bring on the slovaks and czechs and this time next year we'll be reminiscing about our hit and run job in eastern europe !!
Printable View
bring on the slovaks and czechs and this time next year we'll be reminiscing about our hit and run job in eastern europe !!
If we get to 2008 it would surpass anything we have done before IMO. We probably have to pick up 7 points away but might get away with picking up 5 (Czechs imploding). Win all 3 home games. Sounds daunting. Christ it is daunting. But I just have this feeling that we can somehow pull it off.
an absolute to*ser, would any true irish person do this??.... you can tell where he's really see's himself frm by what he done here.... i know it was a joke but what kind of ''irishman'' goes onto a sketch and makes a mockery of his country??.... ill tell ya what one who has no respect for the flag!!
http://youtube.com/watch?v=FP2HR3PZX-M
Lighten up - sur eit was in terrible taste but Fantasy Football was like that.
Ray Hoguhton was a hero for his country and not just for the 2 crucial goals v England and Italy but for his general play and commitment.
Plenty of people have made a mockery of our country like the politicans cremaing off tens of millions of our money when unemployment was at 16% and emigration even higher. Not to mentio nthe gobsh$%es who elected them.
Another Houghton goal was very nearly crucial: the equaliser in Brussels.
Why should it be a bad thing to laugh at ourselves??? ...or to have anyone else have a laugh on us every once in a while???
I said fair play to him because it showed he's capable of differentiating between a harmless slagging and disrespectful abuse. It showed he wasn't up his own hole and that he could laugh a little at himself.
Though I'll be seeing him in that Jean Butler get up in my nightmares!:eek:
It is stage Irish stuff with the usual digs about him not being "Irish". He dresses up as a Leprechaun and then as a terrorist :rolleyes:
It's not us "laughing at ourselves". This was a UK programme whose audience was primarily football fans, many ill educated, who would have had their preconceived ideas of Ireland and the Irish (and Jack's team) reinforced by the ridicule. Sure, I thought it was funny but I thought Houghton, my favourite player of the Charlton years, let himself and his country down by conforming to the stereotype image of the Irish by some in the UK. If the sketch had been thought up by Bernard Manning, I wouldn't have been surprised.
I prefer to remember Razor as the best player to wear the green during the Charlton years. The human dynamo, not the buffoon of a comic and racist sketch.
IIRC the guy who was dressed as the gunman was the producer of the show, who was from Dublin.
skinner is not anti-irish either he always said he loved to see ireland do well....and more importantly he has great respect for shane macgown and genuniely likes him. :D
All that was missing from the sketch were a few pigs being driven through a parlour :rolleyes:
Yeah but we don't drum down their throats 24/7 how we are destined to win every tournament we ever qualify for and how unlucky we were to be eliminated from such tournaments (though conveniently forgetting how lucky we had been previously to even get to that stage).
Oh yeah and we didn't rape and pillage their country for 700 years also.
its no longer the chip on the shoulder thing for me really, but its still the same desire to see them lose. This is just like a club football team that someone really hates.....i hear enough of it over here before every match, when the tournaments come round its exactly how youngirish puts it. it is so annoying......even the some of the moderates start to beleive in all the hype.
I'll always hate their football & rugby teams, that's just the way it is, despite liking their country in general, their lifestyle, their contribution to culture and everything else. The only thing I don't like about them is their view on where they stand in the global order and their opinion towards other countries and their social models (not a universal view I accept). This manifests itself in their sports coverage.
I hate the tone of their pre-tournament hype, and I always feel that just below the surface there's a deep contempt for - or at best total condescension towards - their opponents, which I find distasteful to the extreme.
Some of the SKY claptrap during the U21s Championships had me fuming.
I've lived all over the world and now reside in England and their media is by far the worst for hyping it's national team up to ridiculous levels that I've ever encountered.
Too true Stutts. I like the English also in general but they suffer from a severe overestimation of their own importance in the world (in everything not just football) coupled with a very rose-tinted, narrow minded and overall quite ignorant and ill-informed view of their history which is annoying because they refuse to let anyone forget theirs (the Germans, French, Italians etc).
A very large percentage of them still think Dublin in the Republic of Ireland is still part of the United Kingdom. I sh*t you not.
