but you see devolping the pitch would save us a fortune, so its a catch 22 id say take the hit and get the pitch first, or fundraise somehow to get it done,
Printable View
Can't imagine Caulfield being interested in the Cobh job, by all accounts he gets handy money for expenses at Avondale already.:D
I was recently contacted about the pitch up at Carrignafoy. Aparently some youths have been using lit ately as a hot-rod driving track. That problem can be overcome as could the problem of the slope. I dont think the slope is as severe or as dangerous as some make out. Niether do i believe it would cost 100k to recitfy. What ever happened to voluntary help and effort? The sort that the GAA has done for years.
We all know peole with the appropriate machinery who would help out -and dare I say it- a few well planned fundraisers would pay for the materials. Its easier I know, to make excuses to avoid doing something than to get up off our arses and just do it!
it would be great to see an all cobh team next year. isn't it time the 3 soccer clubs in cobh got together and agreed on a way forward. the top 16 players to play in a first team, the next 16 on a second team and so on.
there's bound to be obstacles to overcome in coming to any sort of agreement but surely its worth a try?
For the club to move forward, it needs to restructure. At the moment there is no structure in place. Maybe when the structures are put in place the club can move forward and realise it's potental.
will never happen and should never happen, its good to have a core of local talent, but were not in MSL, there simply isnt the pool of players available and willing to compete in LOI football, it should never happen as players that will make the club better wont be bought in cause there outsiders, yet would be a better addition to the team than any player in it,
murray and gutsie for example, our central defense, probably the best ever pairing in my memory, both wouldnt be here if this idea was taken onboard,
have a core of local players but not a squad of them
George Wilshaw as manager with Franko as Team Coach
What about cronin ex waterford manager !!!
well lads welcome to the first division
Right lads- why not stop the bull****ting around and say what most people are thinking, what many are hoping for - even some players are now privately asking for - John Lawlor to manage. He has the experience -knows the game and certainly has the confidence of many players from years ago.
In this new situation where there will be little money around for the post- he will be the ideal man for the job -as he runs simply on heart and brains. Mind you, I know he wouldnt touch it with a barge pole at the moment- but if the right case and approach was made to him, I'm sure he'd have a good think about it.
People might make a good start by talking to the players for their ideas on this!
I was just waiting to see how long it would take for Mr. Lawlor's name to appear on here!! If i am not mistaken, isn't this the same man who went about telling everyone what he would do to support the chairman only to jump ship sometime later??
I don't think we need someone like that around to be honest. When Dave Hill was in charge the same individual had nothing good to say about him.
Dave Hill and Hendo brought great professionalism to the team and if only the off pitch antics weren't happening, we could be in a far better situation.
Why not approach Dave Hill again and Hendo and together I believe they would be a formidable team!!
I was wondering how long it would take for someone to jump and attack the J. Lawlor suggestion, and wouldnt you believe - my friend James-Dean took the bait.
So lets get this right now. You say Lawlor is not suitable because he offered support to our club chairman and later withdrew that support = bad character/choice. Please explain!
Presumably he supported the chairman because at that time he believed the said person stood for something which he believed in. The fact that he later discovered that the chairman didnt live up to his expectations, thus withdrew that support and did so publicly, seems quiet normal and sensible to me. Good knows, people do the same thing every time theres a General Election. Politicians get votes based on promises, when they fail to live up to their promises- they lose the votes.
So now James Dean -you are telling us that Mr. Lawlor is wrong to lead because he had the balls to support someone publically and later withraw that support publically. I couldnt think of a better person to lead our team. Of course hes biggest problem at the moment is, hes probably too straight and up-front for many of the armchair know-alls at the club who ****e themselves everytime someone suggests change. Still James-Dean, nice to hear such an unbiased opinion from you as usual.
Lawlor for Trapattoni's Job!
As usual James D, you had to stoop to such childish lows as to personalise your arguement, Redshanks suggested a manager, a local manager, and you jumped in straght away and made it personal. Im not saying i want or dont want john lawlor as manager, but cut the **** that is quickly becoming your trademark that is the assasination of indiviual characters, i presume im not the only one getting fed up of. If a football forum, talk football, it is not a personality forum.
agree that the standard of the squad will prob drop if there was a 'cobh player policy'
just don't think the cobh public are interested in a mainly cork based team playing the likes of monaghan and wexford
could have limited number of outside players with a 'core' of 10-11 cobh players. the more cobh players, the more interest and support there will be around the town no matter who they're playing.
Lets get a manager in place first and see what players we have in the squad and get behind them. Regards where the players are from, that wont make any difference to our support until the last game of the seaon as long as we are a few points clear at the top of the table and about to win the 1st division and promotion.
Bella, I hate to correct you here, but if you look at what Red had said and what I was replying to, you will see clearly that Red had indeed named the person.
I am entitled to my opinion like anyone else and I apologise if that causes offence. I have been upfront about it and thats it. But regardless what I think, I will always support the majority decision no matter how I personally may not like it.
We'll I hate to correct you James-D but you began your original post by saying you were waiting for someone to suggest John Lawlors name. That tells me two things.
