:D :DQuote:
Originally Posted by razor
why's that?
Printable View
:D :DQuote:
why's that?
Muzzy Izzett originally turned down apppearing for Turkey after he got someone in his family to translate some documentation into English. He discovered that by having a Turkish passport he could be called up for National service (imagine the conditions in a Tturkish army camp). How many of the post Charlton players would have played if similar conditions had applied?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus
Introducing military service: bit of a serious measure just to keep out a few players that might not really have the cause at heart, no?
I am living in Germany for the last nine years and my Son who was born in germany, who speaks, who goes to German school, who has German friends would never support Germany. He is 100% Irish. People questioning the "Irishness" of players mainly born in England - it seems to me at least - are displaying a moronic anti Englishness - finding it hard to get their head around the idea that someone born in England might actually regard himself as Irish.
If it is outside of England - its OK though!
Your kid is 100% irish? you are dillusional.... give me a break...
Look, i live in the U.S... when/if i have a kid... unfortunately he'll be an american with and irish Dad.!
Oh get your head out of your goddam ass for once! The rest of the world lives by different rules than the good old Yoo-ess-ay. Germany doesn't like handing out citizenship to foreigners born within it's own borders and living there all their lives let alone people that are five minutes out of the airport, think that a cr*p Shamrock decorated bar in Queens is just like home and somehow consider themselves siddenly 'American', a la Apu Nahasapeemapetilon in that classic Simpsons episode, because they can name the number of stars on old glory. (half talented footballers, naturally, excepted) FFS! :rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by The Legend
Oh BTW, you'll find that the people entitled to call themselves 'American' are the descendants of Geronimo and Stitting Bull. :p
Message to dahamsta from the little brown man: 'Any chance of letting me back?':oQuote:
Whatever happened to that chap Davros. Haven't noticed him on foot.ie over the past couple of weeks. Have to say that I think the forum has been all the better for his absence. He contributed nothing, with the exception of poor spelling!Quote:
Lopez everyone is an American, they just don't know it. Maybe in some mountain valley in Nepal you will find some who is not American.Quote:
Originally Posted by lopez
My Dad's a Dub, my Ma's a dub my 2 brothers and my sister are Dubs. I went to school in Ballyfermot, I was a Garda in Dublin. I live in Canada now for 17 years. I was born in Birmingham , Eng-gerland. Don't call me English, ever, I am Irish 100% and if selected available to play for Ireland heh heh !!
go way ooutta that, you're having us on...... everyone knows all the Gaurds in Dublin are culchies.Quote:
Originally Posted by mountie
Where does anyone read anyone who has a problem with players (in general, not specific terms) born outside of Ireland playing for Ireland? Certainly not in this thread
Unfortunately despite reinventing himself with other psuedonyms, like the Right Honourable Gentleman himself ;) , he was unable to reinvent himself per se. Much that I found his rants about certain sections of Irish society (Planters, anti-Celtic brigade, corcaigh and, erm, anyone from Meath) made me laugh, they - and the unreadable, acronym littered, Nokia Speak with a hint of Glasgee, hardly helped the ambience of foot.ie and were at times quite uncomfortable verging on the downright offensive. Nice bloke without the computer, though.Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
That's not being American. That's called being a 57 variety cultural mongrel.:D Conversely, could you consider 'Galway Bay,' 'Toora, loora, loora (Irish Lullaby)' and 'It's a Great Day for the Irish' as Irish music?Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwerty
I agree, nobody on here has a problem with the likes of Kilbane, Breen. O Leary, McGrath playing for ireland. But the reason it is good to see as many Irish born playes in the team as possible is not anything to do with anti 2g, on my part. I like to see it as it shows that we are producing more players through our system as possible. However, Quality should be main reason someone gets called up within reason.
i dont think theres been anit-englishness on this thread,i think over all there is a very welcoming attitude towards recriuts past and future as long as they genuinely ''want to play for ireland'' as opposed to ''have an international career''Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergreen
an ireland cap is something most of us here would have given our left spud for so theres nothing surprising if theres a negative reaction to someone uses their irish roots to gain international recognition only beacuse he hasnt managed to play for his first choice.
there is justifiable scepticism towards cases like this,and most of them have been born in england,thats the key difference here.
well how about someone who was born in the usa? i was born in the usa but concider myself 100% irish. my dad is from limerick and still have family there. i was brought up in an irish household i could even speak some irish when i was 6 yrs old!! i was always loyal to ireland and always will be. my culture at home was irish and my kids will be brought up like that too. i even hold an irish passport and will die to play for ireland, i have never supported the us football team nor will i ever i dont consider my self american by any means.i think it is what u feel in your heart rather than where u were born. what will the irish say about a yank who want to play for them? would i be a plastic paddy or will i be accepted as real irish?
OLeary was born in london but moved to dublin when he was three, his parents are Irish too. McGrath was born in England, again grew up in Ireland, and had an Irish mother and Ghanian father. Kilbane puts so much into the Irish team, he won the 1998 Republic of Ireland's Under 21 Player Of The Year award. These lads are Irish and its a disgrace to say they're not, once theres Irish blood running through your veins thats all you need and you dont need anyone in Irelands approval.Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilMcD
Sadly, if you have a New York accent then you'll always be regarded as a plastic by too many, even if you speak perfect Irish. The good news is that most people from Ireland don't follow this line of thought, or at least are willing to change their minds with a bit of education.Quote:
Originally Posted by sean
The US nationalism is quite frankly frightening to me. To be born and bred - so to speak - in the US and still consider oneself a foreigner is remarkable due to the suffocation of everyone who stays more than a week in the country to abide to being American. All that saluting the flag at school etc. As someone that went to non-Catholic schools in England, the fact hits you soon here, even without the 'troubles', that you are not part of the native family and nor do they consider you one, and they don't really care if you don't think much of the German lady (not that many of my English schoolmates were fans of her either, come to that).
no i dont have a new york accent i have a nice irish one. some yanks call me english (that ****es me off) but the accent helps while you pick up chicks. i dont sound american at all i sound british to the yanks but when i go back to limerick the natives think i am one of them!!! so does my family
Well Sean, its getting better and better, can you do a job in midfield?Quote:
The opposite happened to me. Some Yank when I was first over there asked what my nationality was. I said Irish and despite talking to a Mockney for a number of minutes didn't comment on it. Bit like that Mrs Doubtfire. Robin Williams with a Scottish highlands accent of a supposedly English woman. Plausible, but Hollywood is never that complex.Quote: