pity about that mess at the end. It was a good clean game otherwise. Well done michaels. They could have scored 3 or 4 and fully deserved the win.
Printable View
good post pony. i hope what happened at the end doesnt overshadow what was a great performance from saints as you said they should have won more comfortably but celtic are an excellent side and put up a great show and i know saints have alot of respect for them. you have to admire the character of this saints team after last sunday how easy it could have been to feel sorry for themselves but they didnt and put in a great performance. chalky walsh made a great speech afterwards an gave great compliments to clonmel celtic aswel as his own club and team. roll on pre season :)
mikey o gorman is goin 2 pike rovers next season and on the subject of thurlas, their a very poor side
Pony- You are 100% correct it wasnt a dirty game but it saddens me to say that Celtic were let down last night by a few people. I am a fan of Celtic and what they are trying to acheive but the people involved in that row where a disgrace to the club- sorry but there can be no excuses, irrespective of what happened during the game
I just hope Celtic are seen to deal with it and that they learn from it. It wasnt a great game but it was played in the correct manner, pity that it was ruined by the stupid actions of people I consider to be good lads.
couldnt see john connery making much of an impact at pike. i suppose he would be decent squad player. what exactly happened at tipp final, was there a mass brawl or whats the story
Very well said. Although dissapointed with the result the silly carry on at the end tainted a decent cup final. I think most Celtic lads were more annoyed at that than the result. I haven't seen much of St Michaels this year but they are a very good side. Such a pity they didn't win FAI.
who is in charge of the celtic facebook page does anyone know? just read there that they reported that "in a bitter game" the club needs to take control of aspects of the club like that which send out wrong signals and feelings which might not be the opinion of most people in the club. i have noticed from time to time that their website over the years spoke very bitterly towards their rivals clonmel town, one comment which still sticks in my mind was when Town youths played a team which i think was Cork City in a big Munster game probably a Semi in Celtics field and it was been advertised on their site and at the end of the piece they wrote "come on the rebels" petty and distasteful i thought
I think you are way off the mark there. I regularly look at their website and have never seen any anti Town sentiment. Can you give an example? I don't recall seeing any 'come on the rebels' comment. Maybe you are getting their website confused with their facebook page???
Will Clonmel Celtic have to appoint a new manager now with Kenny O Shea facing a long ban?
You are probably correct Roberto. The website is official and representative of the club - Facebook is dangerous where anybody can put up what they like. I read the Clonmel Celtic website regularly and alway found it to be fair - wasn't aware there was a Facebook page.
as you said Roberto you do not "recall" but i certainly do and Clonmel Town people also do recall the event. and i know this for a fact because one of their current players danny madigan who designed their site was given stick over it at the time when he signed for the Town for a short period but he said it was their PRO at the time who wrote it so go back on your facts and figures
Just havin a look at there website, looks very good in fairness. I see a name of a youth player in 05/06 who scored 46 goals, James Kelly. Does he still play or what? i never heard of him but thats some goalscorin. Paul kennedy has a fair chunk of goals in his few seasons with them.
who is leavng from Town this year to go to Celtic? surprised he wudnt sign for Town, im sure they would love to have him, im sure he would like the chance of a Munster medal and reach the latter stages of an FAI, seems strange he is signin for Celtic. he would hardly to come and play for a country club would he? we have plenty of money we could give him
If you look back at your original post you state 'i have noticed from time to time that their website over the years spoke very bitterly towards their rivals Clonmel Town'. I would hardly think that one 'alleged' comment from years ago would constitute sustained abuse of Clonmel Town. If it was said at all it was probably said 'tongue in cheek' so don't be trying to create something out of nothing. And I don't know why you find it so surprising that Kevin Waters might be signing for Celtic. He played most of his schoolboy football with St Olivers, his brother plays for Celtic, his father and mother are supporters. They are a decent team that play good football, have good facilities and are well capable of challenging for honurs next season.
