jees:
two suicide bombers shot dead in canary wharf"!!!!!
Printable View
jees:
two suicide bombers shot dead in canary wharf"!!!!!
Source?Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_oshea
:ball: PP
radio 2. or five live not sure one of the lads just told me he was listening to it.
Do you know was that just now orthis morningQuote:
I haven't seen or heard this anywhere. I remember when Sept 11th happened there was all manner of rumours like planes heading for all major cities and such things.Quote:
no thats all he said! it didnt say i dont think though.
i hope it def was suicide bombers that they killed and not just randoms.
ya thats true about rumours, but the lad said he heard it so thats all i know...
Paul I'm not seeing any evidence of anyone shot by police at all and I just checked Sky News. They suspect the bus one was a suicide bomber. I hope to God there were few on the top deck. If you've seen the pictures the roof has been absolutely blown off.
Just got word from Stuttgart88, he was in work this morning, but is ok, and is leaving for home
For people's information the true scale of this atrocity is now emerging. Over 300 injured. When I turned on the news this morning it seemed like a minor incident with maybe 10 injured and no fatalities. :(
I've been listening to Radio 5 Live for the last couple of hours, I haven't heard them mention anything yet.
Could be just another rumour thats knocking about.
Quote:
I'm listening to five live all day and they're talking to eye witnesses.Quote:
People have been terribly burned, limbs gone.
Sky have apparently just announced that they have it from a "very good source" that there are at least 45 fatalities.
Sorry but its gone up sinceQuote:
Originally Posted by Poor Student
Sky News:
Quote:
At least 45 people are reported to have been killed and 1,000 injured in a series of co-ordinated terror attacks on London.
its going to get worse , did the people trapped in thr trains get out im not near a tv ,
cowardly *******s that laid those bombs .
Yeah, it's looking like some magnitude of an attack now. I have to go through Stansted in August. Paranoia is setting in on me now.
I remember the first I heard about the tsunami in Asia last December was that 20 were dead. Unfortunately, I think 45 is going to be way short of the mark here. I don't see how anyone could have survived that bus explosion for a start... :(
no i dont think its as bad as it looks, i mean the seats haev no blood etc, and if it was that bad surely the seats would have flown out. i mean people on it said the back of the bus went out. so hopefully not too many... :oQuote:
I don't see how anyone could have survived that bus explosion for a start...
True...didn't notice that. How full was it at the time?Quote:
You know what, I never thought an attack in London would upset me or anger me or scare me so much. My tube driver saw it, but at the time it was just a flash in the tunnel. We are based a 2min walk from oxford circus tube station, and 5mins from tottenham court road. I ahve spent the day reassuring friends and relatives aswell as checking on my own friends and colleagues. We are the lucky ones, it could have easilly been one of us not the other, so im incredibly grateful we are all ok. We went to the pub to watch the TV. No one was looking for drink, it was more feeling of shcok, fear and pure devestation.
I took my job a year ago, and said at the time, it doesnt matter about getting the tube everyday, you cant let the *******s win. Right now, Im scared.All those people did was get on the tube to go to work. Ok, nothing more will happen, but I want to go home, and see my family. but we cant. there is physically no way of getting home. People like bridget and Peadar have it a million times worse, they were there. Im going to try and make my way home now.
All i can say is RIP to those poor people. and god help everyone else who got caught in it.
I heard on sky news that the seats were actually blown out of the bus. I don't see how anyone on the top deck could have survived, but you never know...Quote:
thats what no one has said.
ya it does put things into perspective, i mean i usually head in on that tube into kings cross, but i was late today ( cos of last night!!!! thank god i stayed for the extra drink ;) ), just to add to that as well, that i dont think the actual staff knew what had happend because they tried to open up the line again, they didnt realise that people were injured etc, and this was at about 8:45.
Paul I take it by now your Canary Wharf story was not true?
well i dont know, i mean maybe they are just not coming out with it, but thats what i was told. :o
I'm flying to Moscow tomorrow morning and now have to walk into Farringdon to pick up my passport (with the necessary visa) from the travel agency. It's a fifteen-mile round trip, and not one I'm at all looking forward to.