Yes. We must support England when they play to show them that we are an extremely open minded nation who love our neighbours as we love ourselves. We must live up to the lovable rogues from across the pond tag at all costs.
Bolloks. I hope they lose in every game they play be it football, rugby, cricket, tiddlywinks, hide and seek, chess etc.
Patronisng backstards
I still laugh at a letter sent into the Indo after England had been beaten by France 2-1 2004. An Irish woman and her English husband had decided to watch the match in a pub just off O'Connell St. Both were "disgusted" by the sight of "local" 40 year olds running around swinging their shirts over their heads celebrating the French goals. I'm sure I wasn't the only one who cracked up on reading that.
The stereotype you present is far far worse than a lovable rogue. I'm certainly not suggesting that you should support England (I don't) but it's a shame when you define yourself by another country losing.
I don't care at all tbh. Though it could be argued that until you can stand up to England as an equal, you are selling Ireland short. And I'm not suggesting you "should who love our neighbours as we love ourselves" - but perhaps be confident enough not to give a damn about what England are doing. An English bigot would love it that we care so much, and perhaps feel that we have justified their stereotype of the Irish who are full of hate for their bigger neighbour, reminiscent of a country still oppressed. You are handing them power (over you) they no longer have over us.
Many used to feel like that when Ireland lived in England's shadow - no longer the case.
PS It's our fault that English sports/stars are all over our media - just as it's our fault that English shops are all over Grafton St. & every other high street.
Anyway, back to support Tim @ Wimbledon ;)
Yes but the very reason most Irish people want to see them lose at everything is not bigotry or hatred. Its their players, media and fans. I certainly dont feel oppressed by them or define myself by them losing but when they do, and I wouldn't be alone saying this, a smile will generally appear on my face. I care far too much about Irelands chances of qualifying to give a feck about England or anyone else for that matter.
Another point I make is that those English people who cheer for us when we play, usually do so in a patronising manner. The little underdogs across the water. The truth is, if they respected us as a decent footballing side, they wouldn't be half as supportive.:)
spot on. Actually just take a trip to the messageboards of some of the Irish republican type movies (Michael Collins, In The Name of The Father, Wind That Shakes the Barley etc etc) on www.imdb.com and you can see this argument in action.
I met an English guy last year who was going to Dublin for a trip and I asked him if he got his Euros to which he replied 'Why? Ireland are in the UK so I'll need pounds'. He wasn't being smart or provocative, he really had no clue that Ireland is a seperate nation. Most English people will know that Ireland isn't in the UK but don't over estimate the intelligence of a lot of uneducated British people.
In fact most people around the world presume Ireland are in the UK. A Swedish guy asked me once where I was from. When I said Íreland, he said 'Really? I was in Leeds last week!'
I have to admit when Zidane scored those two late goals I actually ran outside screaming with joy/laughter with my brother until her indoors told us "to get inside NOW" as my fellow English neighbours on the street looked on...... you listen to Lineker, Hansen and co for weeks on end in the build up to a tournament about how good they are that it's like a release when they **** up so spectacularly.
This all stems back to "rule britannia britannia rules the waves", its the old imperialistic view, that they are the rulers of the world and london is centre of the universe, and they brought civilisation to all the world, hence their patronising view. That the queen is the ruler of the world, all haill the queen etc.Quote:
I'll always hate their football & rugby teams, that's just the way it is, despite liking their country in general, their lifestyle, their contribution to culture and everything else. The only thing I don't like about them is their view on where they stand in the global order and their opinion towards other countries and their social models (not a universal view I accept). This manifests itself in their sports coverage.
The reason this gets so much publicity is because other countries such as america, love the queen too, along with canada and many others, which only add fuel to their over-sized egos.
The majority I have met do have that old fashioned patronising view of ireland, a mate of mine told me how sky and ITV during the 94 world cup were like "get behind your team", on about Ireland, no kidding. It reminds me of the whole barry mcguigan thing etc......."ulsterman, british" then someone who has committed a crime or what not is an "Irishman". Nothing annoys me more than when i see that.
I was in this tapas bar (in england ), and they had tourist booklets endorsed by the south american tourist board for south americans, anyhow the front cover had a picture of the Ireland and the UK, all draped in the union jack. Im still meaning to write to them and complain!!!!
you watch big brother.....Quote:
There is a girl on Big Brother who thought New Zealand was in America.