1. Your know that John Lawlor has a football brain with the capability to manage and therefore hes name was likely to come into the mix.
2. You dont like the man for whatever reason -probably because he campaigned in the oppositie camp to you during the famous Barry Walsh vote earlier this year.
But here is where Bella is dead right in accusing you of personalising the issue. You didnt even try to argue whether John Lawlors coaching abilities are good enough to lead our team, other than to attack his character because he once supported our chairman (sic). You could have at least said you had photos of him with a call girl or something juicey ha!
lol. Na'h, the same old -same old personal bull -(Ramblers Motto -lets not let football get in the way of a good character assination.
I'm still waiting for someone to produce a better and more sensible name than J. Lawlors. Are you up to it yourself James Dean?
Red, look the only reason that I referred to "waiting for someone on here to mention his name" was that I have heard it right around the town with many people suggesting that his only reason for withdrawing his support from the Chairman was to align himself for the managerial position.
I do hope that this is not the case. I am all for giving people a chance, and perhaps having John in there might create a local atmosphere, I just don't know. If we can't people out for Premier Games, then I just don't know what else to do.
My main criticsm was that if you support a person or an issue, you should follow through on it. I have got many things wrong in the past and I may be wrong here, but doing things publicly is not always the best option.
We all heard rumours James, but for feck sake when will people learn that anything you hear regarding the Ramblers is more often than not the oppositie to reality. Seems to me that people are only too willing to run with a rumour if it fits in to their own line of thought, or the person to whom its directed at is seen to be in a particular opposing camp.
Now James- please explain to me how and why J Lalor would withdraw his support for the chairman if he wanted the managers job -wheres the logic?
Furthermore I think Mr Lawlor made it very public his real reason for withrawing that support just like he did when he offered it in the first place. Some of us who know the man well and his way of thinking, never doubted him for one moment. I know his type is very rare at the club -he just calls it as it is!
have to agree with what bella said earlier but your point above about withdrawing support from the chairman to get the job if you think of it logically, wouldnt that make it harder for him to get the managers job as doesnt the chairman have a say in who the new manager is?
going back to bella's point, im not promoting John Lawlor for the job but again jd you have resorted to your old tactics of personal attacks, no point denying it as we are all of the same opinion on your posts
May as well start it now eh...................'Lawlor has to go' ;)
Think its a bad thing that politics are already involved in the selection of our manager. Totally avoiding weather john lawlor is or is not sleeping with barry walsh:D. I believe that someone similiar to john is what we should be lookin for. He has FAI coaching badges and has been involved in local/MSL football in the recent past. Knowledge of the local talent is a must as these are the players that will bring cobh people to games. Was dissapointed to see that a number of last years youth team from cobh moved to play for wanderers. If this continues to happen then this club will go back to lingering in the 1st. And in areas where there is no local talent then the MSL is full of talent. Lookin at the intermediate cup winners over the past few years Cork has some of the most talented non league players in the country. I am not saying this person should/should not be JL. But if the club is to go forward on the field and financially then a person with past coaching experience and local knowledge is a must
There will always be politics involved in this club. Regardless who is put in as manager, he is not going to get the full backing of the supporters. There is an element within the club that will not support the manager regardless who he is. So lets forget about the politics and when there is a manager appointed, lets get behind him and the team and support them 100% :ball::ball:
I too was waiting for J.Lawlor's name to be linked to the vacancy (that’s if there is any)!, and I knew too that the person(s)who brought this topic to the forum would be one of three/four members . . . call it suspicious, but hey this is how Cobh Ramblers FC works( aint it!).
Firstly Johnie has a vast amount and good knowledge of football, secondly he's a local (an over the bridge local like Hendo, :)!) and thirdly he has worked well with several players of last years team in the past.
All of the above I think would certainly be good characteristics for any future managerial appointment.
But here's where it ends . . . the marriage between Johnie, Rams manager and Rams Committee would be a marriage made in hell.
Look, RS we all know what publicly went on during recent votes and also withdrawing of supports - cos we were all at those meetings.
But the poor relations goes back to when Johnie was voice/spokesman for Sunderland Fundraising Committee, WE/US the members, the Committee and along with the Town have never heard the final account on this event, ie: what was taken in, expenses paid out, who's owed what, Profit/Loss, which we were all told we would get!!!
There’s bad blood there already and my feeling is his appointment as manager because of this mentioned above would not be beneficial for Cobh Ramblers FOOTBALL ClLUB.
May I also just say to a few members of this there is such a thing as freedom of speech(for EVERYONE) & just because we are not all of the same opinion where the sun shines from does not mean we should expect to be abused for expressing our own opinions.
Finally I would like to finish this comment with a question …… Why has this club lost so many good people in the last few months & certain people are not even batting an eyelid or being held accountable for it?? ….. and before the outbursts start flooding in I am not talking about committee members who resigned from positions I am speaking about gentlemen associated with the club … the two that spring to mind are John Meade and our President Michael Sliney.
These men live & breath Cobh Ramblers never for their own benefit but for the benefit of the club & have the best interests of the club at heart and the fact their departure practically went without a murmur shows the sad state that OUR club is in.
