play – Off: Macroom 3 Innishvilla 3.
Printable View
AUL Results - Tuesday 26th May:
Premier League: Pearse Celtic 2 Park Utd 0; Kilreen Celtic 1 Grattan Utd 1.
Premier A League: Carrigtwohill Utd 3 Cathedral Celtic 2.
3rd Division Promotion Play – Off: Macroom 3 Innishvilla 3.
That referee should hold his head in shame distroyed a good game by sending off 2 Kilreen players easy saying who he wanted to win that league , the Aul should have a good look at the standard of there referees for next season because it's a disgrace with fellas like D.Cronin getting paid for that tonight . Neutral venue for the game should be organised in all for Wednesday week no team should of gotten home advantage for the desider and of all pitches then grattans pitch where horses be kept on
One of the worst performances from a ref I've witnessed in a long time. The AUL should be ashamed of themselves putting him in charge of a big game with so much at stake he was as one sided as you could get and clearly knew who he wanted to win from the start.Fair play to Kilreen who played well to the end despite the shocking calls being made.
Having a team with home advantage in a league play off is scandalous and not fair. Tossing a coin in this day and age another genius move from the AUL . Joke.
That second red card was a farcical decision. Lads we shouldnt even be talking about a play off. Amateur or not its a LEAGUE played over 18 matches Plenty of ways for it to be sorted. And the aul have tossed a coin for every play off game they have ever had id say. Couldnt think of a neutral venue as every aul pitch around the city is poor.
I'd say the reason why the aul do the toss of a coin situation is because they don't want to fit the bill of a neutral venue and refs and linesmen also.
Huge Congrats to Carrigtohill Utd who after tonight's win are promoted. Well deserved for the club and the people involved. Have come a long way in recent years and hopefully that will continue !!!
Great night for carrigtwohill tonight and me personally with promotion to premier division huge congrats to everyone involved with us . Roll on next season
Cracking season for Carrigtwohill, AOH Cup Finalists, promotion to the Premier and Second Team winning their division, huge congratulations to all involved.
Congrads to Carrig showed great character desire and heart to gain promotion to premier well done massive season for the club and just shows when the right structures are put in place the results will follow . Fair play to all involved from top to bottom of club great work put in by all from under 8 all the way up to the men's teams .
Last nights match was interesting . Kilreen had no intention of rolling over and handing Grattan the league . The referee had a different idea I think . I never saw this guy reffing a match before and I hope to never again . Is he new to ref panel? Missed some of the match but when I arrived I overheard a few neutrals complaining about him. The second sending off was bad. The centre half had kicked the ball before the whistle had even blown.
The play off is next wednesday in Grattan park and hopefully the aul many who was watching last night will appoint strong ref and linesmen.
Think grattan chance of winning league is over after last night.eric shinkwin will be a huge loss could nearly walk to his car after the game not sure was it his knee or ankle he injured..harsh sending off on Murray s behalf but rules are rules kick ball away after whistle blown is yellow card..also bilko has stag party this weekend is home late Tuesday night be huge affect on league..delighted kilreen just didn't roll over an let them pick up league
Wasn't at the game last night so can't comment on the ref, I think Grattan will rue not finishing the job last night especially against 9 men, Shinkwin will be a huge loss if he is out of the playoff because Grattan have no ready made replacement with having such a small squad, I feel the momentum is with Glenthorn now, I agree with the point it should be played on a neutral venue like Castleview or Temple pitch and they should insist on linesmen for a game of that stature. Any truth in the Kilreen keeper going overboard with his celebrations at the end of the game?
Could have, easily. In the middle of the melee with the second sending off someone called someone a Sp*****, I heard it, others did, no action taken. I've got no idea who said it, but it was said. It was Shinky's hamstring, pulled up in first half when he landed. He will play Wednesday, no way he misses that game.
Lads I was on here numerous times at the start of the season talking about poor refereeing people only notice it in big games but the same refs have been poor all year and some every year the AUL should really have a look at the ref panel some of them are jokes. Any idea who the ref is for the Premier play-off
Sloggs maybe you can answer me here. I remember years ago coaching a kids team with Kilreen, think they were 8's at the time. The fella who used to help me out with the team wasn't around for a game one weekend cause he had paid €48 to go to a 2 day course in the mardyke after which he was then able to ref Cork Schoolboys League games. Fact. Now, he never actually reffed one, he just done it to have. Surely this isn't the case with AUL refs? You sit down for 2 days and then your handed a whistle?? Going off last night, maybe it is?? Just curious how one goes about becoming a ref because it mustn't be that tough. Harry McGovern springs to mind as exceptionally bad.
Only one man to ref that game gene Stephens the best ref in the aul,threats players like adults and with respect and I think most teams admire him for that,standard of refs is brutal witnessed a certain Mr murphy a few weeks ago and he was absolutely brutal,unfit,poor decisions and bad attitude,2 refs that I taught were very good when I saw them this year were Liam Murphy and Owen harte.
