any sign of andrew keogh boy wonder
Printable View
I've been just an interested observer to foot.ie for the last season or so but i'm afraid i've to take exception to you're comment Notaclue. If you were to look at the results Notaclue, you would see that Shannonside beat Abbey early in the season so that negates Abbey beating Shannonside(2-0, by the way, not 2-1 as you said), Shannonsides 2 draws were against Newcastle West, Abbey have drawn against Newcastle West already and have to play them this Friday so i fact, neutral 1976 is actually right, the reason Abbey are ahead is down to that draw with Glin. Your username is quite apt!!!!!!
Well in my opinion that ref that was in abbey dugout is a disgrace and a useless ref.sure isn't he from glantine???
If you are talking about playing 11 signed A team players a weakend team u are dreaming LEON pointless making a comment when u don't have the facts to back them up. 2 playes on a stag weekend and 7 injured. I could name them for you if you wanted but pointless i think. Anyway you are not getting the point i was making.
Sky Blue, how are ye fixed for friday and sunday. Rathkeale play a big part in the relegation battle? Desmond Cup final the following week then as well. What happened in the Askeaton-Killeaney game, from what i heard the ref was terrible, for both sides made serious errors.
Nothing new there with the refs :P
Well that's your opinion and everyone has there own opinion..some people think the brutal standard of the league and some people think the brutal standard of referees
I agree with some of the comments there abt the refs, especially being in a teams dugout, crazy! Nobody can influence there decisions but themselves, there isnt goin to be action against them so its fairly pointless. As long as each team gives there all for the 2 remaining fixtures i.e has a full team and gives there all in each game this should hopefully be all we're talking about next week when the title and relagation battles are decided. That way whoever wins the title or gets relagated will deserve to do so.
It happens in bigger leagues than ours lads.
Shur haven't man u given howard webb a vip box and a squad number for next season :laugh:
Hahaha very good have it haha
[SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]Apologies to all but when I logged into this forum I thought I was joining a rational forum in relation to Junior Football [/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri][/FONT][/SIZE][SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri] I didn’t realise that it was just a way for alleged adults and I use the word Adults advisedly to whinge about anything that masks their own failings as both Footballers or People. [/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri][/FONT][/SIZE][SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]To continually gripe about Referees just goes to prove that instead of going out onto a football pitch with their heads in the right place to allow them to do justice to their team and themselves they are instead only worrying about how to make up an excuse in case they don’t win. What difference does it make where a guy sits, you should only worry if the Referee sitting in the dugout is the guy actually refereeing the game you are playing in. Continually blaming Referees for everything that goes wrong on a football pitch is just a way of masking the shortcomings of Players and teams. Get over it and go out and do your job correctly which in case you do not know, is to go out and give 100% for the team whose colours you are wearing.[/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]This is impossible to achieve if you have already accepted in your narrow little perspective that every Referee and official is out to get you or your team. The Team Manager whoever he may be also has some responsibility in this silly bigoted attitude because he should know that if he has players that are going out with the attitude then they are already a beaten team. He should be putting this out of their heads quicksmart otherwise he should look at his management abilities.[/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]The Abbeyfeale Manager must be thrilled to see the whinging and Moaning that the Shannonside crowd are going on with as its plain to see that their Focus is not where it should be. There are two games to go and you should expend all your energies in winning them both thereby putting pressure back on The other team who are in a position to win the league.[/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]I have not heard anyone slagging off the League Management official who allegedly spent the whole game ranting and raving at the referee in the game in Askeaton last weekend, Who is more of a disgrace, the Referee who sat in a dugout watching a game or the League official who should keep himself totally neutral while he is in a position of perceived importance on the League Management Committee. [/FONT][/SIZE]
Thanks for clarifying this. Can we be safe in assuming that this member of the desmond league was with the away team in this fixture?
Either way if what people say is true then you are correct it is a total disgrace, and he/she should be totally ashamed of himself/herself and probably should resign from the commitee!
This thread is now 60 odd pages long and it would be shocking if there was not a gripe or 2 about referees!
However a lot of posters on here have never criticised a referee and quite a few have even posted such things as "forget about the refs" "give em a break" etc.