tongue in cheek or not, a website is an official voice of a club, very petty and distasteful, unfortunately celtic will only ever compete for honours at domestic level, never at provincial and national level
There's no question that Town are the bigger club but i do think Celtic have plans to knock them off their perch but at the same time Town have ambitions of winning that FAI so a healthy state for football in Clonmel,both clubs will be looking to add maybe 2-3 players
And what about all the other 'bitter' comments made from 'time to time' about their 'rivals' Clonmel Town. Your original post insinuated there has been quite a few derogatory comments. Would you care to elaborate or is it just a case of exagerration on your part????
i am not a member of the club but i do remember that one about the munster youths game quite distinctly and as i know quite a few guys from the club particularly well they have always remarked about negative petty comments on their site
No such comment was ever on the Clonmel Celtic facebook page. Its a group and its controlled by a club member. However, there is somebody using the clubs name as their own for a personal profile. He has been asked to identify himself but he won't, so this could be anyone, may not even be someone involved with the club. In fact it could be you Bilko.
I just spotted the comment on the website, it is still there, see for your own eyes Roberto, petty if you ask me..
DATE: 28/02/08
TOPIC: Cup game delayed
Clonmel Celtic's Tipperary 3rd Cup clash with Rock Rovers has been put back a week to facilitate the staging of the Munster Youth Cup semi final between Clonmel Town and Cork City that will take place at 2.30pm this Sunday at Celtic Park. Come on the Rebels!!! Celtic will now play Rovers on Sunday week and we will have more about this game next week
Good detective work! Petty comment alright but as I previously suggested I think it was posted in jest, hence the double exclamation mark!! Would you not agree? If this was one of a series of comments it would give some strength to your point but seeing that you trailed through their website did you come across anything else that substantiates your original post that suggested there was a lot of such negative comments towards Town.
Actually what I would consider petty is digging up a harmless comment from 3 years ago and then trying to use it as evidence that Celtic routinely use their website to fire off derogatory comments about Town.
i would have to disagree with you entirely, i also admire the use of your adjective "digging" but all it took was to search the word "rebels". This topic all came about the use of a facebook account on behalf of Celtic with their negative comments about incidents in the st michaels match which from what i am to believe was the fault of a select few in the club, nothing to do with as you put it "trying to use it as evidence that Celtic routinely use their website to fire off derogatory comments about Town" Celtic need to find out who is behind this soon before this kind of thing escalates
This is ridiculously petty lads,only a matter of time until the 12th man is asking ye to move on,Stelling hit the nail on the head its great to see the rivalry alive and well and no doubt Celtics potential to challenge next year is probably already aggravating Town and Bilko
1st of all that comment should never have been made it is completely unnesscessary and distasteful. I'm sure every other member of the club would disagree with it being there in the 1st place, it was the opinion of one man. As you stated that comment was made almost 3 years ago, it is an isolated comment. I seem to recall that there was an incident in a game between both junior sides just previous to that so bad blood may have still lingered. This is not a justification of it by any means. I do however think this is getting a bit over played. The comment was 3 years ago there are no such comments before or since. I think suggesting the club needs to get "control" of this is slightly over the top. Facebook pages are out of the control of the club. It is not an official page and therefore little the club can do. Many clubs have unnofficial ones also.
tipp top i am not affiliated with Clonmel Town in any way so it most definitly is not aggravating me, i was just makin a point to the angels down there in Celtic Park. Is the Celtic/Michaels game on tonight?
there will be no title for celtic next season. i think they had a great chance to win 1 over the last couple of years, especially last year, but they werent good enough. nothing to suggest they will be good enough next year either. kevin waters is a good signing, no doubt, but they need a good bit more than him
is there any truth in the rumour that barry ryan is going to UCD??
I dont think he is a fan of agriculature either so highly doubt it.
oh right...all sorts of rumours going around....quality goalscorer.
Shane nobody is going to think your "Barry" by putting up those posts,you may as well have said Barcelona as UCD,i am sure he appreciates the confidence boost though cos he's clearly lacking in self believe :)