Before Cobh Ramblers moves forward into its next chapter people need to wake up, take a step back & actually assess the situation from a completely unbiased position.
Stop listening to what this person is saying or that person is saying, we are all adults & need to see that our club is being lost in the bitterness that people have brought to it.
It needs to stop & it needs to stop now. Bring ideas to enhance the club, not for your own benefit but for the benefit for OUR CLUB & OUR TOWN.
Stop please!! Just stop!!
Ok i have stayed quiet for long enough as I obviously have a slightly biased opinion on whether he gets the job or not but to say that he musnt get the job over things he and the rest of the sunderland commitee had no control over is ridiculus. They had control over organising the event and getting the money in that is where it has more or less stopped. They had no control over where the money went who was payed etc. That was all done by the committee or should i say not done. Also some monies that were promised apparently never came in. I now ask would you feel that this would be a good enough reason for someone to rethink their decision of whom to support or not. Afterall we can all only make decisions on the info we have and if that info changes then maybe so does or opinion? IMO to see that you indeed did make a misjudgement and then admit to it is a sign of someone who is not afraid to make hard decision a trait we certainly need in a manager.
Well three words come to mind in regard to Off-Side's long winded post, - Kettle -Pot and Black.
He talks about being unbiased - about not listening to this fellow and that fellow regarding wild storeys and then comes out with a rumour and i stress a 'RUMOUR' about John Lawlor and his part in the Sunderland Committee for it not giving a final report. The inference from this of course is that something untoward happened in relation to that fundraiser. That off-side would even mention such an issue, might remind us that he has a line to someone on the clubs senior committee.
So as someone who was a part of the Sunderland Sub-Committee, let me give you some facts (not rumour) about the stonewalling and obstacles put before us and preventing the compilation and publication of a final report.
Those of us on the committee were given specific areas to work with in the organisation of that fundraising event. Every one of us did the jobs we were tasked with. Granted, the game didnt attract the numbers we had all hoped for, but that in itself had nothing to with finalising an end report.
The problem is that there might still be money owed to the club in sporsorship and advertising. I stress 'might' because the Committee and the administration office has consistently neglected/refused (take your pick) to answer our questions about what outstanding cheques/ money has come back to the club in the post. None of us are prepared to go back and ask those companies and individuals for the money incase its thrown back in faces that it was already paid. (example) When I finished up with my particular area (Programme sales) I informed the senior committee of three outstanding shops that still owed money. I asked them to inform me if and when that money was paid to the club. I'm still waiting for answers regarding those unpaid bills. My suspicion is that no one has kept a tally of cheques - if any, that have come in to the club office, regarding the Sunderland game, or anything else for that matter.
If the Committee and its administration cant or wont cooperate with us, for whatever reason, then we cannot complete the job we were delegated to do. simple as.
However, we as a committee, had a very lenghty meeting with the recently appointed financial accountant (not sure of his proper title) and appraised him of every detail of our financial dealings in relation to the event, including the promises of sponsorship, advertising etc which never materialised. I suspect he learned an awful lot more from us in 3 hours than he had from the senior committee in 3 weeks.
I could go on and on here, but there will be a right time and place to deal with this matter.
However, the fact that Offside should even raise this based on a version which someone put to him, demonstrates two things to me.
1. sources close to the senior committee have leaked this distorted version of events in an effort to tarnish us, thus cover their own behinds and failures, particularly a senior committee member whose earlier part in aquiring sponsorship, that never materialised. That sponsporship was earlier factored into our ealier projections -the ones delivered to the members meeting. The senior committees utter incompatience in not keeping records of incoming revenue from the event, is their problem not ours, but in the end its our club that is suffereing. Now they expect us to be their scapegoats -Ha some chance!
2. The second thing it tells me is that- since Offside was prepared to run with such a rumour to try to discredit John Lawlor, perhaps hints that he is doing so on behalf of someone on the senior committee who **** themselfs at the sight of Lawlor, whose very partial to asking questions.
Not to mention -the fact that Lawlors admirable quality of bringing people to book for their transgressions, has absolutely nothing to do with his abilities to manage our team. (something Offsider cleverly tried to take peoples minds away from).
I suggest, Offsider, that you are exactly that -'OFFSIDE' with this one. Your own post and its contents/hearsay, suggests that we should take your advice and ignore every word of it!
When one reads both Offside and Red, it is quite clear that to large extent that what divides people on here, is actually what unites people. Everyone is annoyded, angry, whatever at the lack of information coming out and in a lot of cases, the wrong information.
I earlier launched an attack on John Lawlor, and I was wrong. Red is quite right, if I am so against him it should be an argument about managerial experience and I do know he has plenty and success too.
Offside is also correct in eluding to the departure of people like John Meade and Mike Sliney. Two gentlemen and club is a lesser place without them. In fact, each and everyone of us should be ashamed to see these people walk away from something that they gave so much to and more to build up.
I would be more than willing to support any plan that is proposed to save the club that is about The Club and not the politics of old. I have been a party to some of that and again I say, I was wrong.
I just wonder, is it possible for all of us and mature people to work together without finger pointing and name calling?? If it is, then I believe we can acheive something great......