Thread: Heading to Galway next month

Heading to Galway next month

for a lads weekend, anyone recommend anywhere to drink/ stay ?
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

Stay in Kinlay house. Its probably your best bet.

Going out wise. Anywhere in the city centre is hopping from a wednesday to a sunday.

Don't go to CPs or Halo.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Aldini98 View Post
    for a lads weekend, anyone recommend anywhere to drink/ stay ?
    i dont have a clue of the place he just mentioned, but Jurys Inn is prob the best bet as its on the better side of town for pubs etc....!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    i dont have a clue of the place he just mentioned, but Jurys Inn is prob the best bet as its on the better side of town for pubs etc....!!
    Kinlay House is a hostel at the end of Merchants Road opposite where the Tourist Office used to be (Victoria Place) before it moved out to the Fair Green.

Accommodation will be at a premium in terms of availability and price for the month of August - monsoon conditions or not.

No shortage of places 'though or pubs either! Do the accommodation in advance and let spontaneity rule when it comes to the pubs. We all have our favourites.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Check out Stranos Bar at the end of Dominick Street. Good place for a lads weekend
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

2,770 Posts
    spent 3 years in galway with college and it is the best city in Ireland.

you can stay in the quays hostel or any of the b&b's there pretty cheap. If youre lucky there are some cheap hotel rooms out there. Probably best to go with the hostel option though for a lads wknd. Try sleepzone (just round the corner from eyre square-cheap as chips and clean)

Clubs - i used to work in cuba so i have to recommend that. Its right at the top of Eyre Square. Hot birds, great drink and good music. Maybe a wee bit pricey?

Avoid the GPO unless you have a big bag of yokes. CPs is alright but just a big cattle mart really.

Pubs

hole in the wall - kip but cheap booze.
    McSwiggans - nice but can be hit or miss re atmosphere.
    The Cellar - Great fun, go downstairs. Good live music.
    Kings Head - full of yanks and such. Nice pub, Good music.
    The Quays - another popular joint. Never my favourite.
    Bazaar - nice place.

Theres a tiny bar about half way down shop street, name escapes me, but i loved it. Nice crowd and friendly staff and good pints. Its on Shop street, just before church lane. its got a blue lit sign outside.

And if youre going to Salthill be careful. Theres a couple of nice bars there (1 in particular, name escapes me) but also some real dodgy kips out that way. Never felt totally at ease in Salthill.

PS - sorry for forgetting some of the bar names but my memory of my time in galway is shot to bits due to boozing and smoking.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Check out Stranos Bar at the end of Dominick Street. Good place for a lads weekend
    You are taking the MICKEY
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    You are taking the MICKEY
    No, but Perhaps Aldini is, in which case he would enjoy a visit to Stranos
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    No, but Perhaps Aldini is, in which case he would enjoy a visit to Stranos
    I wouldn't be arsed going there

Stranos is a no-no so ! Aldini aint !

Cheers for the info.

33 Posts
    You cant go to Galway and not have a bottle of wine down the Spanish Arch. It's the authentic experience and the only way to prepare for the night clubs.
    God those were the days.
    Always liked Garvans myself for the pints. Halfway down shop street. Good place to watch the racing.
    The dude abides....

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bottle of Tonic View Post
    You cant go to Galway and not have a bottle of wine down the Spanish Arch. It's the authentic experience and the only way to prepare for the night clubs.
    God those were the days.
    Always liked Garvans myself for the pints. Halfway down shop street. Good place to watch the racing.
    bottle of wine?? Posh fecker. Grab a bottle or two of Buckfast for the true Galway experience.

I don't know where you should go to drink, but what you should drink is definitely Galway Hooker. One of the newest, and tastiest beers to be brewed in Ireland. Apparently available in about a dozen pubs in Galway, but I'm not sure which ones.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

33 Posts
    SkStu,
    The bottle of wine is buckie! As in Tonic!
    The dude abides....

Make sure to avoid the Supermacs in Eyre square if you get hungry after a night on the beer! It gets packed and there is always of few fights that break out there, especially at the weekends!

Charcoal grill is the best place to go for late night food in my opinion but I can't remember what street its on!

2,770 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Bottle of Tonic View Post
    SkStu,
    The bottle of wine is buckie! As in Tonic!
    my bad! made by monks it was, lol

Quote Originally Posted by SolitudeRed View Post
    Make sure to avoid the Supermacs in Eyre square if you get hungry after a night on the beer! It gets packed and there is always of few fights that break out there, especially at the weekends!

Charcoal grill is the best place to go for late night food in my opinion but I can't remember what street its on!
    There's 2 of them, one on Cross Street and a newer one on Mary Street, also check out La Salsa for some excellent Mexican grub, one on Mary Street and one on Lombard Street.

As for pubs check out The Dew Drop Inn, smallest pub in Galway but great fun during the day or evening, also try the Sonny's side of the Front Door pub. If you're down the 'West' give the Bierhaus a visit, has every foreign beer imaginable even the local Hooker beer mentioned above. For good Guinness go to Murphys, ask for Gerry the barman, the only person I know that played senior hurling for MAYO!!!!!

If you don't fancy going to a night club or can't get in for some reason, go to the Living Room, fine beer, fine women and stays open until 03:00.

37 Posts
    If it's a footie pub, try Foxes on Forster Street (off Eyre Square)

See it here.....
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=CYSORBwNHYI

The Living room sounds like the spot !

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aldini98 View Post
    The Living room sounds like the spot !
    That depend on how old you are. If you are under 26, then the Living Room is the biz. If you are in your 30's, then Busker Brownes (100 meters from the Living Room) is the spot for you.