He did a two day course and was able to ref school boys? I guess most the AUL refs did a 3 day course so. 2 days is ridiculous. 2 years ago I was spealkimg to a ref in the airtricity league now and he told me If I wanted to be a ref at the the time there was a €75 course I think in Middleton but if you got through the first level it moves on and I think he said said you do it for a few months and there was an opportunity to go to Italy and get coached and ref like lower tournaments under age I presume but he said if I got into that and progressed then I'd get the same ref badges as him or something like that. I would of preferred the two days for 48 though 😉😉
Agree with ye here lads the only decent ref is gene Stevens. And even with gene I feel in the big games he's not fit enough to get up and down the pitch anymore.
That's easy for you to say standing on the line I never said he wasn't a top ref. I said he's not able to get up and down anymore. I'm not picking this info from thin air. Your just afraid to criticise any ref on here in case your team next year gets any disadvantage. We all can't agree on here that's what opinions are about
What about Jon Hayes and Johnpaul Nagle taken over Pearse Celtic talks of Kelvin Connally be joining in coming weeks?
Lads, the keys to the refs standard being "equally bad" as it was 30 years ago is that we are doing the same thing. They judge themselves - Has anyone here ever been asked in an official capacity what their opinion of a ref was? I struggle to think of another area of life where I pay money and have absolutely no comeback. If I dont like the Taosieach, I dont vote for him - If I dont like Sky I go to UPC - If I dont like ESB - I go to Airtricity. We dont even know the criteria used for judging refs. Yet we pay €600 a year. As was said, €75 quid and two days and then they have the power to dish out yellows(or fines). After 2 days? We are in Blatter dreamland territory here!!
On the other side of it, I know one of the top young refs leaving because of line abuse. It works both ways.
If given the opportunity - would guys on here go to the AUL meetings or is it just hot air?
Without the refs we wouldnt have games to play,view or manage in. 48 quid for the abuse they get is not worth it. The ref the other night was called a ******* 3 times in about 40 seconds after a sending off he got wrong. Players managers make as many mistakes in games and get nowhere near the same level of abuse. its a 2 day introductory course and then you start off in u11 u12 games while being constantly observed. The quicker you pick things up the quicker you are moved up the ranks.
I remember was it not last year or year before a referee was physically abused I don't care if you do a 2 day course or 22 year course a lot of responsibility comes down to discipline within the team and management and of course committee I understand players get frustrated but some grief some refs get is going over board people threatening refs to meet them at half time and at full time has happened for years
people give gene respect because he gained respect..Tully never got respect because he taught he was reffing schoolboys and couldn't disagree with him. Its like of gene who should be having a chat with rest of the refs and show them simple things matter when it comes to reffing like showing players and staff respect.but their is a rift between cork referee association in cork so looks like we will have to deal with this for another couple years..
You both make excellent points and its part of what I'm saying. It's us versus them and it shouldn't be. I don't know if they do u11s first anymore. Should you have the power to fine after two days training? What are they judged on? Shouldn't we get a say on that? We don't know. Maybe they are told not to engage, but the best refs do engage? We can't play without an official but is that enough reason to hand over nearly fifty quid. Use the captains more-punish the lines more- who knows what the answer is? Does the red get a fair hearing when he isn't there? Nobody knows cos nobody asked!
Eddie foley is responsible for over seeing the refs and linesmen at AUL games !! Wonder what his view on referees is
They dont dish out the fines tho. The league decides that. The top referees make huge blunders and they are professional. I get what your getting at. Maybe a club and refs seminar. Its never going to happen tho because its too easy for fellas to come on here and have a moan.
Referees in local leagues have a hard task trying to get every call right when doing the game by themselves,we see it week in week out officials in the top leagues in Europe making mistakes and there is 3 of them on the pitch plus a fourth official to make calls. It's a joke that someone is considered qualified as a ref after a two day course the new recruits should be made to go on a work experience type situation with the top and experienced referees to see how they handle certain situations for a least a few weeks.
The aul is classed as a secondary league to the msl and certain referees buy into this believing they are too good to ref in the league. Maybe they should be a promotion/relagation type situation introduced for refs in the league with a pay structure the premier/premier a refs get 45 euro a game, first/second division 35 euro and third division 28 euro,it would encourage the refs to strive for the bigger pay for the bigger games. Ivan is right something needs to be said at the agm.
Next year will see fewer of the top referees in the aul there is an elite panel being made up for the msl that will see those officials do the senior league only and they'll be exempt from being rotated around the various leagues as was previously done. The likes of chalky, Thomas long, mark Barry, Keith Callanan are on the panel as well as anyone on the league of Ireland panel like Dave keeler and ken Hennessy. More ex players should be encouraged to enter the refereeing ranks, I think too many refs nowadays havent played the game and threat it like a job, we need more of the likes of minty,chalkie,tony Thompson,Thomas long, gene Stephens refereeing guys that you can approach and get an explanation about decisions without being treated like a child.
The AUL Premier League play-off between Grattan United A and Glenthorn Celtic A will take place in O’Neill Park on Wednesday, 3 June 2015 at 6.45 p.m.
Referee: Gene Stephens.
Linesmen Tony Thompson and Paul O’Sullivan. There ye go lads thats a good line up of men in charge and thank god they assigned linesmen. Lets hope its a good game. It always is I suppose between these two.
Pity it couldn't have been played on a better quality pitch, to decide the premier champions.