Of course there will be a few who blame the ref for losing/drawing... while id say the vast majority of these claims are ridicolous and are based on 1 decision over 90 mins, however there is no way of knowing if the referee "robbed" a team or not unless you actually attended the match yourself.
Now people whinging about refs,standard of pitchs,dressing room facilities annoys me as much as the next person but this is a public forum and people can pretty much say what they like.
Can anyone clarify if the Ref who attended the Abbey game was just a spectator who happened to be sitting in the dug-out, or was he actively involved with the Abbey team?
If Abbey beat NCW tomorrow night (in my opinion) the title is theirs.
Also a very interesting relegation battle going on!
Best of luck to all teams involved!
Best of luck to abbeyfeale and shannonside this weekend who are both fighting for the league title..abbeyfeale will have a tough weekend playing against ncw who have nothing to play for only pride and killeaney who are fighting to stay up in the premier..and to shannonside who are playing broadford at home which could be no easy game and Newcastle west rovers away who are fighting to stay up also...and best of luck to the rest of the teams fighting to stay up
I think people are making a big deal of the ref in the abbeyfeal dugout, the reason the ref was at the match was because he was reffing Abbey b at 2.30 (the second game), He told me himself he went into the dugout because he was freezing, and to be fair he is a genuine man so this is all crap talk. On the other hand the Killeaney manager went to town on the ref in Askeaton last sunday, the goal Askeaton got should not have been allowed to be fair, He just went absolutely nuts, never have i ever seen a barrage of abuse being thrown at a ref. How the Killeaney Manager/Desmond League Official was not thrown out of the ground i will never know!
Friday, May 20th
Premier Division
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West (draw)
Shannonside V Broadford Utd (home)
Askeaton V Newcastle West Rovers (home)
Glin Rovers V Adare Utd (home)
Killeaney V Rathkeale (away)
Division 1
Pallaskenry V Carrig Celtic (away)
Division 2
Breska Rovers V Rathkeale B (home)
Feenagh V Knockaderry (away)
Kilcornan V Ballysteen (home)
Newcastle West B V Creeves Celtic (home)
Granagh Utd V Rockhill Rovers (draw)
Premier Division
Abbeyfeale Utd 3 Newcastle West 0
Shannonside 3 Broadford Utd 1
Killeaney 0 Rathkeale 1
Glin Rovers 0 Adare Utd 0
Askeaton V Newcastle West Rovers abandoned
Division 2
Breska Rovers 3 Rathkeale B 1
Feenagh 3 Knockaderry 1
Newcastle West B 1 Creeves Celtic 0
Granagh Utd 0 Rockhill Rovers 2
Kilcornan V Ballysteen, w/o to Kilcornan
NB: Newcastle West B and Rockhill Rovers to play off for league
Looks like it's going down to the final game of the season with abbeyfeale beating ncw 3-0 and shannonside beating broadford 3-1.heard rathkeale beat killeaney 1-0 so that puts killeaney in trouble..anyone hear results from the other games between askeaton v ncw rovers and adare v glin???
Glin 0 0 Adare
Askeaton v Ncw Rovers abandoned due to an injury to Dara Barrett from Rovers, Glin and Adare ended scoreless with two red cards and two missed penalties
Heard that Newcastle west rovers player Daragh Barrett broke his leg tonight against askeaton..hope he is ok and wish him a speedy recovery
That's good to hear...
I'd like to wish Daragh Barrett a speedy recovery!
The Killeaney Abbey match tomorrow should be a cracker!
Will the Desmond league have the trophy inbetween Killeaney and NCW to present to the league champions after the game?
The premier league trophy will be in carrigkerry at 1pm awaiting further instruction
Premier Division
Adare Utd 1 Newcastle West 5
Broadford Utd 3 Glin Rovers 4
Rathkeale 5 Askeaton 2
Killeaney 1 Abbeyfeale Utd 3
Newcastle West Rvs V Shannonside, game abandoned at 2-2.
