Yeah he arrived with Myler and O'Connor in 2005 I think. It seems so long ago. Was it one season or two he had with us the first time? I can't recall. This will be his third season back?
Printable View
Jaysus. Nice guy by all accounts and a great example to the younger lads of keeping fit etc but he's not really provided any memorable moments for us in his five seasons. Positive ones anyway. Still if he has something to offer as a coach then let him at it.
We got €5k for Crawley according to The Daily Star today. Better than nothing, he wasn't with us very long really.
Thats great!
I'm sure Pats got a few quid too. Was there for 3/4 years
Do you still get training compensation if you release the player rather than him leaving at the end of a contract? I did look at the regulations recently but I can't remember the specifics.
I'd only be guessing, but I think that even if Pats waived any claim on him so he could sign for Longford, they'd still be entitled to money if he moved on.
The buying club pays the money to the FAI for distribution I believe so I'm sure they're all over it!
I see our new striker David O'Sullivan won the FAI Intermediate Player of the Year at the FAI awards at the weekend. Fair play to him. In other less welcome news Craig Hyland has now signed for Waterford which is a bit annoying. Never good to see a decent player leave to join a direct rival but he has to do what suits him best of obviously. Can only hope he has a stinker every time we play them but does well generally!
I'll be very surprised if we are even near the top come the end of the season.
I'd imagine this is TC's last shot at getting us up and I think he'd agree with that himself. To be honest I'll reserve judgment until the real stuff starts and we get a look at how the squad is performing. Lower expectations may be no harm. Wouldn't mind seeing one or two more brought in to strengthen us a bit though.
I might go as far to say that he won't last the season.
He deserves this chance, but this should be the last chance.
The brand of football isn't the best, we are probably going in slightly the wrong direction.
I thought Hyland had joined Cliftonville or someone in the IL?
Cancelled his contract with Crusaders seemingly
I know we all like to moan about the style of football but if we get up and stay up then after a few years we can moan but for now getting up is all that matters. I really hope we can do it coz im physically sick of this division! Hyland going to Waterford is a disaster, TC will regret letting him go the way he did yet.