Because many of the LOI people I know are clean mental. :turtle::terror::victory:
It's a good laugh though.
Printable View
I often see lads whittling wood outside Dalyer.
I do often see lads outside Oriel whittling away at the wood.
http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thin...l&tid=32879195
Hold on......... thats not whittling !!
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!
Is that Brian O Connor the racing correspondent? If it is, I remember a couple of years ago, in the early new year, some IT sports journos had their predictions fof the coming year (GAA winners, Derby winners, 6Nations winners) and one of the questions was for the EPL and LOI winners. His answer was something like "Chelsea for one, and who cares about the other?"
I sent an email of complaint to his editor about it (and the fact that it wasn't edited out) but never got a reply.
Not sure this is the right place, but sweet jeez, what self respect has this country left ?! Last nights herald back page, a big pic of Man Utd. What chance has any sport to attract people when the only (I think) national evening paper fawns all over a foreign team ?
It gets worse.
Seems like he's from Cork too
What more would you expect from the West Brit media in Ireland?
Usual drivel.
Now I would love to see Eamonn Sweeney taking that article apart bit by bit and slaughtering him, it would help restore some sanity to the world.
And I thought I come out with comple sh1t. That article takes the biscuit.
Not tragic CD but indicitive of the cretinous attitude of the muppet that wrote it. i would suggest if he wrote that about any bogball sport (GAA stick fighting, womens stickfighting (chicks with .....), handball)it would have disappeared long before publication. many journo's are idiots that think themselves funny, its the editors job to weed out the crap.
The fact that the idiot that penned that joke article puts himself forward as a serious sports journalist says it all. :o
Anyone see what the M.I.B. lads did to the jurnos did when they were outside Giggs's house? Direct action...
Just read through this thread and I am not sure but is the general concensus that LOI fans should not support an English team as well or is it just knocking the English supporting ones that dont go to LOI games . Really my question is are ye making any distinction or are they all sc*m. I love my English team even when they dropped to the 3rd div and noticed that lots of the smaller teams in that division (which I would think would be one higher than LOI premier) followed premier teams too . Sligo rovers would of course be my team and would never suffer cos of LEEDS so Im not seeing the problem following a foreign team. I remember coming down from the Showgrounds and upon entering the bar being asked the score to which I always said you should have gone to the game . Was I being an ass**le? In hindsight maybe I should have told them and then explained what a good night it was and good atmosphere and all that to encourage them. Also while the ground has undergone many improvements it was ,to be fair, very uninviting at that time . I think whoever (I forget) earlier said if you have an interest in football you can be swung over to LOI is possibly on the right track.
Jesus harleyleeds, why do you care?
Some fans of Irish teams have no interest in the English game, some have a huge interest in it. There's no uniform thought. Enjoy supporting your Irish team, and do what you like with your spare time
Brian O'Connor, on the other hand, is clearly an idiot. Sadly though, he's closer to most football fans in Ireland than those of us who go to games each week. The fact that himself and <superinjunction>phile Tom H<superinjunction> were allowed write such anti Irish football drivel shows that the mainstream doesn't care about us
Their loss
It was 'why do you are what a bunch of Irish football fans on the internet think of you?'
Of course I dont care what you think of me I got the feeling from reading several of the posts that many had an almost snobby notion about their support of their local team and no affiliation twoards an english one, and that they felt that to watch english football on tv was taboo. I was trying to understand the mentality here. Your explanation was good but I was curious as to why you felt the need to say "why i care" and now Im wondering would you not class me as a LOI fan because I live here and support an english team as well . Again Im just curious to understand mindset thats all . I contribute about 5-800 euro to Sligo rovers each year , not alot I appreciate but all helps so does my non attendance disqualify me (I dont go to Elland road either)? Still I am only curious as I said to understand more the thought process of the younger fans . Thanks again.
In the following order:
Support
Local junior team (every Sunday)
Local League of ireland team (season ticket holder)
National team (Only the decent matches or bringing some kids from the club)
EPL (sky moth when i get time, been to a load of matches when i worked in London)
It's the internet - it's not feckin representative of anything let alone the "average LoI fan", who simply doesn't exist. No one I know could give a toss whether someone who goes to games also follows a UK Club. Most couldn't even give a toss about the ones that don't go, but support UK clubs. The only one's that get any real stick are those clueless idiots who slag the league off, like the tool who wrote that article, from a position of zero knowledge and ridiculous logic (again like that tool).
