i wouldnt really put an age on it!. places are more scene then age!!
Printable View
It depends on your age really.
For pubs...
Quays(20's on...great spot though...all Irish music etc)
Kings head(Ditto)
Living Room.....always packed...nearly like a Club really
Cellar.....young pun on Eglinton Street
Fibbers...In Eyre Square....good lively pub...all ages
Foxs...Also in the Square...young enough...18-30 year olds mainly...home to GUST;)
For the older crowds...30's+...
Front Door
Buskers
Garavans
Skeff
Clubs....
Cp's....Young club...much better from September to March when it's by in large a Galway crowd.....Summer it's a Red neck fest!
Halo....More of a mid 20's-mid 30's crowd.....right beside Cp's.....good club though
Cuba...Meh...It's ok..
Karma.....Does better on student nights than weekends
GPO.....Don't ask.
You'll have a good time regardless.Galway is always bizzing but this time of year it's fairly mental.Impossible to move everywhere!
Im in my 30's as are most of the lads going so we must check out Buskers.
Head to the Warwick after Buskers on a Sat night if you're goin clubbin - live band and DJ - don't go out there till 12.30 or after though.
Buskers is great craic, there's also the front door (Across the road from buskers) and the Drew Drop (across the road and up a bit from buskers, on the corner) are great spots too
Looks like we are seriously going to be spoilt for choice !!!
Whats the Galway Arms like ?
small pub, next door to the garda station, so ye wouldnt have far to travel the following morning !!!!!!!!!
Dont know anybody that has ever stayed there so cant comment on that, its located around 50-100 metres from most of the previously mentioned pubs, so located nicely, and finally they do a cracking fry up-probably my favourite in town anyway!
More of a locals pub AFAIK. Also it's next door to the Garda station - not that that means anything - I think:eek:
You're still within spittin' distance of the so called latin quarter and you can see the Living Room from the Galway Arms. The west side of the town "begins" from the Galway Arms with a couple of nice pubs down that side, but, at that stage you've started to leave "town".
You have to remember for Race Week all usual presumptions go out the window and madness reigns...or should that be rains?:D
also, if you havent booked at this stage and are coming this weekend coming...you'll be very lucky to get in anywhere accomodation wise, ye might have to start thinking even of bring the tent with ya.
bring shoes at all times.....one of the most important things to remember when going out in galway, along with only having 1 pint before hitting a club. been to cities all over europe and america but i still have hassle in galway.
I usually wear shoes anyway. Dont want to give bouncers any excuse :)
Heading down last weekend of the month, cant wait.