I cant comment as i don't know enough but i still observed and even if he slept with Delaneys wife, that is still no a good enough reason to exterminate a club like that.
Its like something from the dark ages carrying out business like that.
Printable View
That's the sort of filth we're all going to have to deal with though, to think some people celebrated the FAI doing that last year is mind boggling. I remember a few people asking why the Limerick fans weren't having fund raisers and the like to help the club out, but it was never about money, or where Limerick played etc., it was always about getting rid of Danny, and since he wasn't selling, and the FAI weren't allowing him into their new shiny league we were completely screwed.
A fellow UCD fan suggested to me today that perhaps the Ford sponsorship deal is a significant improvement on the last one and that the FAI are giving the impression of benevolence but are in fact keeping a bigger slice of the sponsorship pie plus the gate receipts. It sounds plausible.
If the FAI made a **** up and suddenly realised they weren't going to get much profit out of the Final they should have accepted it instead of moving the goalposts. Surely history has taught them that this sort of carry on just gets the clubs backs up. Then again, they seem to get away with it and that's because the EL clubs have basically lost control of the league which is now run by representatives of Junior Leagues and John Delaney whose main interest(apart from himself and his hair) is Man Ure.
The right thing to do would be to have taken the hit and change the rules before next seaon. Maybe if all the clubs could pull together for once instead of scoring points off each other Delaney might back off and come to his senses.
The reason the clubs went along with the FAI/el merger was because the FAI must've been offering something shiny. Then when they took control they started, as you said somewhere else today, shifting the goalposts. This includes, more than likely, not keeping any promises made to the clubs
beforethe FAI/el merger.
Delaney promised a "world class manager" and then gave Staunton the job. An example of a promise the FAI went back on.Quote:
Originally Posted by A face
But Frank, this is an all new low ..... even for them.
Here is a quote from another forum
€250,000 :eek:Quote:
The crucial thing here is the TV money, which clubs normally share. It seems the FAIlures want to keep it for themselves. That's where the real revenue is. According to some paper this morning; the Star, I think; the total amount could come to €250,000
Its not just Cork and Longford getting RRS now, its everyone ..... if they put this in the rules next year then they'll effectively be cutting off the oxygen supply for every club and the competition for ever more.
I mean we all want to see a stage where the final would attract 60,000 on a regular basis. The FAI might not have ambition but i'd like to think that clubs do.
This should be fought tooth and nail
The FAI have told ticketmaster to release the tickets to the final early in order to use the paying fans as leverage against City in any arguments. They're on sale now.
http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/180...norcatid=10004
Up Cork!
I love a good scandal.
how much can the RDS hold lads?
kdjac
Fair play, i'm glad for you.
Why did the FAI tell clubs it would be next week before the tickets went on sale? And why are both clubs none the wiser about which stands are for them? So is it the case there is no segregation this year and the atmosphere will plummet?
Also, did the FAI fawk of to Durban on some junket after your semi-final last year? Oh that right, they didn't .... but sure dont let that get in the way of making a stupid post :rolleyes:
Seriously man, put more effort in willya. Engage the brain before you type, it works out better for everyone that way.
Irrelevant.
a) The FAI stated the tickets would not yet be for sale.
b) The tickets have gone on sale rushed, with open placing in any stand.
c) The date and venue of this year's final were not confirmed until after this years semi finals.
d) Last years final took place in Lansdowne road and accordingly the FAI would have been at pains to sell as many tickets as early possible in an attempt to justify the capacity.
stop signing your posts. thats what your signature is for.Quote:
kdjac
And yera he only made a sly comment about "RRS". Thats a fact I suppose? We're only on here complaining because sure thats what Cork fans do, complain.
Do you not get that this affects yourselves next year as well as us? You might never win the cup but allowing the FAI to break their contract and give the clubs whatever deal they feel like giving at the last moment is not a precedent any eL fan should want set.
Dodge, come off the stage man ... conspiracy theory it is NOT.
You do realise the FAI, aside from this fiasco, the FAI will change the rule when the 2007 competition is over and in 2008 no club will get gate receipts and tv money. Do you not realise the impact of that?
Also, he tried to make light of the situation and i reacted to it.
Edit: Bare in mind the final is 22 days after the last league game. Gate receipts and tv money could pay players for this imposed delay.
whinge bags
At first (without realising all the facts) i has sympathy for cork. Then I saw this posted on he drogs forum by someone that was actually involved in our arrangements for that glorious day 2 years ago:
'Lads when we got to the Cup Final we, as a Club, worked with Cork City to ensure the best commercial deal for the two Clubs (by insisting on Lansdowne Rd). I cant and won't mention figures but trust me if the RDS holds 14,000; then after expneses I would doubt (even if it were full) there would be enough left to pay put €175k to the two Clubs.
The rules are or at least used to be that the clubs got 30% each of the gate in the final after the expenses.
Also, cup finals (up to our one whic had the largest domestic attendance in 15 years!) were not that lucrative for the competing Clubs - largely due to relatively poor attendances and very significant overheads in staging the matches.
trust me when i say, Longford if they lose and pick up €75k are still very very much ahead of the "take" they got for winning the Cup the last time around! '
Cork shooting themselves in the foot and being too greedy it would seem
The FAI are a sick joke at this stage. Cork are 100% correct in what they're saying here. This is just the latest episode of a club having to fight the FAI in order to implement their own rules.
The league deserves better...
Just wondering - hasn't tv money always been included in the prize money amount, and if so, why are Cork saying that the FAI won't give them any TV royalties?
Bottom Line, The FAI are shifting the Goalposts. Their Rules clearly state they cannot make a change while the competition is in motion.
Case Closed, yet another Own Goal by the FAIures
I can't believe the TV Rights for the FAI Cup Final are worth €250k !?! Particularly given this year's pairing isn't that mouth-watering.
That'd probably pan-out as about €1 for every viewer on average across the show - big money !
Rule Number 1 of FAI Club - no-one talks about the Rule Book....