Anyone who takes whats said on a forum to heart is just looking for an excuse - if it wasn't that it'd be some other bs excuse. It's their loss - what they don't realise is that as much as helping the league, if they get into going to live football they'll be helping themselves have a better, more fulfilling life. Unless they go to Athlone.
Bogfighting and stickball would probably make more sense.
Stickball is already taken though isn't it? 'Too fast, wheres the ball?' is more apt.
Brawlball?
excellent post.
Just to add my two cents worth. I support both Drogheda united and Everton. I emigrated from Drogheda to Boston about 3 and a half years ago (just after the drogs won the league!). Here in Boston a few of us set up Boston Evertonians. There are about 100 members and about 20 of us watch the games together at stupidly early hours. I have been to see the New England Revolution a few times but it is hard to get into as they are about 20 miles away and the fact that they have a fan base of about 10,000 playing in a 80,000 seater stadium doesn't help. I like catching the ocasional live game. the USA are playing Spain here next week and the Revs are playing LA tomorrow, and I like the craic sitting in a bar early on a Saturday morning watching the toffees loose to West Brom but nothing compares to league of Ireland football, I never realized how much I'd miss it until it was gone. So appreciate what you've got and don't pay any heed to barstool LoI bashers. sure LoI fans are a bit odd and there might be a superiority complex there but thats all part of it, Its like being part of a big family (with that ****** brother from Oriel Park).
LoI haters never really bothered me but the attitude of the press has always gotten to me. I listen to 'off the ball' at work here and Roddy never has anything positive to say about the league and he's their expert. Ken Early, their football supremo, knows sfa about the LoI and cares even less. Surely there must be some sort of way of sponsoring him to pick one club and follow them for a season. His football show lasts an hour four nights a week and them lads would do anything for a few bucks!
Rambling a bit now, Fu*k what the barstoolers think, appreciate what you've got because I wish I had it.
It's a shame that elements within the country's mainstream media are so openly hostile and unnecessarily condescending towards their own national league and for what really? What harm has it ever done them or the game they apparently love in general? In that sense, it'd be different from those, say, in the English media who decry the commercialisation of football in England and castigate the Premier League as a symptom of this.
There is a radio station around these parts called LMFM who give sweet fcuk all coverage to the two LOI clubs within their catchment area(Dundalk & Drogs).I dont even think that they had live commentary on the last local derby? But they will cover any(and i mean any) bogball or stick fighting match or event.What chance is there that the mainstream media will pay attention/some respect to LOI when the local crowd dont give a c*ap ?? (and full respect to DundalkFM and the Dundalk Democrat for their top class coverage of DundalkFC games)
Fair play to you DannyInvicible,you certaintly have a strong passion for this subject. Maith Thu.
Ah, I'm not actually a Mancunian if that's what you were getting at, in case the location confused you. I was actually born in Donegal. Back in my pre-adolescent days, I used to frequent Finn Park on a regular basis with a Finn Harps-supporting neighbour who drove me up to Ballybofey for my first dabbles with live football. I also attended the Brandywell on occasion as I lived a lot closer to Derry. In later formative years, I've been known to attend the Brandywell exclusively for Derry games, although I generally keep some of my earlier childhood activities under wraps now for obvious reasons. :p But I've always lived just outside the city, went to school there and my social life generally centres around it whenever I'm home, after all, so it made and makes sense to me in order to get my fix of local football. Whether others would accept that rationale or not is another matter...
My parents still live on the Donegal-Derry border and, as I said, I'd generally still consider it home.
See when people use the term 'bogball' or 'stick fighting' all the while moaning about showing disrespect to our national league, you really make yourself look silly and a bit of a hypocrite.
And just to say maybe why it gets coverage is because it's actually popular, the LOI isn't - so lose the chip on your shoulder. I find the LOI is usually a turn-off for a lot of people. The attitude stinks.
The attitude to the GAA from sections of the LOI is, I think, based in no small part on the GAA's historic attitude towards "foreign sports", and specific incidents like the Tallaght saga, and ploughing that football field in Kerry. You don't see the same degree of hostility towards, say, rugby.
Wrong forum buddy. I think Hoganstand is thataway ---> http://www.hoganstand.com/forum/forumpage.aspx
Yeah. But roll on Sunday and 2 from 2 for the mighty Dubs in the Championship in bog ball and stickfighting. :)
On a barstooling matter to see parents purchase their young children English/Scottish soccer paraphernalia is another aspect which starts Irish lids on the long road down the slippery slope if barstooling.