:ball: PP
Has anyone heard from Peadar since.
Is he ok?
hope he is
just regarding the bus -I've seen pictures of it from in front and behind and it's like a John West salmon tin that someone has peeled open. The whole back of the bus is gone and the roof is on the road either side of it. I've seen pictures in the past of buses bombed in Israel where no one survived and the bus is relatively intact.
I hope I'm wrong but I find it hard to imagine many walking away from that. Reports claim that some of the dead weren't even on it -rather on the kerb next to it.
Heard nothing about people being shot either.
http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0...188285,00.html
There's some pretty revealing pictures of the bus on this page.
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1312719.jpg
I hope the people in the vehicles nearby -particularly the little van with the buses roof lieing on it -made it out okay.
but was knocked off my feet. I looked up and could see people trying to climb down from the top of the bus."
surely thats a good sign?
look at thsi:::::
He said: "I was helping a member of the public with directions when the bus stopped and the driver asked me the name of the street. I told him Tavistock Square and he called me over. Just as I was about to go, I heard the bus explode. In another second I would have been dead. I had to run for my life. I looked back and saw the roof flying over."
"In the name of God, the merciful, the compassionate, may peace be upon the cheerful one and undaunted fighter, Prophet Muhammad, God's peace be upon him.
Nation of Islam and Arab nation: Rejoice for it is time to take revenge against the British Zionist Crusader government in retaliation for the massacres Britain is committing in Iraq and Afghanistan. The heroic mujahideen have carried out a blessed raid in London. Britain is now burning with fear, terror and panic in its northern, southern, eastern, and western quarters.
We have repeatedly warned the British Government and people. We have fulfilled our promise and carried out our blessed military raid in Britain after our mujahideen exerted strenuous efforts over a long period of time to ensure the success of the raid.
We continue to warn the governments of Denmark and Italy and all the Crusader governments that they will be punished in the same way if they do not withdraw their troops from Iraq and Afghanistan. He who warns is excused.
God says: "You who believe: If ye will aid (the cause of) Allah, He will aid you, and plant your feet firmly."
------------------------------------------------------------------------
(no added comment neccessary from me)
the scariest part with that is that a lot of these guys are well educated and beleive that god is on their side.
back on topic do people not think it was strange that no more fatalities have been mentioned about the bus bomb? and why did that driver ask for directions? was he trying to bomb somewhere else?
Frank where did you get that from?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/4660391.stm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poor Student
It's pretty much all rumours at this point, but it appears that he was probably trying to get into a subway but after the first blast, all subway stations were shut so looks like he decided to blow the bus instead.Quote:
Information seems to be settling down now. The Met have just confirmed in a press conference that there were 4 incidents - 3 tube and 1 bus - and 33 confirmed deaths. This doesn't included deaths at the bus incident, which have been confirmed but not enumerated.
Anyone heard from dcfcSteve (Steve Bradley) :o
I just sent him his fanzine to his address in London this morning before I turned on the news :( Would he be on one of the tubes if he was comming from Stockwell?
He posted earlierQuote:
Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
[size=4]Lads, ye're starting to tick me off now: I don't want to see any Sky News-like rumour and speculation being propogated here, just facts. I'm not kidding, if I see one more post like the one about the bus driver I'll lock this thread and you'll have to take discussion on this subject to another site. We're not running a rumour mill here.[/size]
Cheers for the fanzine and for asking Troy.
I'm safe aand well, as was working form home this morning. My local tube station was closed in a bomb alert earlier.
Have just heard from a friend who was on one of the carriages when the bomb went of in Edgeware Rd. Apart from being covered in black soot and her throat being fecked from smoke, she's alright. Took her 2 hours to get out of the tube, and then she had to walk back home to South Ken in high heels. She was saying that the news seems to be focusing on Aldgate, but she saw absolute carnage at Edgeware and reckons there'll be a lot of casualties coming out of there.
Any more word from Peader anyone ?