Celtic beat Saints tonight,nice way to finish the season but probably feel as though they beat them in the wrong game
Printable View
Celtic beat Saints tonight,nice way to finish the season but probably feel as though they beat them in the wrong game
Maybe im being harsh here as they have had a fantastic season but is there a big question mark over their strength in depth,every time they have rested players they have lost,Wilderness,Crumlin,Celtic
3 nothing games stelling, i wudnt be looking into that, michaels had a fantastic season are are back up as one of the very top teams in ireland, im sure they same would happen to town or any other decent junior side wishing to rest players for bigger games
they won the munster junior cup, tipperary cup and john delaney cup and were within whiskers of winning all 5, if you dont call that a fantastic season i do not know what you would call one, you cant win them all, its football and these are amateur guys who work 9-5 and go training 2/3 nites a week, they are not robots, st michaels should be very proud of their season. if clonmel celtic or peake villa or even town had won what they did there would be enormous celebrations.
And not to mention they had gone a few years with out Silverware. Ya im sure they are disappointed with the outcome of F.A.I and the Premier but winning Munster and the Tipp cup and John Delaney is a massive step forward for Saints so ya id agree that it was a fantastic season for them and im sure they will come back even stronger come August.
Winning the league keeps Town as top dogs though and i am sure Saints will be very keen to address that with the team they have
bringing up a tongue in cheek nothing comment from 3 years ago is ridiculous. if there was not a healthy rivalry between town and celtic it would be time to worry. why only bring it up now, fair enough the facebook thing as well but its impossible to stop people setting up fanpages on facebook so you cant hold a club responsible for that.
If a team relegated you, poached your best player, beat you 15-0 things like that id class as reasons to hold a grudge but for a little thing like that to bring it up 3 years later. come on :)
Also the comments about saints losing everytime they make wholesale changes. these were games where they change there whole team so would be a major shock if they won these games as convincingly as if they had there 1st 11 out. just look into limerick pike beat shannon 8-1 in a cup semi last sunday, then sent a mixture of fringe players and b players to play same team tues night in there last premier league game and lost 1-0.
saints b team are in tsdl div 1 there youths are league champions and fai semi finalists so you cant have better strength in depth than that.
Best of luck to town youths in delaney cup final , hopefully thay can keep the cup in south tipp and round of a good season for tsdl football
Its amazing how things change in football,the day of the league decider all i saw on this was how Town were in serious decline and players were leaving and Jamie was not the man for the job and here we are 3 weeks on and Town are in rude health and getting ready for a new season,what would we do without football eh? Roll on 2011/12
Whats 2/3 nights a week and 9 to 5 jobs got to do with a fantastic season, a fantastic season is when every player is happy with the out come of what way the season ended ask any st michaels player if they tell you it was a great season im sure they are not the right players for such a big. For St michaels winning the league is consistency, consistency from start to finish is a fantastic season.
ballboy what a ridiculous comment that is that you have just made are you for real ? whats 2/3 nights a week and 9 to 5 jobs got to do with it ? the point bilko is making is that you cant win everything you enter saints won 3 of the 5 they entered and came runners up in the league and fai when players reflect and get over the dissapointment of the fai they will say exactly the same thing.
You brought up the point kid,was just saying that pike didn't put out weakened teams while they were still in those comps,where as st michaels did,wasn't trying to be smart or anything.
well said repubican, he was obviously a ballboy during match days (hence his name) and never played the game so woudlnt understand :)
The season is over. Teams and clubs will assess their own performances. My club won nothing but we survived, enjoyed our football and made new friends. Thats what its all about.
now that the season is over im sure the top teams will be looking for new signings in their bid to challenge for the fai. here is a few players outside of the top 3 that i think they could be looking at,
eamon o hara- scored a lot of goals in first year in the premier and played oscar traynor
miickey coleman- always thought he was a top player, time to move on for him
mick ryan- strong and fast naturally left sided player, experienced league winner
alan leahy- like ryan a league winner and fixture in oscar traynor squad
ian barnes- not sure where he will end up but a quality player without a club
very true nononsense, clubs like ours may not be shining the silver in the summer but please god we can sure decide where the title goes by the odd decent result against the top two town and michaels next year, im sure you talkin about seanie o'hara, not eamon, he is a great striker, supposedly Town are hot on his heels. Leahy is one of the best defenders in the league, cudnt see him leaving Villa for someone else in the TSDL though, does he live in loughmore or around there?? barnes was too much trouble for Town i hear, reason why they werent too bothered when he left and got on with it. would coleman cut it at top level? dont know much about ryan
O Hara would be a great signing for Town,a big physical presence up front is exactly what they are missing,I could see Micky Coleman doing very well at a big club and David Slattery as well. Leahy was originally a Borris player so maybe thats where he will end up
sean o hara would be great signing for town i think jason barnes with wildies is decent left full too. dunno would either move to be honest. from cashel david slattery and michael coleman are quality players. cant see the peake players moving on. other than that where ian barnes plays next season seems to be up in the air as main tsdl transfer rumour. he would greatly improve celtic, if he decides to move there but im sure the likes of carrick would be interested in signing him if he is definatly not going back to town
Unless the Peake Villa team get a good manager this season i think that some players on the team should move on because Villa are on a down slope and its going to be very hard to get back up,Especially as they dont have the pull to get new players.
welcome aboard mr dependable i think someone on here mentioned last week that peake were already seeking a new manager so hopefully they get one sorted the sooner the better and give the league a good shot next season
carrick defo not interested in barnes apparently, what about the likes of paul kennedy and simon scully who did not start in cup final celtic, will they move to bigger and better things?
St.Michaels can defiently be proud off there acheivements. Although for the first few weeks their opinion will be clouded due to there heartbreaking defeats. they will eventually look back on it as a success
I disagree,Saints and Town are two of the biggest clubs in the country at junior level,two power houses and they set out every year to win their league and then the holy grail which is the FAI,they are victims of their own extremely high standards and its a credit to them that they are not happy and its that feeling which will drive them on next year
tipp top would you not think a munster trophy is a success, any town lads here think town would swap their league win this year for a munster success? i think so
Funny you should say that Bilko because i reckon Town would swap because they have won 7 out of 8 leagues,Paul Breen now has a 2nd Munster medal and still no league medal,the Munster is a great one to win but it pales in comparison to the FAI and i know how much Saints want to win the back the league,question for the Limerick boys writing on our forum would Pike rather Fairview won the league and Pike had of won the Munster or is it imperative to remain top dog in your league?
imo I'd imagine pike would prefer mj to league,but having said that the league means an awful lot to pike and they go out to win it every single year,it's a tough one to call,league makes you top dogs in your own county,but they set out to win every trophy that's available to them,touhy cup would prob be least priority to most clubs,but pike go out to win that as well every year,as fairview do I'm sure.
Yeah i think that if they get a good manager who can work well with the players and get good players into the club they will have a good season,especially as they have some good players at the club already
well thats what usually happens Mr.Dependable! you should apply
Mr Dependable, previous to season just over, ye had 3 consistent seasons culminating in winning the league, I am open to correction but had ye not the same manager during this time? Why did players change clubs after winning league? If you look at Town they keep the core of their panel together season after season and are rewarded by consistently winning leagues. On Saints not winning a league for a while I think it must hurt, Town had consistently performed at Munster Jr Cup level while winning leagues.
was the joe delaney youth cup final played this weekend?