(Injury to the Shannonside keeper)
Abbeyfeale champions, Killeaney & Adare Utd relegated
Division 1 League Cup S/F
Kilcolman Rovers 0 Ballingarry 4
(Ballingarry will noew meet Athea Utd in the final)
Division 2 League Cup S/Fs
Kilcornan 0 Granagh Utd 1
Killeaney 1 Abbey 3
Abbey took the lead in this one with a superb pass from one of the midfielders, the Abbey striker beat the Killeaney defence for pace and applied a good finish.
Abbey should have 2 up when a long range shot hit the crossbar and down, it was well over the line but the Ref really couldnt make a call from where he was, Abbey also hit the crossbar.
It was 1-0 at halftime.
Early in the second half Killeaney equalised after a fine finish from sheehan after a shocking error by john kelliher... i thought the killeaney celebrations were a bit OTT considering there was 40 minutes left in the game....
Abbey went 2-1 up with 20 mins to go.. a quick free kick down the sideline caught the killeaney defence napping and a great cross made it an easy finish for the striker. Killeaney might have had a point that the freekick was taken from the wrong place and that the ball was rolling.
To be fair to killeaney they tried to play soccer... maybe a bit too much and that cost em for the 3rd goal... a slack pass was punced upon and another fine finish made it 3-1 which pretty much killed the game.
Killeaney got a fortunate penalty (the foul was 2 yards outside the box) late on.
And the final action of the season was Billy quirke making a great save for the penalty.
The amount of foul throws for both teams was a bit comical.
the now infamous member of the desmond league was doing linesman for Killeaney (the ref had to overrule him a couple of times to give Abbey a throw) he also assisted in managing Kileaney and abusing the ref!
Congrats to Abbeyfeale!
Division 2
Feenagh V Rathkeale B off
Division 2 League Cup S/Fs
Newcastle West B 5 Breska Rovers 3, aet
Kilcornan 0 Granagh Utd 1
Division 3 League Cup Q/F
Bally Rovers 4 Adare Utd B 1
Div 3 League Cup S/F
Glin Rovers B 2 Ferry Rangers 2 (Ferry won on pens)
Would like to wish darren kavanagh a speedy recovery..heard he got an awful injury in the match today against ncw rovers..get well soon and unlucky on the title challenge..but congratulations to abbeyfeale on winning the league..10points down at one stage in the season and to come back and win by 5points is a great achievement..
Concur with that.
Will Rovers outstanding games have to be played?
I'd say not. They will prob just call it a draw
fixtures
Friday 27th May
Weekly Observer Desmond Cup Final
Newcastle West V Rathkeale (L. O’Connor, J. Roche, T. Fitzmaurice, D. O’Gorman), 730, Clounreask
Sunday 29th June
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Askeaton V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 (L. O’Connor)
Weekly Observer Division 1 League Cup Final (extra time & penalties)
Athea Utd V Ballingarry 1pm, Clounreask (D. O’Gorman, P. O’Connor, P. King)
Weekly Observer Division 2 League Cup Final (extra time & penalties)
Granagh Utd V Newcastle West B 4pm, Clounreask (B. Barry, T. Fitzmaurice, G. O’Connor)
Weekly Observer Division 3 League Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
Askeaton B V Bally Rovers 230 (C. Dalton)
Friday 3rd June
Provisional Fixture: Weekly Observer Desmond Cup Final Replay (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West V Rathkeale (L. O’Connor, J. Roche, T. Fitzmaurice, D. O’Gorman), 730 Clounreask
Or
Provisional Fixture: Weekly Observer Premier Division League Cup Semi Finals (extra time & penalties)
Killeaney V Newcastle West 645
Shannonside FC V Rathkeale in Shanagolden 645
Provisional Fixtures: If there is a draw in the Desmond Cup Final on 27th May, the replay will take place on Friday 3rd June. The Premier Division League Cup Semi Finals will then take place on Monday 6th June. If there is a winner in the Desmond Cup on 27th May, the Premier Division League Cup Semi Finals will take place on 3rd June and the Premier Division League Cup Final will take place on Monday 6th June.
I got these from the Referees website www.isrslimerickwest.weebly.com. So I suppose they are not official yet.
Congratulation to Glin Rovers....one of the great comebacks to remain in the premier division having had just 1 point at the start of febuary.